We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Khuangsingh Residence
Ranked #240 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed for three nights while visiting Chiang Mai. The hotel seems fairly nice, although I think it may have been built in a converted building. The hallways are very large and many things appear to be new. The rooms appear like they do in the pictures put up by the hotel, although I do not know if the rooms vary in terms of what they are like inside (we only stayed in one room). Our room had an enormous fridge, one of the largest I have ever seen in a hotel (it was practically full size). There was a padded bench/couch and a tv along with two beds in our room. There was also a nice counter space that lined the wall off to the right side of the beds.

The bathroom looks like it did in the photo, yes there is a glass window between the beds and the toilet (my wife found this amusing). The hotel was very clean and the staff was great at helping us out. Although the hotel did not provide a full tour service like some other places we stayed at and the staff could not speak English that well they tried their best. Down below I did not rate the restaurant or pool option because the hotel has neither. At the time of this writing however there was a decent sized grocery store along with a 7-11 probably less than 50m away from the hotel.

I did rate the location down however because the hotel is not really in that great of a location. It is far away from all the places other foreigners stay (away from the canals and stuff) and is not really near any other hotels. It also opens onto a one way street so if you want to get a cab (or red truck) you need to cross the street and hail it from the other side if you are headed in that direction. You are closer to Mae-Rim and all that if you want to go see all the attractions however, as I said, away from where most of the other foreigners stay.

Other than that, I thought it was reasonably priced, had a helpful staff and was very clean. I liked the fridge a lot and as long as you do not mind the location I would certainly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

This rooms were big and came with a large refrigerator. The bathroom was really nice. I have no complaints about the actual room except the fact that our wifi was pretty horrible there. I had to step into the main corridor of our floor just to get a connection.

Also, the people working the lobby really need to work on their English skills if they want to cater to tourists. I found that they were helpful because they tried really hard to be accommodating, but communication with them took a whole lot of effort because of the language barrier. They provided no touring information. Their location is far from tourist attractions in the city, but is in a good location if all you want to do is see the nature attractions

If you walk out of the hotel to try to hail a taxi, good luck. We had to have the desk call us the red truckers to pick us up if we needed to go anywhere. Luckily we had friends who lived locally there, so getting around wasn't as difficult as it could have been. I would not recommend this place if you're looking for easy access to tourist attractions or if you're a first-timer in the area. But the rooms are nice and cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stinacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

The hotel room was surprisingly big, like the other reviewer said. Hot water is always hot, divisions between sink, toilet, and shower. Loved that there was a little partition so that the rest of the bathroom wasn't a flooded mess after each bath. TV included, but no real English channels, but it was fun to watch Thai tv and make pretend dialogue while watching soaps :P. There is a cafe and supermarket in the compound as well. Also a few restaurants down the road. 7-11 around the corner. But yes, being as this was outside main tourist central, it was a little difficult eating out. Lots of hawker stalls just outside in the market.... but don't expect menus to be in English. Suggestion would be stay in Old city most of the day, get dinner, then head back to hotel. We stayed only 2 nights after coming back to Chiangmai after Pai. We had already done a longer stay in the center of Old City before we left for Pai, so I didn't feel as if I had missed out on anything. Try and stay closer to the center if you want to avoid paying for transportation :)

Also, this, like the other review said is a little ways away from town center (Old City). So expect to pay no less than 100 baht going back at night even if you use a songthaew. Best bet for transportation back at night is to flag down a songthaew or tuk tuk, and tell them "boriboon market" (which is the market that is directly beside Khuangsing residence). Not many people go that way at night though, that's why it's so expensive getting there after dark. As far as getting into town, walk down a ways towards the city, cross the first intersection, and situate yourself facing town, flag down a songthaew, and tell them Taephae gate. that should cost you about 20baht per person. we flagged down the red ones, never tried the yellow. Don't expect a view from hotel room here. For a cheap room though, that is clean and quiet, this fits the bill. No airport transfer, despite what agoda may say :)... but not a problem really.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jkacarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I booked a room here for a week at the beginning of November. Location wise, it's a bit too far from the city centre if you're the walking sort like me. I actually did set aside a day to walk to town. Took me the better part of an hour although jostling with traffic isn't as death defying as Bangkok or Jakarta. Hint: get a hat and some good sunscreen lotion.

You might also take this as an opportunity to familiarize yourself with the local transport. Now, I'm Asian (their friendly Malaysian neighbour) so I don't think I ever got ripped off. A "songthaew" cost me only 10 baht each way, but I noticed the locals just pay off with a 20 baht note, no change requested, so I feel like a stingy miser. To board one, just wait at the road side. Ask a local if they can help. Once a yellow or red modified pickup shows up, flag it down. Most if not all will be heading to the city centre. Just say "town" or "city" and they will get the idea. If you're headed somewhere specific, say Warorot market, just shout it out. If they aren't going that way, maybe they take you close or send you to another that is. A tuk-tuk ride towards midnight cost me 100 baht from the town back but then it was like a private taxi. Tourists of whiter or darker disposition may need to exercise a bit of street savvy.

Anyway, the hotel is nicely laid out as you would expect from a hotel of this class. No in-house cafeteria but there's a coffee bar just outside. Anything else you need can be gotten at the shopping mart and pharmacy just outside. It's also next to a market, so that's where the Thai food lover can have his (or her) fill. I love the spread and variety although my Thai friend insists they were mostly "meh" by her standard!

The room is big. I was pleasantly surprised. The bathroom (no tub) is a proper three "segment" affair (wash basin, WC, shower) with no overlap. The room also came with air conditioning, a fridge, LCD TV and free water. To say it's spartan would be descriptive, not a critique. It's enough for the price. Despite being next to the aforementioned market, noise wasn't an issue.

Niggles? A couple. 1) No hot water kettle. Is it really that costly to have one in every room? 2) The internet. Yes, Wifi is free but you need to request a password from the front desk. The password is good for 3 hours, so if you're a heavy user like me, you need to visit the front desk often AND since you're there, make sure you login before you adjourn to your room. Why? I did ask for multiple tickets and most of them didn't work. Save yourself a few trips, login at the front desk.

If you're a fan of Isaan food (the hot, fiery variety), wake up early, walk out, turn right past the market, you'll see a simple restaurant with a grill set up in front. Observe the crowd buying breakfast. Get some yourself.

Dinner can be had all around: noodles, pad thai, fruits, som tom and a variety of grilled stuff.

Do note that Chiang Mai, other than the tourist-sy city centre, presents a bit of a language barrier. Most of the locals speak little to no English. But Thais, being Thais, are friendly and with a bit of patience and a lot of smiles, you can get by.

So my stay here is enjoyable but I must dock the hotel one "star" because the staff made a rather personal offhand remark about my Thai fiance. She hardly looks the sort you would've picked up at a the local tavern where the ladies are, shall we say, "friendly and available"?

For the family traveler, I'm happy to report that Chiang Mai is quite family friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angkana2554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank langonned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.7 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 394 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
2.6 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 394 in Chiang Mai
688 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 394 in Chiang Mai
3,153 reviews
4.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,088 reviews
4 mi away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#172 of 394 in Chiang Mai
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khuangsingh Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khuangsingh Residence

Address: 89 Choatana Rd. | T.Changpeuek, A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £16 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Khuangsingh Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Khuangsingh Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing