We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay in Chiang Mai”
Review of 137 Pillars House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
137 Pillars House
Ranked #1 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Hongkong, GB
1 review
“Perfect stay in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very simply, possibly the best hotel we have ever stayed in. It's not just the spacious and well-appointed rooms, the superb restaurants, or the pleasant grounds - the staff are what make this hotel just so, so good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    995
    130
    32
    6
    7
See reviews for
228
669
57
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kapolei, HI
Level Contributor
365 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We loved our stay @ 137 Pillars, it is one of my favorite hotels of all time! (And we stay in lots of nice hotels around the globe -- in fact, we had just come from the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok!)

Everything about this place speaks to you of being in Thailand. The lovely, peaceful grounds, the well-appointed rooms, made to feel as though you have your own private bungalow, the outdoor shower! Even the claw-foot tub windows open up to allow the breeze, the sounds of the birds, to envelope you as you relax. Each room also has a nice balcony, fully furnished, a nice place to enjoy the daily fresh local fruit or a cup of morning coffee.

The staff is, as some have mentioned, literally waiting to serve you, to meet every need, to make you most comfortable, and make your stay memorable.

Breakfast outside on the terrace, drinks in the afternoon in the historic 137 Pillars house itself, dinner at one of the on-site restaurants, all excellent.

The pool is unique and welcoming, it's tall wall of vines giving the feel of being off in a private (luxurious!) jungle.

The front desk staff were always delighted to meet our requests and help us with the details that made our trip seamless.

It is close enough to walk to the restaurants & bars along the river, which had a nice friendly vibe.

We enjoyed many wonderful adventures in Chiang Mai, and we almost felt as though we were returning "home" at night to our beautiful room.

Again, I say, it is one of my very favorite hotels. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PassportEnvyTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongkong, CN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We were impressed with hearty turn-down in celebration of our anniversary - floral deco, soft music on, fruit basket and chocolate, and the most thoughtful arrangement was to have a room with a fabulous view overlooking the infinity pool and lush garden and from where you can hear the piano playing in the evening.The hotel itself is very new and they meant to keep it up very well.

There are only 30 rooms in the hotel so we always had the place to ourselves in the restaurant or at the pool. The staff got a good memory like they know how we want our eggs ! You must try the granola in breakfast - it is pillarshouse's signature! Try the authentic Thai dinner at Palette in hotel as they keep all the flavours intact. The restaurant called Riverside along Ping River (about 5 min walk from hotel) we stumbled on serves good food.

We really appreciate the quality service provided by the hotel. For sure we'll come back one day.Special thanks to our housekeeper (Room 18) who made up our room at least 3 times a day, Miss Poon , Mr Man and the glassed servant in the dining room who speaks good English.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ms. C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

From the airport pick-up to checking out, this hotel works hard at delivering a level of service rarely found elsewhere.

Whilst the physical attributes, location and history of the hotel are impressive enough it's real prize is the level the staff attain in seeing to your every need. Not that you yourself even realize you have a need - but the staff do and see to it that it is satisfied with a smile and nod which you feel compelled to return as scant reward for their perception and thoughtfulness.

Chiang Mai itself is great for those who want to see a bit of Thailand away from the norm - though to be honest it only differs in the way every inland town is different from coastal towns in any country worldwide.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr. G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

the hotel....i dont even know if hotel resort or whatever is stunning.....the suites are breathless,the pool experience is speechless,the afternoon tea @the garden area and the attention paid by them during breakfast makes the 137 pillars house the best hotel experience i ve ever had so far....thanks guys!!!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bozerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

In my view, the best choice for a hotel in Chiang Mai! The rooms were spacious, well kept & incredibly tasteful. You won't regret it! The staff top notch as well, and I like that they even recommended activities outside that were more affordable instead of pushing the hotel's own activities (which were generally more pricey). Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DebbieChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GB
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The service standards are excellent at this hotel. The decor and atmosphere is very good. I would however give 8 out of 10 for the absolute cleaniness of the hotel - the bath towels did not meet my expectations! It's shame that it is such small items that drag its marks down. The food is excellent though, especially the breakfast. I would still highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ms. I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyGMinAsia, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your wonderful and honest comments. While I am happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, I am with you on the quality of some of out bathroom linen and have taken up the subject with our outsourced laundry suppliers. In the meantime, I have placed and order of brand-new, high quality towels to bring ALL our services up to the highest standards.

Thank you again for letting me know!

Sincerely yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
2.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
1.5 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 137 Pillars House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 137 Pillars House

Property: 137 Pillars House
Address: 2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — 137 Pillars House 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 30 suite boutique Hotel is built around a colonial teak homestead built in 1880s. It is located in a leafy residential enclave a few minutes walk from the historical Wat Gate Temple, Ping River and boutique shopping area. Four stunning suite types range from 70 -135 square meters; two with small private pools. Tiled verandas, cane shades, rattan furniture and free standing Victorian baths are reminders of days gone by, blend with modern facilities including outdoor gardens showers, flat screen televisions and wi-fi. A range of bespoke dining options include the Jack Bain's Bar, Parlor, Wine Cellar, The Dining Room, Palette, Kitchen and Private Dining, using organic ingredients from the Hotel's garden.Recreation facilities include the Spa, Gymnasium and Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your 137 Pillars House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing