We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
137 Pillars House Chiang Mai
Ranked #1 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Having reviewed many hotels in Thailand, I'd like to qualify this review by stating that I didn't actually put head to pillow at the 137 Pillars but rather, I attended a charity concert at the hotel. I've visited quite a few hotels in Chiang Mai without having stayed but this is the first time I've bothered to review one. The 137 Pillars House's beauty, sophistication, and warmth compelled me to write about it. Words can barely describe the place but I'll try. Architectural gem, oozing with history, dizzyingly romantic, harmony with natural surroundings, thai warmth at its best, smiles, smiles, smiles. Clearly, the staff is very well trained in the gracious treatment of its guests and I experienced this from the busboy who cleaned tables, to the serving staff, to the front desk personnel, and finally, from the gentlemanly and cordial General Manager, Manfred Ilg. I have an apartment in Chiang Mai but I wouldn't hesitate to stay, or heartily recommend, the 137 Pillars House.

Room Tip: Not a room tip but the surrounding area is very lively with excellent nightlife. You can experience...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bronx4play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,212)
There are newer reviews for 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 971 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed here based on the reviews from Trip Advisor. We stayed during the festivities of Loy Krathong. The staff are wonderful. Definately 5 star service. Staying close to the river was a bonus for the festivities. Room was spotless and the food excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamwafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Booked this hotel based on other reviews and pictures but have to say our experience surpassed all of this. From entering off the street into this quiet, intimate, tranquil retreat with lush gardens to the magnificently comfortable and luxurious rooms to the amazingly gracious staff to the breakfast feasts, our expectations were truly surpassed and we wished we could stay a further three days. A big bonus is its east river location with interesting cafes, shops and eateries nearby but a short tuktuk ride or 15 min walk from the old city, night bazaar etc. The old building at the heart of the hotel has been lovingly and beautifully restored and its a pleasure to explore with a drink or afternoon tea. The pool is heaven after the heat of the day and the in room showers are to die for. In the end though its the wonderful staff that made the stay so memorable. If its in your budget, don't hesitate.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad room in this hotel. We had so much space we didn't know what...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshiA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We really looked forward to spending NYE at this fabulous looking hotel. Two weeks after we booked and paid for three nights someone somewhere arbitrarily cancelled the booking. Either Agoda or (I suspect) Pillars House said sorry no rooms available. Very very unprofessional. We then had to scramble to find alternative accommodation two weeks before the Chiangmai peak holiday season. Not happy at all.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Johnnie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

If you want peace and quiet with nice rooms and excellent service, this is IT !

Having stayed in so called "5 sta"r hotels I Chiangmai, this small boutique hotel surpasses them all.

The ambience and serinity of the property helps you to relax from the daily stress in the city.

The huge green vegetation wall in front of the pool is awesome.

Great breakfast buffet.

You will not be disappointed. A place you want to keep for yourself.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank hirokoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

Nothing more to add to other reviews. If you have the money this is the place to stay. Magnificent. Great service beautiful rooms excellent food. Little bit out of town but close to Riverside. Everything is quite expensive so hire guides and taxis elsewhere

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric1682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

This charming new property is built around the historical home of Anna Leonowen's (The King & I) son. The new additions are sympathetic to the original 137-pillared house, minus the pillars.
The nicest thing about the hotel is the Thai-colonial-chic decor, abundant with wooden shutters, and probably the prettiest bathrooms I've encountered. The worst thing is that the rooms surround a central courtyard, with bedrooms that fall prey to kids yelling and playing at 8am in the central lawn. When you give in to the noise and stumble out for breakfast, you find a meagre and unappetizing spread, disappointingly not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madchinaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 386 in Chiang Mai
502 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,419 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#23 of 386 in Chiang Mai
3,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai

Address: 2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £239 - £609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 30 suite boutique Hotel is built around a colonial teak homestead built in 1880s. It is located in a leafy residential enclave a few minutes walk from the historical Wat Gate Temple, Ping River and boutique shopping area. Four stunning suite types range from 70 -135 square meters; two with small private pools. Tiled verandas, cane shades, rattan furniture and free standing Victorian baths are reminders of days gone by, blend with modern facilities including outdoor gardens showers, flat screen televisions and wi-fi. A range of bespoke dining options include the Jack Bain's Bar, Parlor, Wine Cellar, The Dining Room, Palette, Kitchen and Private Dining, using organic ingredients from the Hotel's garden.Recreation facilities include the Spa, Gymnasium and Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing