We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Accomodation, Excellent Location”
Review of Changmoi House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Changmoi House
Ranked #365 of 755 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent Accomodation, Excellent Location”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Stayed here for four nights in December 2012, peak season in Thailand.

The room and service that we received were good without being exceptional. It was essentially as we were expecting considering the reviews that we had read and the amout that we were paying. The room was clean, had a decent sized bed and enough room that we never felt cramped at all - it also has an little private outside bit which was useful for spraying sun-tan lotion etc.

Most importantly, this accomodation is ideally located for a trip to Chiang Mai, easily in walking distance (5-10 minutes) of the main gate to the old town and the various attractions and restaurants that we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twdwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
13
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kauai, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

The location of this charming guesthouse couldn't be better -- it is one block to Thapae Gate and all the great places to eat, shop, and stroll. I only used public transit once to get to the guesthouse. There is a lovely tree that is flowering now when you arrive, it feels homey with a cozy coffee patio and small restaurant. Nice mattress, clean, and large room with private patio.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely so you can't go wrong. AC unit was fine - no noise. Great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marybart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Desk attendant insisted I didn't have reservation when I arrived, although I'd paid through Agoda. They gave me nice room at first, then tried moving me to small, ugly room (watch out for room 7!) for same price. Had to ask for toilet paper and water. Opened refrigerator in my room--it was broken and contained a fermented coffee which made room smell awful. I put it in garbage, and it was still there after they cleaned room the next day. Although breakfast was theoretically included in my room, I was not offered menu, or told about it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frances b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChangmoiHouseAdmin, Owner at Changmoi House, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Sorry for the problem. Now room no.7 has been updated and i tell my staff to carefully cleaning the room. Thank for your suggestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed at Changmoi House in June 2012 for 4 days - I was in Room 3 and then transferred to a smaller room for my final night. The guesthouse is pleasant in appearance with the most magnificent flowering tree in the small courtyard. It is only a short walking distance to Thapae Gate as well as Warorot Market. Across the street is the Jade Buddha Wat. There is laundry available next door to the guesthouse. My room was very comfortable and there were nice areas to sit in outside. Each morning a very tasty breakfast was provided. It is not a big guesthouse but is a lovely place to stay. The house cat and Sammi will charm you.

Room Tip: Room 3 was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rusthomco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
493 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed ten days in this fabulous place. It is small, on a quiet street and has a very homely feel. The owners speak good English, are passionate about CM and very welcoming. In fact we left our luggage with them for a week whilst we went for a week exploring the North of the country.

We had Room No 3 which is a large room with a large double (others rooms have twin) bed, an Ottoman, a desk, fridge and a cupboard. The bathroom had a special bath fitted to be able to sit in it which was strange but fine and a shower. We also had a private patio which was lovely and had some nice plants and furniture in it. The high speed wi-fi is free and the TV has a few foreign channels including English news channels.

They are adding another building - though I am not sure whether this will also have guest rooms or not but it means that they may be updating the current rooms though very little is needed as they are very good quality.

I would just ask them to check and update shower fittings and make sure that the service to clean rooms each day is more regulated.

Go to Sakura, a Japanese place around the corner for breakfast or lunch - highly recommended. Also the lady doing laundry next door to the guesthouse does a good job for next to nothing.

All in all a fantastic guesthouse and you wouldn't find better value for money in Chiang Mai.

Shelley
http://shelleytravel.wordpress.com/

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eat1Drink2Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

We discovered this new gem of a guest house through the owners of another hotel. The Changmoi House is located one street back from the eastern gate of the old city in central Chiang Mai. It is down a quiet street, is very clean, has good sized rooms with their own little courtyard and decent shower. We paid 600 baht for one night for a double room with free wifi. Breakfast was not included, however they are many places nearby where one can eat cheaply. The guest house is conveniently located near the Sunday night markets entrance/exit too, so one can easily walk home from there. The owners are friendly and helpful locals. A great, cheap place to stay in the center of Chiang Mai! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OzEnglishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 384 in Chiang Mai
254 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 384 in Chiang Mai
891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel M Chiang Mai
Hotel M Chiang Mai
#77 of 384 in Chiang Mai
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#48 of 384 in Chiang Mai
552 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vanilla Place Guest House
Vanilla Place Guest House
#51 of 384 in Chiang Mai
591 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#150 of 384 in Chiang Mai
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Changmoi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Changmoi House

Property: Changmoi House
Address: 37 Changmoi Kao Road, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 755 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Changmoi House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Changmoi House Boutique Guest House is located in the heart of Chiangmai business and shopping center and close to the famous restaurant which can provide you different kind of food such as Japanese food , Italian food , Thai food. Also very close to the dentist, book store and local market. You can enjoy shopping at Sunday walking street which just 5 Mins walk. Why us ? Changmoi House hotel is outstanding hotel design. We have only 11 rooms which surrounded by garden and trees. Located on the very comfortable place that can walk to Local market, Night market and Sunday walking street. Without car you can go to everywhere because there is 24hr. public car service. If you want to find quiet place and feeling like staying at home. Please come to our place. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Changmoi House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing