We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greta place for backpackers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deejai Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deejai Backpackers
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greta place for backpackers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Ok so this wasn't the best place we stayed on our travels however we really did treat ourselves for a lot of it. But nevertheless would still return. We got a private dorm for four quite small but for what we were paying it was ideal! And we had our own bathroom and shower! We only had a fan in our room which I found annoying but the girls didn't mind it! The atmosphere was great In the hostel really laid back and funny signs all around the place! Lovely brekkie and lunch available too! I think we paid 120baht a night(however I could be wrong) I'd defo recommend to stay! The English guy who ran the hostel was cool too and even gave us a lift to the airport for 50baht ideal :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cait N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    101
    55
    32
    18
See reviews for
3
29
120
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights.
The rooms are very simples and clean, but the common area and restaurant is the best of this Hostel.
The guy who runs this place all the time is doing his best to make sure everybody have a good time, he made a trip to the lake and we just paid the truck gas.. Was the best way to met a lot of people there.
The staff is really helpful, Thai girl on reception help me every time that i need arrange some bus ticket or tour.
The location is perfect.. Near to saturday and sunday night markets and from the shoppings malls.. It surrounded by couple of temples and its on the way to the mountain temple.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

This hostel was recommended to me by friends I met while travelling. It's really cheap, 120 baht a night, and great value, also it is very clean! The hostel also owns a bar/ garden/ pool across the road which is very social and all the staff are brilliant with great English! Rob in the bar recommended a great camp for elephant trekking where all the elephants were well treated! For the value and atmosphere I'd definitely recommend it!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Deejai is a basic hostel with a good social area. The rooms are fairly clean but do not have air-con, and the Wi-Fi is only available in the reception. We stayed in the three person room for 2 nights. One major drawback is that the rooms do not lock properly and the lockers are far too small to fit all your valuable items in. Other than that Deejai met our expectations for the price. It is a great place to meet new people, especially other young backpackers.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

It had a nice social lounge area down bottom and the outside entrance way but the room left a lot to be desired. The powerpoint didn't have enough power to charger my phone, lights didnt work in the room, no toilet paper, toilet flush was very poor, no towels, windows didn't lock and swung open to anyone.
It was only a 1 night here on a stop though. But if it was longer I would have moved.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Murrayp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

As far as backpackers go it's not one of the best I have stayed at.

Location - got a pretty big walk to most places. And moped or Tuk Tuk to anything good, on the road is no good places to eat or shops and the backpack Restutant is shockingly crap.

Rooms - I got a private room, size was ok but stank of mould and teenagers.

Staff - all they want is your money first. And there about as sociable as a door frame.

Cleanliness - ok

Overall won't stay here again value for money, there is better places.


Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl1744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I chose this hostel for its social reputation and the fact that you could get a private room for under $20 a night. It delivered on both of those counts. I met lots of great people in the lobby who I was able to hang out with. Otherwise, it's fairly average. The bedspread was dirty, lots of bugs in the room since the doors aren't sealed, and the air conditioner dripped all night forcing me to abandon my hope of a night without ear plugs. There's a pool down the street but you have to pay 50 baht to use it unless you get a private room. The location isn't great, a little far removed from the markets, bars, and restaurants. Overall the place was adequate, if you're a young backpacker looking to meet people you'll probably be pleased.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank phillyjen716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#6 of 787 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#29 of 787 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hug Hostel
Hug Hostel
#18 of 787 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mojito Garden 2
Mojito Garden 2
#197 of 787 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.1 mi away
At Baan Khun Hostel
At Baan Khun Hostel
#71 of 787 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.1 mi away
SOHOstel
SOHOstel
#203 of 787 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deejai Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deejai Backpackers

Property: Deejai Backpackers
Address: 193 / 1 - 2 Ratchamanka Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 787 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing