We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book ahead, but it's worth it...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Changmoi House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Changmoi House
Ranked #346 of 718 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Book ahead, but it's worth it...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I've stayed several times at Chang Moi, in every type of room they offer, and can attest that they are one of the finest guesthouses - at each level - in Chiang Mai...and I've done the legwork. I've been working around Chiang Mai for 3 years, but never in the city long enough to justify renting an apt. Chang Moi house is usually fully booked if you turn up at the door, but occasionally has a fan room available last minute (which feature nice private outdoor areas and bathrooms) and are totally worth it (Chiang Mai cools down heaps at night). It's worth booking ahead, and if you do, spring the extra few bucks and get one of their two upstairs rooms. For the price (about 800 THB), you can't beat the amenities: canopied bed, tv, fridge, beautiful tiled bathroom, air con, private little balcony - it's perfection. The staff are very helpful, and will store bags in the lobby. Nice little cafe up front. Nothing bad to say about Chang Moi house except that it's often too full for the last-minute backpacker. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two upstairs rooms, I believe rooms 8 and 11 - though am not positive. Totally wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank gaiabonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiuLong, ผู้จัดการ at Changmoi House, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We thank for your comment and share to our management to manage with best service from our staff for customer.
Look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Mai and stay at Changmoi House in next time.
Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
2
13
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Great location close to all Chiang Mai attractions. If your slightly fit and don't mind exploring whilst a little walking the Chiang Moi house is an Easy location for walking to Temples, Night Bazzar, and great Restaurants. Her on honeymoon we chose a place not to cheap and not ridiculously expensive as we were leaving the higher rated resorts etc for the beach areas. Highly recommend are Peppermint cafe good value and good food. Also if your doing Elephant camps definitely do the Elephant Nature Park.

Room Tip: Room 3 is spacious and has a nice courtyard. Mozzie repellent highly recommend for all outdoor area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dion E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiuLong, ผู้จัดการ at Changmoi House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you very much for your stay and comment. We will share your comment to our staff. We welcome you to stay at Changmoi House for your vacation again.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

One of the 2 rooms we booked was damp and dark, when we told the manager we didn't want it he insisted that we had booked it and therefore were on the hook for paying for it the whole 4 days, even though he found some one else to pay for the room the whole time we were there!. After a gentle argument and calling in the owner of the place they did relent and not charge us for the other room.

There is a laundry next door and they start work at 6 am! Ok if you are an early riser but not so great if you want to sleep in.

900 Baht was a bit over priced for the quality of the room, the lady who makes breakfast is nice and helpful. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaMama111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiuLong, Manager at Changmoi House, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Now we already build the new room

Thank for your respond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

I stayed here early in 2012 and then returned for 2 separate stays in late November early December. The new building is finished and I managed a stay in two of the new rooms. I am biased towards CMH as I think it is a lovely, relaxed, convenient place to stay. My rooms were large (for the single traveller), clean, cool and comfortable. Everyone is friendly and helpful in a relaxed manner. If you need something or are not happy with something - just ask. At night if you climb the steep stairs to the laundry area you have a beautiful calm view. Do (not sure that is spelt correctly), at reception, is helpful and I organised my cooking class through him. There is a new cat in residence - Pang Pang. CMH always attracts the glances of the passer bys - I'll be returning on my next trip.

Room Tip: rooms in the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rusthomco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiuLong, ผู้จัดการ at Changmoi House, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you very much for your comment and stay with us. We will share your comment to our staff. We welcome you to stay at Changmoi House for your vacation again. You will feel stay at home.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

Stayed here for four nights in December 2012, peak season in Thailand.

The room and service that we received were good without being exceptional. It was essentially as we were expecting considering the reviews that we had read and the amout that we were paying. The room was clean, had a decent sized bed and enough room that we never felt cramped at all - it also has an little private outside bit which was useful for spraying sun-tan lotion etc.

Most importantly, this accomodation is ideally located for a trip to Chiang Mai, easily in walking distance (5-10 minutes) of the main gate to the old town and the various attractions and restaurants that we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twdwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kauai, Hawaii
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

The location of this charming guesthouse couldn't be better -- it is one block to Thapae Gate and all the great places to eat, shop, and stroll. I only used public transit once to get to the guesthouse. There is a lovely tree that is flowering now when you arrive, it feels homey with a cozy coffee patio and small restaurant. Nice mattress, clean, and large room with private patio.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely so you can't go wrong. AC unit was fine - no noise. Great experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marybart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Desk attendant insisted I didn't have reservation when I arrived, although I'd paid through Agoda. They gave me nice room at first, then tried moving me to small, ugly room (watch out for room 7!) for same price. Had to ask for toilet paper and water. Opened refrigerator in my room--it was broken and contained a fermented coffee which made room smell awful. I put it in garbage, and it was still there after they cleaned room the next day. Although breakfast was theoretically included in my room, I was not offered menu, or told about it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frances b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChangmoiHouseAdmin, Owner at Changmoi House, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Sorry for the problem. Now room no.7 has been updated and i tell my staff to carefully cleaning the room. Thank for your suggestion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#12 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.3 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
1.1 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nidhra Lanna
Nidhra Lanna
#153 of 809 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thapae Happy House
Thapae Happy House
#136 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.2 mi away
TJR Boutique House
TJR Boutique House
#109 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Changmoi House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Changmoi House

Property: Changmoi House
Address: 37 Changmoi Kao Road, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 718 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Changmoi House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Changmoi House Boutique Guest House is located in the heart of Chiangmai business and shopping center and close to the famous restaurant which can provide you different kind of food such as Japanese food , Italian food , Thai food. Also very close to the dentist, book store and local market. You can enjoy shopping at Sunday walking street which just 5 Mins walk. Why us ? Changmoi House hotel is outstanding hotel design. We have only 11 rooms which surrounded by garden and trees. Located on the very comfortable place that can walk to Local market, Night market and Sunday walking street. Without car you can go to everywhere because there is 24hr. public car service. If you want to find quiet place and feeling like staying at home. Please come to our place. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Changmoi House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing