We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An almost perfect luxury boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
137 Pillars House Chiang Mai
Ranked #2 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This hotel offers all the usual advantages of a luxury boutique hotel - character, intimacy and comfort. The history of the place which is interwoven with the economic and social changes of the country in the last century and a half gives it the additional appeal.

We stayed in the Rajah Brooke Suite, the type of room offered at the lowest rate. It is on the 2nd floor of a cottage at the fringe of the compound. The interior is decidedly old-school colonial with a spacious balcony that provides additional space for reading, having afternoon tea or just relaxing. The walk-in wardrobe and the waterbasins are located in a side room between the sleeping area and the bathroom. We think it is a clever use of space and makes the layout more interesting. The shower cubicle opens out to an outdoor shower, which is a welcome surprise.

The hotel pool is in a long rectangular shape allowing a decent distance of swim before each
turn. Lining the length of the pool on one side, an imposing wall of climber plant gives added serenity and style.

Staff are hospitable and friendly. Recommendations on restaurants and excursion tour operators were readily available and also proved to be reliable.

The range of dishes at the buffet breakfast is admittedly limited but such deficiency is compensated for by the food quality.

Minor gaps in service included forgetting to hold our table for dinner in the library as promised and failing to collect used dishes left at the door for more than a day. These however do not affect overall satisfaction.

Also as our room sat at the perimeter of the site, one could hear the occassional noises from the traffic taking the adjacent alley and music played at the bar nearby. Not a major disturbance, but something we would rather have done without. A pricier room further away from the street should not suffer from this problem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twowoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

We often come here for afternoon tea which is wonderful value and then often stay on for cocktails whilst listening to a wonderful pianist!
The gardens and the wonderful pool area is a perfect setting for cocktails.
The staff are brilliant and nothing is to much trouble for them.
The interior is beautifull designed and the library is a joy if you are backgammon fantatics as we are.

You won't be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Londoner056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed here over New Year. I was blown away by the design: the architecture, interior design and landscaping are amazing. It has a Thai feel to it, without being over the top. The staff, particularly the front desk staff, were very good.

The breakfast was below expectations: the Asian choices were not good at all. We didn't try the restaurant for any other meals. Service in the bar area was slow.

I've stayed at the Chedi several times. The swimming pool at the Chedi is probably better but that's not a factor for me. I like the staff and the rooms here better. The location and the breakfasts are better at the Chedi. Probably I would choose here rather than the Chedi in the future, but the choice is not completely clear cut.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjcbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Having reviewed many hotels in Thailand, I'd like to qualify this review by stating that I didn't actually put head to pillow at the 137 Pillars but rather, I attended a charity concert at the hotel. I've visited quite a few hotels in Chiang Mai without having stayed but this is the first time I've bothered to review one. The 137 Pillars House's beauty, sophistication, and warmth compelled me to write about it. Words can barely describe the place but I'll try. Architectural gem, oozing with history, dizzyingly romantic, harmony with natural surroundings, thai warmth at its best, smiles, smiles, smiles. Clearly, the staff is very well trained in the gracious treatment of its guests and I experienced this from the busboy who cleaned tables, to the serving staff, to the front desk personnel, and finally, from the gentlemanly and cordial General Manager, Manfred Ilg. I have an apartment in Chiang Mai but I wouldn't hesitate to stay, or heartily recommend, the 137 Pillars House.

Room Tip: Not a room tip but the surrounding area is very lively with excellent nightlife. You can experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bronx4play
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed here based on the reviews from Trip Advisor. We stayed during the festivities of Loy Krathong. The staff are wonderful. Definately 5 star service. Staying close to the river was a bonus for the festivities. Room was spotless and the food excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamwafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Booked this hotel based on other reviews and pictures but have to say our experience surpassed all of this. From entering off the street into this quiet, intimate, tranquil retreat with lush gardens to the magnificently comfortable and luxurious rooms to the amazingly gracious staff to the breakfast feasts, our expectations were truly surpassed and we wished we could stay a further three days. A big bonus is its east river location with interesting cafes, shops and eateries nearby but a short tuktuk ride or 15 min walk from the old city, night bazaar etc. The old building at the heart of the hotel has been lovingly and beautifully restored and its a pleasure to explore with a drink or afternoon tea. The pool is heaven after the heat of the day and the in room showers are to die for. In the end though its the wonderful staff that made the stay so memorable. If its in your budget, don't hesitate.

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad room in this hotel. We had so much space we didn't know what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshiA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We really looked forward to spending NYE at this fabulous looking hotel. Two weeks after we booked and paid for three nights someone somewhere arbitrarily cancelled the booking. Either Agoda or (I suspect) Pillars House said sorry no rooms available. Very very unprofessional. We then had to scramble to find alternative accommodation two weeks before the Chiangmai peak holiday season. Not happy at all.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Johnnie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 395 in Chiang Mai
595 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai

Address: 2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £350 - £695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 30 suite boutique Hotel is built around a colonial teak homestead built in 1880s. It is located in a leafy residential enclave a few minutes walk from the historical Wat Gate Temple, Ping River and boutique shopping area. Four stunning suite types range from 70 -135 square meters; two with small private pools. Tiled verandas, cane shades, rattan furniture and free standing Victorian baths are reminders of days gone by, blend with modern facilities including outdoor gardens showers, flat screen televisions and wi-fi. A range of bespoke dining options include the Jack Bain's Bar, Parlor, Wine Cellar, The Dining Room, Palette, Kitchen and Private Dining, using organic ingredients from the Hotel's garden.Recreation facilities include the Spa, Gymnasium and Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing