We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overhyped.”
Review of Deejai Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deejai Backpackers
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

The first room we stayed in here was the basic dorm in which we found a cockroach and toad waiting to welcome us in the bathroom. The room was very dirty, dead insects on the floor, mould, dampness- it was just horrible. After mentioning this to reception we did get an upgrade to a private room where the hot water wasn't working. Apart from that the private rooms are okay.

The reception staff are not very friendly or helpful. They are supposed to have food available all day but the two times I have actually requested food the chef was 'away' and no one was able to tell me when she would get back which is awkward as there's no where around to get food.

Also we requested to borrow 2 towels for which we had to pay a 400 baht deposit and 40 baht rental charge which would have been okay if the towels were good but they were dirty towels that had been left by travellers which is just not on.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed her during Songkran, so the hostel was a bit crazy. My room was pretty gross as it had a shower and no ventilation, mildew was the scent of my room. They had a kitchen there that did standard breakfast.

They also owned a facility just down the road with a very nice pool, and bar. There was a cool tree house too that you could sit in as well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

No one ever leaves in time from this place. Perfect atmosphere, nice staff, new and beautiful rooms and dorms, nice garden, calm area and food for an achievable price. Loved it and highly recommend it. They also got free bbq from time to time at deejai garden, which offers a nice restaurant and chillout area, located about 2 min from the hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordinva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is definitely a nice hostel. Nice staff and loads of backpackers stay here, so it's easy to meet many new people. It's not too expensive, but having said that, there are much cheaper places (with a more authentic atmosphere) to stay at within the city walls. Also, if you are a woman traveling by yourself, I wouldn't stay here. The guesthouse is just a bit too far away from the places where you might want to go in the evening for you to go back by yourself. This is a feeling I had, that was later, shockingly, confirmed by a girl I met. So, if you're traveling by yourself and want to go out in the evening, I would stay somewhere more central (for example, in the North East corner within the city wall).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrederiekeVan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I found my stay here to be relatively average, the staff were helpful however. More than happy to help with scooter hire, maps and cool stuff to do. It was the atmosphere I feel let it down, but in saying that nothing here was too bad. Comfortable beds and a good shower, so overall not a bad place to stay. The one issue I did have was one day I came back to 3 staff members I assume 'cleaning' my room to find that obviously chucked a few buckets down and therefore had soaked my backpack and a few of my other belongings, bit annoying.

Room Tip: I had a 3rd floor room and the wifi was not accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luke h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Good value, relaxed attitude, activities coming out their **** and very helpful, friendly service. Visited in the middle of songkran 2014. Nice new garden built which hosts chilling in the day, parties a few nights a week at reasonable prices. Food at the garden poor though, better off at the main hostel (50m apart) where you get a cracking breakfast. Cheap access by tuctuc to clubs etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank storari47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

It was so social and perfect if you want a buzzy place to stay and meet lots of backpackers and people travelling. You can not complain about the prices as it is very cheap and the rooms are good. The breakfast here is amazing, especially if your wanting a nice english breakfast. They even have heinz beans! That sold it for my friend and I! 100% would recommend it. Nice outside seating area to have some pre-drinks at. Deff no complaints

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Danielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#8 of 932 in Chiang Mai
217 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brick House Hostel
Brick House Hostel
#27 of 932 in Chiang Mai
124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Absolute House
Absolute House
#18 of 932 in Chiang Mai
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
HOSTEL by BED
HOSTEL by BED
#5 of 932 in Chiang Mai
111 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hug Hostel
Hug Hostel
#29 of 932 in Chiang Mai
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#26 of 932 in Chiang Mai
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deejai Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deejai Backpackers

Address: 193 / 1 - 2 Ratchamanka Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 932 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £8 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Deejai Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing