We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hostel, nice travelers”
Review of Deejai Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deejai Backpackers
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average hostel, nice travelers”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

It's cheap so don't expect to much... But it was not bad. The great thing about this hostel is that you meet so many nice people :D In no time we had a group of 8 people and did all kinds of things together. Breakfast in the hostel is fine but a bit pricy. Further down the street they have a bar and swimming pool which are really nice. Good food and the swimming pool is big. 50Baht when you stay in dorm at Deejai's and free if you stay in private room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuukOpReis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    106
    57
    34
    19
See reviews for
3
32
124
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We've been to many, many backpackers before, and comparing this one to others, it's awful! We payed $16.33 (USD) for our private room where the bed made so much noise, with the mdf they used for the slats snapping every time you moved! The staff were uninterested. When I read reviews that talk about bad service I often just overlook it, but when you're being ignored by someone you are essentially paying, it's frustrating. The thing that confused me the most, however, was the atmosphere of the place. For a backpacker hostel, the people staying here are so unfriendly! No one talks to you, or each other! We stayed one night and regretted it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophielizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This is one of those hostels where everything is focused at meeting people and having a good time, and they are doing that really good!

The rooms are clean and have comfy beds. The bathroom is rather small and impractical but for the price I paid it was perfect.

The social common area is where you will be spending most of your time. From breakfast to preparing for nights out, this is the place where this hostel excels in! It offers decent food and drinks and you will meet a lot of people here.

Also check out the Deejay Garden, where there is a pool and a really nice place to relax in hammocks. Guests of the hostel get a discount there!

The australian owner helps you out with everything you need and the rest of the staff is also very friendly.

All in all, if you are looking for a cool social place to stay, Deejay backpackers is the way to go!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Thom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This is the best backpackers I have ever stayed at. I stayed in both a dorm and a private room. Excellent value. They have a pool and bar down the road that have live music at night. I met the most amazing people at this place and we all partied at night and went exploring in the day. I will come back to this place for sure.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonmFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The hostel is fine, it's very basic but that's to be expected for budget hostels. The garden area is nice. Only thing I'd say is the rooms only have one plug for 4 people and it's high above a light setting so you either hve to do a risky balancing act with your phone or stand there and hold it while it charges. But apart from that, it's okay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollyrosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Been travelling for three months all around asia and this has been the best hostel yet. It has everything! As this was one of first places we came we met soooo many people who still threee months later we keep arranging to meet in other places. For that I am very grateful for deejai backpackers as we have made so many good friends! Dorms are clean n fine we tried a room too which was nice the pool is ace just meet people and drink round the pool, the bbqs they put on are so much fun they have a camp fire, tree house pool table and a band on. Couldnt wish for any more!!! Communal area good too and food really good!! Close to everything usually people go out in a big group after drinks in hostel bar so much fun! And so cheap. Stay here!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

I have been staying in hostels around the world every day for ten months. Deejai is the most fun and friendly place I have been. The staff is great, the place is cheap, it has everything except AC in the common area. Its outdoors though so I can't blame them.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Daryth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#6 of 826 in Chiang Mai
184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hug Hostel
Hug Hostel
#24 of 826 in Chiang Mai
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#34 of 826 in Chiang Mai
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mojito Garden 2
Mojito Garden 2
#228 of 826 in Chiang Mai
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Walking Street Hostel
Eden Walking Street Hostel
#25 of 826 in Chiang Mai
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
HOSTEL by BED
HOSTEL by BED
#7 of 826 in Chiang Mai
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deejai Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deejai Backpackers

Property: Deejai Backpackers
Address: 193 / 1 - 2 Ratchamanka Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 826 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing