We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baan U Sabai Boutique House
Ranked #73 of 835 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We had an excellent experience in this hotel. The staff is super friendly and the rate is fairly low which is a really good deal because it is a real nice small bead and breakfast hotel. The rooms are very tidy and clean, the hotel has been opened for a little over a year so everything is fairly new. Plus the swimming pool area is quite nice. 5 minutes away from old town in a tuk tuk, so its location is not bad. Also, you can easily walk to a shopping mall, less than a 5 min walk. The only thing we didn't quite like was the breakfast they served, but we were really fed up of eating rice by then.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaytheGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baanusabai, Owner at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Dear MaytheGJ,

Hola! How are you? We are so glad to see your nice review and we all miss you & your husband.
We are so sorry about the breakfast as we are a small hotel so we dont have much selection however we will try to improve and wait you back here.

Thank you again for your time to give us a review and looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Pat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

59 - 65 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2012

My family and I stayed at this boutique hotel from 28th nov - 2nd dec (in conjunction with the magnificent Loy Krathong festival). The rooms were extremely clean (there wasn't even a speck of dust on the balcony furniture) and lovely; not to mention authentic to the lanna custom. Though the rooms were comfortable, we had to attribute our wonderful stay to the impeccable service offered by the staff, particularly from a sweet young lady named Ping Pong and another bespectacled man who works the night shift at the reception. They were both polite and very accommodating to our requests; even going out of their way to help you with calls, bookings, and arrangements.

Though the hotel is hidden in a back alley, and budget cabs may have a problem locating the place, I'd advice ya'll to just carry the hotel card around and show it to the driver before you get onboard. Catching a cab from the hotel is fairly convenient, just take a 5 min stroll to the main road and the rest is easy-peasy.

Oh, and they serve one of the best scrambled eggs I've had for breakfast.
You won't regret your stay here. For the first time I did not miss home.

Rgds,
Camen Ng.

Room Tip: Room 208 was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camensurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baanusabai, Owner at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Dear Camen,

Thank you very much for your nice review of the hotel and our services. The entire team and I are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and your comments will certainly motivate us to continue our strive for excellence.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Respectfully yours,
Phantarak A. (Pat)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We arrived at the hotel after taking the night train from Bangkok. The room was already ready (it was 9:30 am!).

The hotel is quite cute, you have to take of your shoes in the lobby and you're offered Crocs to walk around the premises. It's a very small establishment (around 15 rooms) which gives it quite a homey ambience. We can understand that this may not be for everyone but it was perfect for us.

The rooms are extremely clean (we saw them move all furniture around to vacuum every last corner of the room). All rooms have a balcony (or pool access with a small terrace if you're on the lower floor). The only drawback of these balconies is that they are quite hot, even at night because of the overhanging roof.

The staff is very friendly and helpful and their english is good.

The location isn't that great as you have to get a songthaew or a tuktuk to get into town. We didn't have a problem with this, but at night it takes a while to get transportation away from the hotel. Even though it's close to the airport there isn't any noise pollution from arriving/departing flights.

Breakfast is a bit disappointing as you have to choose from a menu what you want the night before. However as this is a small establishment we understand that it would be very inefficient to have a whole buffet. The quality of the breakfast is ok.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiekeFlurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baanusabai, General Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Dear LiekeFlurin,

Thank you very much for having been our guests. We appreciate your kind comments and the understanding about our breakfast option. Moreover we are so happy to hear that you will be back here again.

We are looking forward to see you in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Phantarak A.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel 4 nights after reading great reviews and was extremely happy and pleased with my choice. The house is all traditionally Thai and beautifully done in teak wood, gives a very authentic feel. Its a small guest house with about 20 rooms, two floors, all having a tearrace or balcony looking at the beautiful pool. It was a welcome feature after day touring in the scoring heat of above 40C to just soak into the refreshing pool in the evening. The rooms have a fridge, TV, safe, a little desk and a comfy bed, and free WIFi. The house is spotless and clean, they make you take off your shoes and provie you with crocs or flip flops. The whole staff is extraordinary friendly and helpful at all times, they booked day tours for me and even offered a free ride to the airport for my departing flight. The breakfast is three choices and enough to start your day (not a buffet form, they ask you a day before what you would like to have the next day). The location is not in the center of Chiang Mai, it is right in between the airport and city center, which was no problem at all. The many Tuk Tuks and Taxis take you at all times into the center of town for 3 Dollar from the main road near the hotel (about 200m). All in all a very fantatstic little place to stay.

Room Tip: Definitely take a tour to the Elephant Farms and to the temple Wat Phra That up in the mountains, sc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ari1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baanusabai, General Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Ari1006,

All of staffs and i much appreciate for your kind review and would like to thank you for having been our guest recently.

Your comments serve as a motivation to all of us to continue working hard to make every guest feel comfortable, welcome and and feeling like you are part of our family during their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next journey to Chiang Mai.

Respectfully yours,
Phantarak A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Baan U Sabai is a beautiful family run boutique hotel with lovely staff and amazing interiors. The rooms are spotless and the pool is amazing. The location is quiet yet perfectly position between the airport and the centre of the city. The owner’s daughter goes the extra mile to make u feel welcome and her knowledge of English helps a lot in customer service dealings. Breakfast could be improved as now days a buffet breakfast is a norm. But for the rest, a well worth stay. BTW if you want to spend a day with the elephants on a farm that actually cares for these giants (and not abuse them for the sake of tourists), go to Patara Elephant Farm. Its a bit more expensive but you get to “own” your own elephant for the day, care about it, wash, clean and ride it and even swim with it. And the lunch, prepared by the village women is traditionally Thai and delicious. Amazing stay, definitely coming back!

Room Tip: all rooms are located around the central pool and have balconies and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliver p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baanusabai, Owner at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Oliver,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our services. My staffs and I are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and your comments will certainly motivate us to continue our strive for excellence.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Respectfully yours,
Pat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Very cute hotel a little bit outside the city centre, but it does not matter the taxi are so cheap anyway.

The rooms are lovely, all in wood, clean. The staff are all very helpful: giving you advices.
There is a pool, even if I enver went there it is nice to have one.

The only minus is the breakfast choice: only three types of breakfast.

Otherwise I would really recommend to go there!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minoushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baanusabai, General Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Minoushika,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our services as well as the pool. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Respectfully yours,
Phantarak A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Thailand, our 1st port of call was Chang Mai where we stayed at this guest house for 5 nights:

The hotel is immaculate with beautiful teak throughout. All the staff were very helpful & friendly & nothing seemed to be too much trouble througout. The hotel is about 1mile out of the centre of Chang Mai but can easily get a tuk tuk into town between £1-£2. Breakfasts was very tasty & after the 3rd day offered us further alternatives to the menu in case we were getting bored of the limited (4) options available.

Only negatives is for a hotel of this standard possibly lacking a bath in the rooms & showers were not that powerful but saying that the bathrooms again were immaculate.

Would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a bit of a sanctuary & calm in a hotel as the place definetely has a tranquil "zen" feel to it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baanusabai, General Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Dear Scott,

Thank you very much for having been our guests. We appreciates your kind comments and value your recommendations. We will continue to improve the shower system.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Chiang Mai and Baan U Sabai in the near future.

Respectfully yours,
Phantarak A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.8 mi away
Lanna Tree Boutique Hotel
Lanna Tree Boutique Hotel
#46 of 835 in Chiang Mai
74 reviews
4.6 mi away
Joy's House
Joy's House
#5 of 835 in Chiang Mai
743 reviews
1.1 mi away
Viang Dara
Viang Dara
#223 of 835 in Chiang Mai
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Stucco Loft Residency
Stucco Loft Residency
#204 of 835 in Chiang Mai
7 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baan Sang Singh
Baan Sang Singh
#43 of 835 in Chiang Mai
75 reviews
1.9 mi away
Iron32 Hotel Bar and Bistro
Iron32 Hotel Bar and Bistro
#84 of 835 in Chiang Mai
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan U Sabai Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan U Sabai Boutique House

Address: 213/7 Mahidol Rd | T. Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 835 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £39 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan U Sabai Boutique House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living up to its definition in Thai, Baan U Sabai is your "comfortable living" home, where you will enjoy being in a truly unique location of Chiang Mai, but still feel like being at your own home. Built entirely out of teak wood and decorated with exquisite craftsmanship, our two-story boutique hotel is a magnificent work of art, as well as a paradise for any wood enthusiast. We provide 14 guestrooms: 9 Superior rooms and 5 Deluxe Pool Access rooms, that you can relax on the patio of the swimming pool right in front of your own bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Baan U Sabai Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing