We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 137 Pillars House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
137 Pillars House
Ranked #1 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Great place to stay, the pool is fantastic with the 'hanging garden' wall and the grounds/buildings are all beautifully restored or made in the same style so everything fits in.
We did a cooking course which the chef kindly allowed us to tailor to our needs as we'd done all the dishes on the usual menu and wanted to try some new/more challenging dishes.
The food was lovely too, but with so many amazing food options in Chiang Mai it's worth trying some of the other options.
would definitely go back for some decompression time and luxury.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thaifishcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    126
    32
    6
    7
See reviews for
226
637
56
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
173 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Yes, it is an oasis in Chiang Mai. You are outside the city walls, and that is good. We had the East Borneo Suite 2nd floor. Huge bed, large balcony for quality balcony realization time in the evening after dinner, outdoor and indoor showers, claw foot tub, and excellent toiletries. The hotel grounds are tropical with palms, a huge rubber tree, longan trees, birds of paradise and small pools with arrays of water lilies. The pool is cool and serves for a refreshing end to a day in the city or hinterlands. There are multiple restaurants with both Thai and modern European cuisine. Breakfast is plentiful with another array of eastern and western choices. Try the smoothies – a different smoothie every day. The coffee is from Thailand in the hills above Chiang Mai – strong and tasty. Happy hour from 4-7 and is buy one get one free. Multiple services from spa to tours. We chose a day out with an elephant ride, waterfall hike, local roadside lunch and river rafting on bamboo rafts. Our tour Guide “Mr. O” was a great guide. Tuk Tuk rides to the city are 100 Bhat – lots of fun. There are restaurants within walking distance, including several on the river – but the onsite is the best in the area. The restaurant has a solid wine list. If you are there on Sunday, go to the Sunday night market for a more local experience. Finally the service is 5-star – from the time you enter to the time you leave you are pampered and welcomed.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

From the moment that we walked into the Foyer we were made to feel like family.

If only i could remember the lovely ladies name who was always there to great us and ensure that we were enjoying our stay.

The staff were soo friendly and had no issue with the fact that we had my 3yrs son with us infact they loved him.

When we booked we had booked the East Borneo Suite and to our suprise we were upgraded to the William Bain Terrace Suite.

The room was amazing, big a spacious and the right amount of luxury.

The bathroom, bedroom and the lounge room were soo spaciuos with 2 adults and a child were extremly comfortable.

Our room had a direct view of the pool which made us feel like it was actually our own personal pool.

The property has 30 villas but having said that you feel like u are the only ones.

Each morning for breakfast we were greeted by fiendly staff and the chefs would always come to our table offering speacialty and to make sure we were happy.

With the resturant we were a little hesitant to eat there BUT when we did the food was first rate.

Its also located down a litle road away from the main road wnsuring that it was always quite and relaxing

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

I stayed here recently and have to say it was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The food was excellent, the staff wonderful and the atmosphere second to none. Whilst not really close to the old town it is close enough to walk to the night market and the calm and peacefulness of the hotel and grounds made me not want to leave!

The mini bar is free and they can exchange items in it to make it more suitable for you if necessary :) We staying in the East Borneo suite and were very impressed with the outdoor shower, the size of the rooms and balcony and the beds were extremely comfortable.

Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room on level one to enjoy the serenity and treetops a little more
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review of the hotel and our services. I am most pleased to learn of your positive experience, and please rest assured that your kind words have been shared with all associates.

I look much forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

137 Pillars House-

This 30 room boutique property is a true gem! We are so lucky to have spent 4 days there on our honeymoon. Every detail has been covered on this oasis- from the lawn and main house, to the pool with its 40+ foot wall covered in vines. The food and service is impeccable, and the room is out of this world. Every modern amenity you can imagine has been placed in this oversized, stunning room. If you are in Chiang Mai, avoid the hustle nad bustle of Dhara Devi and the long travel to the four seasons and stay here!

Also, make sure to mingle with the staff, theyre really extraordinary- especially the guest relations manager Greg!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saul1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
A heartfelt "Thank You" for your kind words in response to your recent stay at 137 Pillars House. I am thrilled to learn of your great experiences during your recent Honeymoon, and I am happy to share your comments with Greg, the Guest Service Manager, and in fact with all associates. Your kind letter serves as a further motivation to us all to continue our strive for excellence.

I look forward to welcoming oyu back to Chiang Mai and to 137 Pillars House in the near future.

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

One of the most beautiful hotel I ever stayed and will definitely go back next time I visit Chiang mai.

Staffs are extremely sincere and helpful.

Room was spacious and comfortable.

Wish I had the time to stay longer.

Request for high floor room to get better view of pillar house.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you very very much for our wonderful and kind words regarding your recent stay at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai.

I look much forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States, US
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel was by far the best one we saw in Thailand! The service is great and everyone is very friendly and helpful! The rooms are very clean and nice. The beds are so comfortable. Breakfast in the morning is very good with a great variety of foods, so everyone will be happy. It is walking distance into the town and there are many great restaurants close by or you are just a Tuk Tuk ride away from anything. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are making your way to Chiang Mai! Awesome hotel and city!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mrs. P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
The team and I would like to thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and our services at 137 Pillars House. I am happy to learn of your good memories and look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
2.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 373 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#3 of 373 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 137 Pillars House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 137 Pillars House

Property: 137 Pillars House
Address: 2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — 137 Pillars House 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 30 suite boutique Hotel is built around a colonial teak homestead built in 1880s. It is located in a leafy residential enclave a few minutes walk from the historical Wat Gate Temple, Ping River and boutique shopping area. Four stunning suite types range from 70 -135 square meters; two with small private pools. Tiled verandas, cane shades, rattan furniture and free standing Victorian baths are reminders of days gone by, blend with modern facilities including outdoor gardens showers, flat screen televisions and wi-fi. A range of bespoke dining options include the Jack Bain's Bar, Parlor, Wine Cellar, The Dining Room, Palette, Kitchen and Private Dining, using organic ingredients from the Hotel's garden.Recreation facilities include the Spa, Gymnasium and Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your 137 Pillars House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing