We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs are appearing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chok Dee Guesthouse
Ranked #215 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
1 review
“Bedbugs are appearing”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I just got in from a long night and I sat down on the bed and noticed a bug. Didn't mind it at first. Then I saw two more come from the end of the bed. I killed them all. Then I noticed little larvae which I thought were ants. It's 2am and I am unable to get ahold of staff about this. So im not going to sleep. As I inspected the bed. I noticed dust, hairs, and other gross things have accumulated around the mattresses here. And that the sheets have tiny holes. Other than that it's a cool place, big rooms and nice staff so far.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    21
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
11
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2013

If your looking for luxury suites then this is not the place for you. Its basic , but nice place to stay. Prices are good and the staff is friendly. It is centrally located in the city , and for someone who is looking for a clean room and nice place to stay at a good price then this is the place for you. The rooms have toliets shared outside that is the one disadvantage, but otherwise I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novosibirsk, Russia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I really like the place. It's very quiet and at the same time very well situated (3 min walking from the small market and 7-10 min from the city center) And what I liked much was a very nice and cosy garden.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Drobysheva E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

A lovely laid-back family-run guesthouse on Soi 6 road just inside the old city. It's on the same street as a Somphet street market so there's plenty of fresh fruit stalls and cheap places to eat close by - not that you need to go anywhere. Chok Dee serves some of the best coffee in town and the food is as good as the local diners.
There's a shady garden to laze-in out front, bicycles and motorbikes for rent and a comunal kitchen area with ice-chest, sink, cutlery etc. and hot water for coffee and tea if you're on a budget. Toilet roll and soap are also provided.
Watch out for the vinyl-covered beds though. They made our nights in our fan-cooled room incredibly sweaty!

Room Tip: Watch out for the vinyl covered beds - very sweaty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yacoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2013

staff very friendly and the place very peaceful. My plan was to book a appartment but just could not leave the place, because of good prize, the garden( where we met everyday again cool people.)
the free storage of stuff and the help they gave me. Many people come back to this place because they feel at home here. Quiet in the nights.
Great coffee, great breackfast and very clean shared toilets and shower.

So when you need a place feels like home, close to tapea gate, check in at chok dee...

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilsespoppyspassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in February 2013. The property is clean and pleasant in a good location just north of the Eastern Gate, well priced in comparison to what else is available in the area for the price we paid (250bhat/night). This was actually the third property we stayed in in Chiang Mai and certainly the best one we found for the money. Our double room in the mainly wooden building at the rear of the property was clean and came with a comfortable bed and mosquito net (with only a few larger holes to plug with tissue paper). The WiFi from the front cafe area was just as strong in our room at the rear.The walls were a bit on the thin side but that was also the case in other properties we stayed in in the area, although it didn't cause us any problems here. There were enough shared showers and toilets that we never had to wait/queue, they were clean and the hot shower was quite acceptable. Staff are warm and friendly, apart from the small barky dog who wanted to guard the stairway sometimes. We also hired pushbikes (no gears) from the property for 50bhat/day each (motorbike also available) which were more than adequate for a 45km cycle in the countryside south of Chiang Mai to San Sai along the Ping River. We also booked a minibus to Pai through the property (160bhat) which was comfortable and air conditioned. Plus the property is really close to the best noodle soup we had in our two weeks in Thailand - worth a return trip or four! Visit the street stall with the long table near the fruit/veg market which is along the street, run by two friendly young ladies. Yum yum!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldolara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Very cheap, very clean, very good location basic rooms amazingly friendly staff! Nice common area, cheap breakfast, one of the best hostels i've been during 4 months of traveling! I can recommend it to every budget traveller!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Mai
3.0 mi away
Soisabai Guesthouse
Soisabai Guesthouse
#152 of 736 in Chiang Mai
33 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dutch Guesthouse
Dutch Guesthouse
#247 of 736 in Chiang Mai
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yourhouse Guesthouse
Yourhouse Guesthouse
#167 of 736 in Chiang Mai
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BB House Budget & Boutique
BB House Budget & Boutique
#198 of 825 in Chiang Mai
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Just Chill Inn
Just Chill Inn
#152 of 1,064 in Chiang Mai Province
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cumpun Guest House
Cumpun Guest House
#67 of 736 in Chiang Mai
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chok Dee Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chok Dee Guesthouse

Property: Chok Dee Guesthouse
Address: 16 Soi 6, Moonmuang Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chok Dee Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chok Dee Guesthouse is located in the old city section of Chiang Mai. We are just down the street from Somphet Market and easy walking distance to Tae Pae Gate, Sunday Walking Street Market and many beautiful Wats. Our street is nice and quiet while still being in the heart of the Old City. Amenities include:*Free WiFi*Hot Shower*Single, Double and Dorm Rooms Available*Easy Booking of Activities: Cooking Classes, Motorbike rental, Trekking, Mini bus to Pai or Bangkok, Elephant Camp, Fishing Trips, and lots more*Garden Common Area with Seating to Relax*Restaurant serves: Coffee/Tea, Breakfast, Fruit Shakes, Seasonal Specials. Each room has:*Fan*Desk*Chair*Bed*Mirror*Power Outlet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HostelWorld so you can book your Chok Dee Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing