We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family hidaway in Ching Mai!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baan U Sabai Boutique House
Ranked #87 of 788 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel looks almost out of place when you see it. It is situated close to the airport and close to some industrial looking complex. Once you see it among the other building its does look fantastic and like a hideaway in a big urban city. OK now once we arrived at the airport we had the owner of the place collect us and bring us to the hotel. The hotel is all wood, room was clean and well appointed with TV, WiFi and nice bathroom. Now this feels like a guest house, it is smallish, personal service and every helpful staff. The pool is a treat also, it is saltwater and very clean. Breakfast has a range of choices from American to traditional… I recommend the rice with pork balls… nice and comes with a egg on top. Yum! Now the only thing to note about this hotel is a little distance from Chiang Mai old town. However there are the red vans close by to use to get to the city for about 30-30bhaat, so not a big issue.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms back on to the pool, do you can jump in from your rooms deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AidanandLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very nice, staff is friendly and helpful. They serve you your breakfast in front of your room overlooking the pool. Charming!!! The hotel position is not central. You must use the thai minibus (passing in a road nearby) to reach the center. A shuttle bus from the hotel would be a great confort for the guests (especially the 1st day that you do not know the city).

I like this hotel but with some changes it can be better. Some advices for the hotel manager:
1) the airconditioning airflow hits the bed while you are sleeping. It should flow somewhere else
2) bathroom. Guests need at least a shelf to put his belongings. There is nothing!
3) shower. It is not at the same level of the room.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank claudiobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel was a really good choice for us. With only 14 rooms, service was very personalized. The room, service, breakfast, free airport pick-up, room service massage (500baht/2hrs) were all awesome otherwise. No food in the hotel besides nuts, chips, and breakfast so buy some food outside if you need other snacks.

Only thing to note is it is not in the Old Town so you will have to pay ~120 baht for a car ride to town and I took a tuktuk back to hotel (~100baht) every time. Ask for the hotel card so you can show tuktuk drivers the address and map.

Near the airport and definitely check out the Airport Plaza mall (5 minutes away by crossing an intersection) nearby for any shopping needs.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feedjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Everything,friendly staff,great breakfast,close to Airport but quiet,the hotel is very nice decor,which my husband like it very much, very comfortable there,we will go back there again for the next trip

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LveTravel0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

A great place to stay if you are looking for somewhere close to the airport. It is only minutes away by van but you still don't hear any aircraft. At first approach you may wonder where it is but once inside it opens out and seems private and intimate. Having the private deck that had the pool lapping at the edge was great for being able to simply fall into pool and having breakfast delivered to my room and laid out on the deck was a luxury you don't get many other places.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank calisotanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baanusabai, General Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice review.We are looking forward to serve you again in the near future.

Phantarak A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We loved the hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful decor. Gave us the room we requested. Just amazing! Its about 10 to 15 mins drive to main areas like night bazzar and all, but it didnt bother us. We managed to take the "red pick up truck or taxi" to the main areas with less compared to the tuk tuk. The hotel can advice you if you are interested to do so. Wonderful hotel, we felt in love with. One of the best that we have stayed during this trip to thailand.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SuSu29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baanusabai, General Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are so appreciated and hope to see you back in the near future.

Regards,
Phantarak A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

There is the great place in ChiangMai. the helpful of the staff and the beautiful environment. Although it's out of the town, but it's not far away from the Sat Market. Also, the airport pickup service is useful for the visitor. All my family member love to live in here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baanusabai, General Manager at Baan U Sabai Boutique House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your stay and your kind review.
We hope to see you again when you visit Chiang Mai in the next time.

Best Regards,
Phantarak A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.0 mi away
De Wiangkumkam Hotel
De Wiangkumkam Hotel
#101 of 788 in Chiang Mai
69 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa San Pee-Seua
Villa San Pee-Seua
#27 of 788 in Chiang Mai
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
We Terminal Hotel
We Terminal Hotel
#274 of 910 in Chiang Mai
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
#12 of 788 in Chiang Mai
323 reviews
1.9 mi away
Chedi Home
Chedi Home
#8 of 788 in Chiang Mai
245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jangmuang Boutique House
Jangmuang Boutique House
#167 of 788 in Chiang Mai
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan U Sabai Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan U Sabai Boutique House

Address: 213/7 Mahidol Rd | T. Changklan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 788 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £34 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan U Sabai Boutique House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living up to its definition in Thai, Baan U Sabai is your "comfortable living" home, where you will enjoy being in a truly unique location of Chiang Mai, but still feel like being at your own home. Built entirely out of teak wood and decorated with exquisite craftsmanship, our two-story boutique hotel is a magnificent work of art, as well as a paradise for any wood enthusiast. We provide 14 guestrooms: 9 Superior rooms and 5 Deluxe Pool Access rooms, that you can relax on the patio of the swimming pool right in front of your own bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baan U Sabai Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing