We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fancy places for foreigners not locals.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 137 Pillars House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
137 Pillars House
Ranked #1 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fancy places for foreigners not locals.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The room and the surrounding are perfect but still seems to be an amateur for the luxury kind of hotel and charges.
The variety of breakfast is so few and there is no recommendations on the breakfast that they can make besides what has been shown on the shelf.

The better service will be provided on those nonthai speakers as we can feel.
Best place for foreigners but not locals.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pinruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    127
    32
    6
    7
See reviews for
226
638
56
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
China, CH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

it is a brilliant hotel. Rooms, service, location, they are perfect. Only 2 small points. Can be a little noisy, especially at night, with the nearby bars. And the spa is not great for the prices.

Other than that, will definitely stay here again on next trip to Chiang Mai. If they have rooms available!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mr. Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Excellent rooms and facilities. The garden is beautiful. It's near the riverside, there are lots of nice restaurant and bars by the river, but little bit noisy at night.
Our kids love the garden very much, and we enjoyed a nice stay in 137 pillars house.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ms. P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Yes, it is in the city, by the river, close to many restaurants, cafes and shopping outlets. Yet I still find peace and quiet in this little boutique hotel.

Never mind a little noise from here and there, never mind a bit of hassle and bustle, a hotel in the middle of a city will surely come together with these despite all the creature comfort at the hotel.

Rooms are nicely decorated with a touch of colonial feel to compliment the hundred-year-old house, which used to be East Borneo company and now restored to its former charm as a meeting spot to unwind and relax.

Beautiful trees adorn the whole property, some of them are protected with meticulous care. For example, cement is not applied to the ground just to make sure the roots of the trees can breathe freely.

The executive chef knows a great deal about cooking. Many Thai dishes are reinvented to give a twist to the taste as well as the texture of the food.

A little gem hidden in the soi. A solitude for travelers who treasure privacy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Vancelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand, TH
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Rooms and facilities are excellent. The garden is lovely and the living room with the piano recital at night is a nice touch. However, staff cannot cope with high traffic especially at restaurants. Also, reception staff are not well trained and not service minded enough considering the high standard of everything else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Khun V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

What a wonderful place to stay in Chiang Mai. Once you get beyond the front doorway you are transported into a different era. The staff is friendly and respectful. They greet you by name and were just lovely. Our room had a nice porch area where you can just laze out and relax or use the wi-fi. The breakfast is nice and the chef is accommodating in making different foods upon request. He also has a daily treat of a delicious sampling of a smoothie or whatever. We went to the night market on many nights. It is only a tuk-tuk ride away. Ask the driver how much it costs to get to the night market. They will usually quote 60-80 BAHT. We give them 100 B and feel like big spenders (with the tip being 20 B or about 20 cents. LOL) Dinner at the hotel is delicious and relaxing. The vegetarian spring rolls were crisp and light.

Room Tip: We had a room on the bottom floor opposite the main house. It was quiet and restful and just a shor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thanks so much for having been our guests, and for your kind review of the hotel and our services. I am happy to learn that we have lived up to your expectations.

Merry Christmas and Season's Greetings!

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

I'd highly recommend this unique boutique hotel to those visiting Chiang Mai.

We experienced 5 star service throughout our stay, including daily news personalized for us (Canada edition of newspaper), nightly turndown service with cookies and bedtime story, a steady supply of fresh tropical fruit in our room, a butler at our disposal to attend to our every need, and cheerful, friendly staff throughout the hotel complex.

Our room was spacious and well appointed (we stayed in the Raja suite). The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept on at any hotel in the world. The food was also exceptional. The breakfast was delicious, with a good selection of Western and Asian dishes. We had dinner here one night in the hotel restaurant and it was the best meal of our trip (and at a reasonable price for a high end hotel). We would particularly recommend the Lanna-style curry.

We did not want to leave after only two nights here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
...and we did not want to see you leave! I hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again in the near future! In the meantime, the Team and I thank you for your wonderful comments on our services and food and beverage offers.
Reviews like yours encourage us to continue our strive for excellence!

Merry Christmas and Season's Greetings!

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
2.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#4 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 137 Pillars House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 137 Pillars House

Property: 137 Pillars House
Address: 2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — 137 Pillars House 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 30 suite boutique Hotel is built around a colonial teak homestead built in 1880s. It is located in a leafy residential enclave a few minutes walk from the historical Wat Gate Temple, Ping River and boutique shopping area. Four stunning suite types range from 70 -135 square meters; two with small private pools. Tiled verandas, cane shades, rattan furniture and free standing Victorian baths are reminders of days gone by, blend with modern facilities including outdoor gardens showers, flat screen televisions and wi-fi. A range of bespoke dining options include the Jack Bain's Bar, Parlor, Wine Cellar, The Dining Room, Palette, Kitchen and Private Dining, using organic ingredients from the Hotel's garden.Recreation facilities include the Spa, Gymnasium and Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your 137 Pillars House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing