We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL AND TRANQUIL GUESTHOUSE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baan U Sabai Boutique House
Ranked #98 of 801 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Thailand, our 1st port of call was Chang Mai where we stayed at this guest house for 5 nights:

The hotel is immaculate with beautiful teak throughout. All the staff were very helpful & friendly & nothing seemed to be too much trouble througout. The hotel is about 1mile out of the centre of Chang Mai but can easily get a tuk tuk into town between £1-£2. Breakfasts was very tasty & after the 3rd day offered us further alternatives to the menu in case we were getting bored of the limited (4) options available.

Only negatives is for a hotel of this standard possibly lacking a bath in the rooms & showers were not that powerful but saying that the bathrooms again were immaculate.

Would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a bit of a sanctuary & calm in a hotel as the place definetely has a tranquil "zen" feel to it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baanusabai, General Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Scott,

Thank you very much for having been our guests. We appreciates your kind comments and value your recommendations. We will continue to improve the shower system.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Mai and Baan U Sabai in the near future.

Respectfully yours,
Phantarak A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

Baan u Sabai is a lovely place to stay, the rooms are beautifully arranged and the guest house staff are always pleasant, there is nothing wrong about this place as all, We are a couple that have totally enjoyed our stay in chiang mai and in Baan U Sabai.
possible points for improvement
showers, these are not the hottest or the best, but are still adequate,
the pool is refreshing (you know that breathe of air you have to take when you just dive in, however we are in chiang mai in winter.
The rooms are dark so you find it hard to see things when rummaging around in your bags.
the breakfast is well cooked but lacked options. i had sticky rice with omellete every morning as i was vegetarian.
the location is not ideal however some might say it is a positive, it is a 60baht ride into town (2US) so it is not far and it was quiet. (although i can sleep through anything)
it is close to the airport plaza mall with a western superrmarket to pick up you supplies, and all the street food is just a walk away but to get into town is a 5-10minute ride.
We stayed for 6 nights and loved it!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soon_2_b_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baanusabai, General Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Soon_2_b_B,

Thank you very much for having been our guests. Our staffs and i appreciate your kind comments and value your recommendations. We will continue to improve the shower system and add more breakfast choices for the vegetarian.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Baan U Sabai in the near future.

Respectfully yours,
Phantarak A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

This is a fairly new hotel/guest house and deserves a look in. I've just completed a four day stay and couldn't have been happier with the hotel. Not a five star of course, but it is out of the ordinary. The rooms are constructed from reused Teak and the style is very northern Thai. The staff were most friendly and welcoming. Coffee making facilities and fridge in each room (sadly, no tea bags) and a beautiful pool in the centre of the hotel grounds. There are only about a dozen rooms or so, which gives one a feeling of intimacy, and guests take off their shoes to venture into the rooms area. 'Croc' sandals are provided for guests use and they are very comfortable - and quiet. Each room has a small 'locker' for their outside shoes in the reception area. Free WiFi in the rooms was good, fast and reliable. The pros are many but there are also one or two very minor cons. I didn't think these detracted from my stay at all, but it's nice to know before staying at any hotel. My room was quite dark during the day, but this was only because the decor is real Teak, and wooden walls don't reflect outside light too much. But there were plenty of lamps to illuminate the room so this wasn't a problem. The only other thing worth mentioning was the hot water in the bathroom. This was supplied by a small instantaneous type water heater. While it did supply hot water, one had to turn the volume down a bit in order for the water to be hot, rather than tepid at full flow. Again, not a problem but don't expect high pressure hot showers. The hand basin did not have hot water directly, but shaving in cold is no big deal and you can always fill it from the shower or kettle if you really are after hot water. Breakfast was simple and delicious. Not a big choice, but it was enough to start my day on and the staff were happy to give seconds if you were still hungry. Breakfast was included in the tariff and you indicated each evening what you would like to eat the following morning. It's very close to the airport (44 baht taxi door to door - although you also have to pay 50 baht on top if the taxi has used the airport car parking facility). I suspect the hotel may also pick you up from the airport, gratis, if you arrange this with them in advance(?) They were happy to drop me back at the airport after my stay, again gratis. The hotel is only five minutes walk from the Airport Plaza shopping mall, which also has a Multiplex Cinema plus some the usual restaurants (Sizzlers etc.) . It's about a twenty five minute walk to the edge of the old city centre, or a five minute Tuk Tuk or taxi ride. All in all the pros far outweighed the cons very much and I had a great stay.

Room Tip: I suspect the rooms that have pool access on the ground floor may be a little quieter than the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gaius_Tacitus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baanusabai, Owner at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Gaius_tacitus,

Thank you for taking time to let us know your experiences during your stay. All Staffs and I are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and your comments will certainly motivate us to continue our strive for excellence.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Mai and Baan U Sabai in the near future.

Respectfully yours,
Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We booked the hotel after finding it on the internet and ended up staying for 5 days. It is close to the airport in a nice quiet street away from the noise of the town.
The rooms are lovely and, very clean and the staff were very accomadating. The pool is really nice, altogther a very pretty place to stay.
The only thing that we felt could be improved was the breakfast which was poor. Also we were asked to pay each day for that night which is quite unusual as normally when they have your credit card number you pay on check out.
However we would really recommend this hotel, maybe rent a scooter to get about town easily. It really is a little haven in chiang mai.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilyh35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This is my first review I have ever written about a hotel before so that should tell you just how much I loved this place. We stayed there for 6 nights. Initially this was only going to be one, then we would find somewhere a little more in our price range. But we just had to stay here for all 6 nights. First of all the hotel itself is a beautiful mix off authentic old Thai style but with all the mod cons you could need to be comfortable. It has only been open two months but is really stunning and well finished. From the antique wood everywhere and the re-claimed tiles in the lobby to the samsung TV's and bespoke hand carved stair case, this place reeks of quality. The location is also great about 15 mins walk or 5 mins tuk tuk into the old town. You are also 5 mins walk to the airport plaza if you so desire a shopping trip or the cinema on a rainy day. But the thing that sets this place apart is the staff. From the minute we walked through the door we were made to feel like the only guests in the hotel which is a rare treat. Just to give you an actual scenario, two nights ago was our wedding anniversary and when we got back from a wonderful day out waiting for us in the room was a pretty expensive bottle of wine and a card wishing us all the best for the day. Last night we were both pretty tired and fancied some pizza and a DVD. Not only did they call and order for us but the owners daughter went home, bought back HER dvd player and a selection of HER dvd's for us! Now obvioulsy as it's my anniversary im feeling all the joys of spring but that aside this place really does deserve the credit im bestowing on it. All I can say is if you are coming to Chaing Mai you would be silly not to try this place for yourself. I booked through Agoda and got a great room rate too.

Room Tip: Room 203 is absolutely gorgeous and was personally recommened to us by the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeybadger30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baanusabai, Owner at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Honeybadger30,

Thank you very much for your kind review of the hotel and our services and so sorry for the late reply. Its been a long time since you have stayed here and we miss you and your wife. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Respectfully yours,
Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 9527GIaudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.9 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
#12 of 801 in Chiang Mai
324 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#9 of 801 in Chiang Mai
249 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pak Chiang Mai
Pak Chiang Mai
#28 of 801 in Chiang Mai
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
iWualai Hotel
iWualai Hotel
#17 of 801 in Chiang Mai
98 reviews
1.8 mi away
BB Mantra Hotel
BB Mantra Hotel
#39 of 801 in Chiang Mai
189 reviews
2.0 mi away
De Wiangkumkam Hotel
De Wiangkumkam Hotel
#102 of 801 in Chiang Mai
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan U Sabai Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan U Sabai Boutique House

Address: 213/7 Mahidol Rd | T. Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 801 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £48 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan U Sabai Boutique House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living up to its definition in Thai, Baan U Sabai is your "comfortable living" home, where you will enjoy being in a truly unique location of Chiang Mai, but still feel like being at your own home. Built entirely out of teak wood and decorated with exquisite craftsmanship, our two-story boutique hotel is a magnificent work of art, as well as a paradise for any wood enthusiast. We provide 14 guestrooms: 9 Superior rooms and 5 Deluxe Pool Access rooms, that you can relax on the patio of the swimming pool right in front of your own bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan U Sabai Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing