We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the hotel you must book!”
Review of Baanlek Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baanlek Home Stay
Ranked #81 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This is the hotel you must book!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Amazingly friendly hosts, who made us feel right at home. Cosy bedrooms and small, but perfectly functional bathrooms. TV, fridge, air conditioning all available, but the kind, helpful owner and his family were what we will remember from our visit. Very good location too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyGanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
38
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

Baanlek home stay, the place to be!
Mr.lek (the owner) is the most helpful person in the world! He always have a good advice for you. Where to go, the most chepeast way, he give u map from chiang mai and everything! He take care of the guest, from de breakfast, until the night! When you arrive very tired, he offers you his hospitality! Take a beer with him and know his friends! They gonna help you to meet the real chiang mai.

And of course the rooms are amazing and the garden, the breakfast, the mr.lek's wife is amazing too!

So, I repeat, YOU HAVE TO GO TO MR BAANLEK GUEST HOUSE, you are gonna feel better than any place of chiang mai!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The first thing you'll notice about this Home Stay is the warm welcome from Mr. Lek, and the visit continues that way. This is not a standard hotel, it's a home and the family make you feel at home.

Baanlek Home Stay has about 14 rooms over two levels. Rooms are small and functional - a large bed, a TV, Fridge, working desk, separate shower/toilet etc. Rooms are clean and very safe. Free Wi-fi with a good signal is available.

Outside the rooms is a garden and common area used for eating breakfast, having coffee, meeting other guests etc. Each night I came back I found Mr. Lek there who offered me cold drinks/beer etc. Very, very friendly.

Location wise, it's a 5-10 minute walk to the old city wall and the market. It's a 2 minute walk to "Documentary Arts Asia" gallery (movies screening every Monday and Thursday). The street is very quiet so no problem getting a good night sleep. It's also close to the airport and Mr. Lek will organize an airport pickup and drop-off for you.

In summary, if you're not after a 5-star hotel but want to stay in a friendly guesthouse then this is the place for you. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyB_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurong West, null, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The room was really nice and comfortable. Mr.Lek and his staffs were very helpful.
The location is 10mins from the gate of Old Chiang Mai. You can tell the host what you want to eat for next morning! They really do what you want for you.
Mr.Lek even sent us to Airport when we left Chiang Mai.
Great experience in Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ming_Han_Xu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed at Baanlek Home Stay for 3 nights and the place was lovely. The owner, Mr. Lek, was very friendly and kind, it was hard not to smile! The location was convenient, a little walk into the old town but close enough. Breakfast was made every morning and Mr. Lek was happy to help with any questions we had. Other positives include the strong wifi connection and the free transfer to the airport upon departure.

Just a couple negatives that are really not in anyone's control...there were a lot of mosquitoes that made it into our room which made it hard to sleep and be prepared to hear some nearby roosters crowing in the morning. Otherwise, the property was very nice with very lovely hosts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Everything is perfect! The location is good, not far from the Chiang Mai Gate and the market. It is a traditional Thai-style house with beautiful decorations. The room service is very good, clean and cosy room with everything inside. The price is reasonable with the breakfast included, special Lana Thai food is preserved differently every morning. They even offered me a VIP breakfast the day I left, with curry chicken and Tom Yam soup and dessert of fruit! What I love best is the host Lek couple and their friends! They teach me Thai language and we enjoyed beer and chatting every evening when I went back to Baanlak.
The place is not known well by the local taxi, but actually it is really near to the Chiang Mai Gate, no more than five minutes walk. Maybe Lek should make a big size post at the Chiang Mai Gate, :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed 5 nights in March 2013, before going to Pai, we were so impressed we booked another 2 nights on our return to Chiang Mai - and we were treated like old friends on our return. The location is a short walk from the city walls but for us, this just meant peace and quiet away from all the traffic. The accommodation is nice, the rooms are fairly compact, but very clean, with a fridge, tv, good efficient air-conditioning, and powerful hot water showers. Breakfast is included, which is a traditional Lanna Thai style, which is not to everyones taste, but is a great experience, and to be honest, isn't the whole point of travelling to experience what other cultures do, including what they eat?! The best thing about BannLek Home Stay is the people. Khun Lek, his wife and the enigmatic Per, were fantastic. (And the girl who's name I don't know, who smiled, cooked, smiled, cleaned, smiled...). Khun Lek only speaks basic English, but Per who works there has great English and is always around to help out. We didn't have any issues with getting what we needed or making ourselves understood. The only negative I can think of, is that the property is a traditional Lanna style house, it is beautiful but built of wood, so a little noise from the neighbouring rooms is expected. We found all the guests to be respectable travellers though, and not party-goers, so weren't kept awake at all. We were pleased with our decision to stay here, and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We chose an upstairs room, which is away from the communal area if you want it a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LVKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#15 of 383 in Chiang Mai
511 reviews
1.7 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#24 of 383 in Chiang Mai
669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tadkham Village
Tadkham Village
#82 of 747 in Chiang Mai
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baan Ratchiangsaen
Baan Ratchiangsaen
#59 of 840 in Chiang Mai
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wualai Sabaidee
Wualai Sabaidee
#17 of 840 in Chiang Mai
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oxotel Hostel
Oxotel Hostel
#54 of 840 in Chiang Mai
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baanlek Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baanlek Home Stay

Property: Baanlek Home Stay
Address: 70/1Nantaram Road., T. Haiya | 182 Brookside Parkway, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Baanlek Home Stay 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Baanlek Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing