We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
137 Pillars House Chiang Mai
Ranked #2 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel is set in pretty gardens a little way out of the city area. The highlight is the old 137 Pillars House which is gorgeous and beautifully restored. We ate dinner in the restaurant one night and loved the library and lounge areas. The gym is beneath and pretty good for a small hotel.
The rooms are lovely - well designed with spacious bathrooms and lovely verandahs. Good lighting for reading and very comfortable beds.
Breakfast was good - nice range of food. The service is excellent - staff are helpful, genuinely hospitable and good at organising trips and transfers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Go55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HappyGMinAsia, General Manager at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words and for your recommendation. The entire team looks forward welcoming you back in the hopefully near future.

I shall be happy assisting with future reservations, you may contact me directly at gm@137pillarshouse.com

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

I visited this place thinking that the service would be good. Overall it was exceptional. Staff were always there to help and the overall atmosphere of the place great. Be prepared to pay a little more for drinks and food than local area outlets however this charge is worth the amount. I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mr. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

The good:
- Consistently excellent service by charming staff who do their utmost to serve well, even when the language barrier is a bit of a factor.
- very pleasant architecture which will take you back in time.
- generally decent food at main restaurant and excellent food at the Palette restaurant.
- clean, well organized, stylish rooms.
- location is close to the city center.

The "can be improved"
- wifi on and off.
- good quality breakfast but should be more diverse, especial in terms of fruit.
- price on the high side.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markustemasek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I couldn't recommend more about 137 Pillars House to you if you are planning a trip to Chiang Mai. I always like to stay in boutique hotels whenever I travel, but 137 Pillars House is by far the most impressive one in terms of service I ever experienced. The hotel itself is great, about 30 rooms built around a 1889 old colonial house. But the servicing people there are just awesome!
I recalled that one rainy late night I need to go out to a party and ask them to call a taxi for me, I was all dressed up with a 6" high heels, as soon as I went out the door, my bulter was somewhere nearby and offer me a hand to get through their bumpy road. And they also helped me to plan a golf day and cultural dance with dinner for my friends, not to mention that my friends were not even living in the same hotel with us, but they took the effort to help me to communicate to the driver to pick up my friends in another hotel first. And there was another day I ordered room service for my baby and they are so sensitive that they asked me if I would like to order half portion for my baby. They are just striving for their best effort to accomodate all my requests, for example they let us to stay in our room till 4pm the last day since I told them I have a late flight, which I'm sure most of the hotels only offer till 2pm at best (I booked two rooms in total). Last but not the least, their breakfast is just delicious, they will offer their guests daily special which is not include in their buffet table which simply amaze you and give you a wonderful start of the day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mr. Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Very beautiful and elegant hotel,will recommend it to our friends and relative.
The service is very kindly and we enjoyed our tourist here.
Environment is also attractive.Hope we will come back next year! Chiangmai is one of the best tourist attractions in my mind.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ms. Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This place is very fantastic and hospitality is superb. Everything there is beyond expectation. I dare to say no one will get any disappointment from 137 Pillars House. The breakfast preparation is very fresh and thoughtful. Even though, the fitness is quite small but completed! And the most important thing is the historic colonial 137 pillars house, it's very beautiful and lovable!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Varis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Unfortunately we could enjoy only one night in this wonderful hotel. The rooms are located in new buildings around the historical 137 pillar house which now hosts restaurant, bar and a small shop. However, the overall concept and the integration of old and new buildings is perfect as they are using a lot of greenery and trees - you feel like in a private garden.
Our suite was a mix of classical furniture but at the same time it had all the modern amnities (free WiFi, Stereo, Flat Screen, Rain shower indoor and outdoor etc.), not to forget the big shady balcony with a private day bed and a rocking chair.
We loved the excellent,decent and obviously well-trained service in the restaurant, not importunate but always there if needed. Food itself was delicious, prices will be according to the hotel rating but acceptable as you can enjoy the great atmosphere here.
The location is on the "wrong" side of the river (opposite Chiang Mai old town), and not easy to find if using your own car. So proposal is to add google coordinates to the website.

Room Tip: Check specials and book suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiroSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 394 in Chiang Mai
566 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,502 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,088 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 394 in Chiang Mai
3,153 reviews
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai

Address: 2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £346 - £854 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 30 suite boutique Hotel is built around a colonial teak homestead built in 1880s. It is located in a leafy residential enclave a few minutes walk from the historical Wat Gate Temple, Ping River and boutique shopping area. Four stunning suite types range from 70 -135 square meters; two with small private pools. Tiled verandas, cane shades, rattan furniture and free standing Victorian baths are reminders of days gone by, blend with modern facilities including outdoor gardens showers, flat screen televisions and wi-fi. A range of bespoke dining options include the Jack Bain's Bar, Parlor, Wine Cellar, The Dining Room, Palette, Kitchen and Private Dining, using organic ingredients from the Hotel's garden.Recreation facilities include the Spa, Gymnasium and Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sawasdee, Agoda, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing