We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sheik Istana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheik Istana Hotel
Ranked #83 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

A brand new hotel. So hip and chic.
Good decoration: Everything; furniture's, decorations, gardens ... simply in details.
Good services: Free for transportation to many places with BMW Series 5!! VIP
Good staffs: Service minds and service smiles

Beyond expectation!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jibbza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    62
    21
    5
    11
See reviews for
38
96
20
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

My general rating for this hotel is really 4.5 stars-very very good since it is just a bit too far from town, but they get .5 more for far and away service that was beyond expectation. I have left an expensive object in my room at check out, only discovered once I arrived in my hotel in Bangkok. I sent an email not expecting much (and after 9pm) and by 10pm I got a phone call and they said they'd overnight ship it to me without charge. I offered to pay the shipping, but they insisted. Another example: after I booked my room online I had another question, so I sent a quick email requesting a car pick up from airport. They responded the next day promptly and confirmed. The pickup was in a nice BMW sedan, very new...which is always nice. It cost about USD $8. From front desk, to restaurant staff to gym staff everyone was extremely courteous and helpful.

This hotel only opened in September 2011 and the room I was in was just about perfect. I was on the 2nd floor facing the Ping River and maybe I higher floor would be better, but I had no complaints. Check out the photos for pics of the room. I ate a couple times at the moroccan specialty restaurant and the moroccan food was just amazing if you feel like a break from Thai food (they have Thai food also). The gym and pool are also adequate for this size hotel although not quite up to the standard of a high-end international chain hotel.

If you're looking to stay outside of the city centre (but only 5-10 min taxi away), then this is the place. They do have bikes to use for free for 3 hrs then a small fee after that and they do some free shuttles into town on a regular schedule (although you need to find your own way back).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almanorkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Overall of this hotel is very good, nice decorations and good staffs service. I would like to suggest only few things that very important for travallers. First, tap water was unstable especially in my room and spa , second was breakfast and internet connection was very slow.
I really appreciated with the staffs, they were very nice and good service.

Room Tip: Room on the 4th floor... you will have the good scenery there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
Level Contributor
241 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Just completed our second visit to this fantastic hotel. I thought perhaps a second visit might not live up to our first experience, but it did, in every way. The hotel wasn't busy so there was no buffet breakfast. Instead we were handed a menu to choose what we wanted and everything was done to order. Personally I prefer this over a buffet. The restaurant staff were lovely, always there and keen to make sure you have enough of everything you want. Coffee is fresh and made to order.....none of the stewed in a pot stuff!
Deluxe room is huge with a 42" LCD and the bathroom is large with separate tub and shower. Attention to detail and the quality of fittings is superb.
The stunning gardens that look out to the river are a work of art and meticulously taken care of.
I can't pick out any particular member of staff as being special....because they all are, polite and friendly...always.
Thank you again to everyone at Sheik Istana, and can't wait to visit again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gmund am Tegernsee, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

The only thing that could be better was the location. it's too far to walk into town, but it being at the riverside was wonderful and provided best views. it's easy to get to find the night-bazaar. Just go staight along the river. The balcony was fantastic. The whole property was very well-maintained and planned. Beautiful garden and pools. The room was great and had everything we needed. Wonderful atmosphere in the hotel. great swimming in the pool.
Breakfast was served at the table once but had a buffet the next day.

Room Tip: all rooms faced the river. get a room on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Waltraud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

love everything in this hotel ex. Great decorations , nice rooms , good service and also food. You can enjoy your time for relaxing in spa&masssage. It's very pretty good. And the riverside is awesome . It 's mixing with moroccan & thai properly. Very impressed & pleased .

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M3not
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

We have just enjoyed a 3day package deal. Everything was truly delightfully.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.4 mi away
Zensala Riverpark Resort
Zensala Riverpark Resort
#51 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
3.8 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.9 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
3.3 mi away
Oriental Siam Resort
Oriental Siam Resort
#50 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheik Istana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheik Istana Hotel

Property: Sheik Istana Hotel
Address: 10/1 Moo 3 Padad Road | Padad, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheik Istana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheik Istana is ideally situated on the Ping River, the main river that runs through the city, in one of the most beautiful locations in Chiang Mai. All attraction areas are all within easy reach. The design of the 35 luxuriously appointed guest rooms was inspired by Moroccan and Asian architecture, making the hotel ideally suited for a romantic getaway or honeymoon; its convenient location and beautiful, cosy and elegant atmosphere will however equally appeal to business people. Relax and take in the stunning views of Wat Chedi Lium, one of the ancient temples in Wiang Kum Kam,from your guestroom terrace and have yourself pampered by our friendly and professional staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheik Istana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing