We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good guesthouse, great location”
Review of de Rachamanka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
de Rachamanka
Ranked #106 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good guesthouse, great location”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

For us the location of this hotel was perfect. Situated in the heart of the old town and away from the noise of the new town but still within the perimeter of the moat.
Yes there's noise from the school but this is part of the fabric of the area and the everyday life. After a few days you get used to it.
Nearby there are decent restaurants so after a long day if you don't fancy the 15 minute walk in to the centre, you've got lots of choice on the doorstep.

The rooms are a decent size and the style very urban in appearance i.e. concrete finish modernised by contemporary wall paper.
Facilities are good but a little more light (so you can read) and space and hooks to put your things (like towels) in the bathroom would be helpful.
The breakfast is great with a pretty good choice.

The staff are very helpful and the owner very laid back with a dry sense of humour. They are happy to help you with recommending a restaurant, booking tours or any general advice.

We' d recommend it and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mala8830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    60
    27
    3
    7
See reviews for
23
87
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sunshine coast
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Nice hotel not glamorous but simple and stylish rooms. Very friendly family atmosphere. Felt safe and welcome walking distance to Sunday Walking and many restaurants. Western and Thai breakfast.We did have to wait until 2 to check in but that is because the rooms were full and staff need time to clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meowSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I think overall I didnt have a great experience at this place.
We arrived early and were not able to check in until the stated time of 2pm which was fine and they happily kept out bags while we went and checked out the area.
Unlike other reviewers I didnt think the location was all that, it wasnt too far but on an evening everything in the local proximinty closed down and most taxis / tuk tuks really struggled in finding the place.
There is no overnight reception, just a padlocked gate for entry to the premises. On the second night of our three night stay the guy in the room next door brought a thai lady friend back and had a very 'pleasurable' evening which kept me awake most of the night. This would be a nightmare for a family.
The room itself was adequate however very dark (one tiny window) and had a bit of a musty smell. The shower was more often than not cold. Breakfast was a small selection but was cooked to order every morning and was reasonable.
The staff however were helpful and would assist where they could.
Upon check out the room was checked and they came out with a towel that had a small about of mascara left on it, they wanted payment for the towel which we refused on the basis that this was quite simply ridiculous.
This place did have some good aspects however I wouldnt recommend and I am sure there are far more places to stay while in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Cant advise on what room to opt for but I stayed in Room 1. Right at the entrance and very noisy! Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustSo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Great location right in the middle of the Old City. Many restaurants and major sightseeing attractions are right around the corner. The staff spoke Excellent English and were very helpful with any requests I made. The breakfast was beyond the typical Thai breakfast as with most hotels in this price range, i.e., there was an excellent selection for all tastes. This hotel has been the best value for the money in this price category that I've experienced so far in Thailand.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Simple but nice and very clean hotel, comfortable common spaces and very helpful staff. Some rooms do not have much light, but anyway that's not where you stay when in Chiang Mai! Location is also good.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdiM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We came to check in at 12pm knowing full well that we probably wouldn't be able to until the scheduled check-in time of 2pm but hoping that the room might be ready as one of us was terribly ill. When we got there, they did not have our booking (made via booking.com) and faffed about a little and eventually gave us to the only empty room (thankfully they had one). They took 1400 baht from us in cash before we had even seen the room.

Later I had an email from booking.com asking us why we had not showed up at our reservation. Obviously the hotel had not told them that they messed up our booking and made it seem like we just didn't turn up. Booking.com sorted this out promptly.

There were several suitcases lying around in the lobby belonging to other guests who were also unable to check in. There was one cleaner who did not turn up till about mid-day and she was having a tough time getting the rooms ready. No one else was helping her - the rest of the staff just sat around swatting flies or went off for lunch.

We were sitting in the lobby this entire time with one us of passing out on the sofa. After much nagging and attempts to explain that one of us had collapsed from being ill, our room was eventually made ready at 14:45. The other guests probably had to wait longer.

The room (deluxe) was nice with a balcony facing the street so not very private. The bathroom was basic. We got some free water as is the custom in Thailand. Breakfast was below average.

To be perfectly honest, the hotel feels like a hostel with the way it is laid out. There is nothing special about it for the money they are charging. We were staying at a delightful B&B just up the road (costs less) and had to leave there because they were fully booked for our last night in Chiang Mai. We would not have left the other B&B if we had had a choice.

Also, if you need a taxi for the airport just stand outside and hail one (we took the red taxi to the airport and it cost 100 baht) because if you ask the hotel they will book you a tuk-tuk and charge you double. They seem to be taking a cut.

The place could be nicer if the staff cared.

Room Tip: If you need a taxi, hail one from outside the hotel. The staff in the hotel charge double and take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GandA10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We spent three nights in this lovely little hotel. The rooms were done out really nicely - linen was fresh and new. There are no tea/ coffee making facilities which would have been nice but you can order in reception which is a few steps away from the rooms. They did have a bit of a water problem as we were in two rooms and both had leaks, one from the toilet and the other was just a large wet patch under our bed.

The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgable of activities in Chaing Mai. They helped us book a cooking course, trekking as well as onward travel to Chaing Kong. They even kept our bags for us for two nights while we went trekking in the jungle.

Breakfast could be ordered over and above the room rate and it was really delicious - the French toast was really good and they even got up early to make us toast and tea before we headed off on our early morning bus ride.

We would stay in is hotel again for sure - it's lovely and the people are great!

Room Tip: Ask about any leaks before you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Anoma Boutique House
Anoma Boutique House
#179 of 747 in Chiang Mai
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namamema Colonial Boutique House
Namamema Colonial Boutique House
#141 of 747 in Chiang Mai
14 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#43 of 747 in Chiang Mai
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#13 of 747 in Chiang Mai
856 reviews
0.0 mi away
See You Soon, Chiang Mai
See You Soon, Chiang Mai
#71 of 747 in Chiang Mai
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to de Rachamanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about de Rachamanka

Property: de Rachamanka
Address: 82-86 Rachamanka rd. | Prasingh, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — de Rachamanka 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Rachamanka is located in Chiang Mai’s Old Town, just 50 metres from the Sunday Walking Street. Featuring modern Lanna-style décor, it offers free Wi-Fi and rooms with private bathrooms.Fitted with dark wood furnishings, the air-conditioned rooms come with a flat-screen TV and a fridge. Each room has a bathroom with toiletries and a hot shower.De Rachamanka, Chiang Mai is 70 metres away from Wat Chedi Luang and 100 metres from Wat Phra Singh. Chiang Mai International Airport is a 15-minute drive away.Luggage storage facilities are available at the 24-hour reception, while excursions and airport transfers can be arranged at the tour desk. Car rental and laundry services are also provided.De Rachamanka Hotel has a restaurant that serves Thai and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your de Rachamanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing