We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great new butique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
137 Pillars House Chiang Mai
Ranked #1 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
Level Contributor
84 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“great new butique hotel”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

just stayed in the new 137 Pillars House. amazing hotel in downtown Chiang Mai. Just 2 blocks from river and the wonderful restaurants there. rooms are huge and very well equipped. excellent size bathrooms with indoor and outdoor shower. Separate tub. Had a good dinner and excellent breakfast as well. Overall a fabulous new hotel. Would come again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank asiatraveler1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyGMinAsia, General Manager at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Asia Traveler,

We much appreciate your kind words and the excellent review of 137 Pillars House, Chiang Mai.
The team and I are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back many more times.

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG, General Manager and all Associates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    130
    32
    6
    8
See reviews for
231
679
57
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

My wife and I visited for a weekend and this beautiful boutique hotel surpassed our expectations. The location is central and in walking distance from the river and a number of lively bars and restaurants. The rooms were large and stylish with the service from the staff impeccable and unobtrusive. The restaurant was very quiet but in had a lovely ambiance and although we didn't have dinner the Thai food we had for lunch was incredibly good. Without doubt the best breakfast we have had in any hotel in Thailand and we tried both the western and Japanese sets. Probably not great for kids but who cares! It is the perfect setting for a couples getaway?

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank AJ386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyGMinAsia, General Manager at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
The Team of 137 Pillars House and I, the General Manager, thank you for your kind review. I am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much and sincerely hope we have the chance to welcoming you back again soon.

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Would like to add my review to the slew of "excellent" ratings this property has received. From the moment the hotel car dropped me off at the gate, I was astounded by the beautiful design - it was genuinely tough deciding whether to lounge inside my lovely antique inspired room (to the hotel provided iPod soundtracks of jazz classics and club lounge), outside on my expansive private terrace, or by their gorgeous pool.

The highlight of the property is of course the eponymous house, which has been restored with full respect to its heritage, while keeping a contemporary aesthetic. A cocktail or two there is a must in the evenings, especially when their pianist is playing.

Food is surprisingly tasty. I rarely eat in-house when staying in luxury hotels in Thailand because the food is so often blanded down, but the modern Thai cuisine here was genuinely flavourful.

The Spa, as another reviewer has mentioned below, is quite expensive, but like the rest of the property exquisitely designed. There's another spa down the road if you want a cheaper treatment, but while pleasing, the 137 Pillars Spa definitely has the edge.

137 Pillars House is located in a quiet residential street, but it's only a couple of turns away from the main road along the river. It's quiet a high end little shopping area, and I found lots of lovely gifts for friends back home, from a divine Thai silk scarf, to handmade jewellery, artisan paper and a small carved elephant benefiting an Asian elephant charity.

And while this is a quieter part of town, Chiang Mai is a relatively small place and the night market is only a 10 minute tuk tuk ride away. If you're staying over a Sunday, even better is the Sunday Walkign Street - many thanks to Greg at front desk for the tip as well as all his other help.

The only con was the noise from a nightclub nearby - this caught me by surprise because the hotel is so peaceful during the day and early evenings, and I couldn't even see the club. Not sure if this applies to all the rooms or just the side of the hotel I was on. Bring ear plugs!

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayness_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

137 Pillars House is a boutique hotel that delivers at levels well above most of the big names. Four Seasons, move over. These guys are doing it right. In comparison to other five-star establishments, the notable points include spectacular food and truly customer oriented service. My only hesitation in recommending 137 Pillars House is the number of rooms. With only 20 rooms, I fear a good review will have them booked up all the time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pilotgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

"Had the opportunity to spend one night at this wonderful place and the experience was very special and restful. Located in the back street of a very hip area, with only 30 rooms, you can instantly feel the privacy and residential atmosphere. It nice to know you are in the city but you have your very own space and pace for your stay.
The service was very good and at the same time very professional. The staffs were attentive and warm.
Having spent the day in the heat of Mae Tang mountain area, this oasis was a great compliment to the day. It’s a wonderful way to pamper you. The rooms are so well appointed with all the luxury requirements and more, its very tempting not to leave the room and just stay in and enjoy all the amenities.
The original house was the main highlight of the hotel, it was so relaxing and enjoyable to sit back in the teak house and enjoy the company of good friends. The hotel has a good selection of wine and cigars.
In the morning, the veranda is beautiful against the morning lights and it’s a good place to begin the day with breakfast and newspaper. The breakfast selection was good with lots of original recipes.
If you plan on staying here, you must stay more than one night! "

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GrasipBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stay in Asian hotels 60 to 70 nights per year. As HYATT Diamond member I’m accustomed to 5 star hotels with great service. I do prefer chain hotels with established service standards. 137 pillar House was one of very few times I stayed in boutique hotel. And I hope I can visit this place again. This place is a dream for luxury vacationers. Almost everything is simply perfect. Suites are very elegant with top notch designer furniture. I truly lowed outside shower option. Grounds of this place are truly gorgeous. Landscaping is flawless, swimming pool is fantastic. But my favorite place is Pillar House itself. Gorgeously renovated 120+ year house is used as a lounge \ bar for guests. Every night they have live classical piano music. There are few things more relaxing than sipping Scotch and listening to piano. Service is almost flawless with few minor things they have to improve. Concierge is one of them. Recommendation for things to do and places to see were too ordinary. I would expect much better selection and knowledge since Chiang Mai is very touristy place. Second thing is local calls. I was shocked to see this place actually charge for local calls. And a lot. It was cheaper to use my US mobile phone. I hope management will fix this unwise nuance.

Room Tip: Get a lower level suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZdenkoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel has a very nice and calm atmosphere and personal touch making your feel at home instantly. You feel close to nature and yet close to markets and restaurants in town.
Very service minded staff, fantastic beds and classy, vintage interior design through out the whole hotel.
I'll be back for sure

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henrik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,362 reviews
2.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 381 in Chiang Mai
444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,977 reviews
1.5 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 381 in Chiang Mai
705 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai

Property: 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai
Address: 2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 30 suite boutique Hotel is built around a colonial teak homestead built in 1880s. It is located in a leafy residential enclave a few minutes walk from the historical Wat Gate Temple, Ping River and boutique shopping area. Four stunning suite types range from 70 -135 square meters; two with small private pools. Tiled verandas, cane shades, rattan furniture and free standing Victorian baths are reminders of days gone by, blend with modern facilities including outdoor gardens showers, flat screen televisions and wi-fi. A range of bespoke dining options include the Jack Bain's Bar, Parlor, Wine Cellar, The Dining Room, Palette, Kitchen and Private Dining, using organic ingredients from the Hotel's garden.Recreation facilities include the Spa, Gymnasium and Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing