We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and Tranquillity in Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
137 Pillars House Chiang Mai
Ranked #1 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

37 Pillars House was PERFECT. This is the type of hotel we love!. Gorgeous, amazing service, insanely beautiful rooms and small (30 suites total) .
The rooms are gorgeous, the staff is sweet and attentive and the pool is stunning. The hotel is also perfectly located close enough to the buzz but 10 minutes away which gives you peace....
Full review with loads of pictures on http://www.samstewartetc.com/137-pillars-chiang-mai/

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

My wife and I visited 137 Pillars during our honeymoon, and the experience was truly unforgettable. The room was beautiful, and fully equipped with every amenity imaginable. Our concierge - Toto - was top notch, and was eager to tend to our every need - i.e. transportation, dinner reservations, ringside Thai boxing tickets. The idyllic pool is something out of a dream. We also enrolled in the Thai cooking class. This is an experience not to be missed. Our chef - Sek - was outstanding. Extremely friendly, and extraordinarily knowledgable. Sek escorted us through the local market, and explained all the offerings (some typical, some very strange). Sek answered all our questions, and showed us - with patience - how to craft some extremely delicious local dishes. In sum, do not miss this hotel. Toto and Sek (and the entire staff) made the stay extremely special. It is centrally located, very peaceful, and the staff is world class. We shall return.

Blake and Katie

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank BlakePatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Katie and Blake,

Thank you so very much for your kind review of the hotel and our services. Rest assured that I will happily forward your wonderful comments to both, Toto and Sek, and, in fact, to the entire team. Your words will certainly be an inspiration for our thrive towards excellence.

I look forward to welcoming you back during your first anniversary..! :-)

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

We never expected anything this spectacular. You are greeted by the friendliest most accommodating staff and served a beautiful and delicious welcome drink.
The suites are beautifully and most comfortably appointed and beverages in thei minbar are included. The grounds are kept impeccably groomed and there are several restaurants to choose from .
There was a piano bar each night we were there located directly outside the dining room so you were serenaded throughout dinner.
This is a gem. It's a 5 minute tuk tuk ride or 15 minute walk to the night market.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Jay,

Thank you very much for your amazing review. I am thrilled that our services and our associates lived up to your expectations.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at 137 Pillars for part of our honeymoon and our stay was amazing. The staff were attentive, personable, and really made us feel special. The hotel grounds were beautifully maintained and provided a peaceful and relaxing environment close to the busy Old City. Breakfast was great and armed with complimentary repellant, the mosquitoes did not prove to be a problem. We would return for sure if we came back to Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Evan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you, Evan and your lovely wife, for your kind words about our services at 137 Pillars House. We hope to be able to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon. We can't say enough good things.....from when we arrived, up until we had to leave nothing was too much trouble. Lovely people, lovely resort. Its also really close to town so a nice walk in the evenings!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear David,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about your recent stay at 137 Pillars House. I shall happily publish a copy on our staff board to serve as additional motivation on our strive towards excellence.

I look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great place to stay, Quiet, exclusive, relaxing. Won't hesitate to recommend to anybody who would like a relaxing holiday. The dinning room is excellent although the food is about average, considering the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Luciana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Luciana,

Thank you for your recent stay at 137 Pillars House and your valuable comments. I will happily look into your remark about the food being "average" and certainly aim towards improving this so that our guests may have a completely satisfactory experience.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again to sample some more of our new menu which will be revised shortly.

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

137 Pillars House
One of the best Small Luxury Hotel
Date: Mar 2014
Price: $480
Room: East Borneo Suite

We heard of 137 Pillars House from our friend. We have wanted to stay with all the good things we heard about the place. This time we had a chance to visit Chiangmai and 137 Pillars House was one of our destinations.

--Good-- First of all, the place is beautiful. One of the building was renovation of an antique Thai house. It is not often you can find a beautiful old Thai house in such a fine condition. The service is very good. Staff feels like they are well trained. The room is also beautiful, somewhat cozy with Thai-ish modern style.

--Bad-- Just like any other place the photos make the place look big. The room included. The first day of our arrival there were some tour of about 20 people came for sightseeing. It was a bit noisy. Another day there was a wedding, which basically took over almost the entire space because the hotel was not that big. I feel that they don't have staying Guests as their top priority. There is a pub not far away from the hotel, so it is a bit noisy until late at night(2-3am). There should be no problem for those who don't have trouble sleeping, but for those who needs silence may find it an issue. This is not the hotel fault and I am sure they have tried everything in their power to keep their place quiet.

--Conclusion-- To be honest, I found it a bit difficult to write the review. The hotel itself is very good, one of the best hotel I have been to, but I feel that there is still room for improvement. They could make their Good service to Excellent. It could be due to high expectation I had before arrival.

Room Tip: East Borneo Suite is a good choice in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yensama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM137PillarsHouse, General Manager at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to publish your valuable comments regarding your recent stay at 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai.

Please allow me to briefly reply as follows:

With the hotel becoming more and more popular, we receive a large number of requests for site inspections, mostly by Universities (Faculty of Architecture) and schools. We are trying to keep inspection at an acceptable level and schedule them during low occupancy periods. I do fully understand that it may disturb our guests privacy and do apologize that this happened during your visit.

Also, the hotel beautiful hotel grounds serve as a perfect location for weddings, which you experienced as well. It is unfortunate that you had to go through both experiences, but pleased rest assured that all of our guests are of equal importance, the once staying in any of our Suites as well as the ones coming to use our services. Please allow me to invite you back to 137 Pillars House at a time when there won't be any functions on the hotel grounds (during 340 out of 365 days in the year) and again, please accept my apologies for not having been able to provide the absolute privacy you were so rightfully expecting.

I look forward to hearing from you again,

Respectfully yours,

Manfred ILG - General Manager
gm@137pillarshouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.8 mi away
Na Nirand Romantic Boutique Resort
2.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 402 in Chiang Mai
625 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#9 of 402 in Chiang Mai
2,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#21 of 402 in Chiang Mai
2,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai

Address: 2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £323 - £1,007 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 30 suite boutique Hotel is built around a colonial teak homestead built in 1880s. It is located in a leafy residential enclave a few minutes walk from the historical Wat Gate Temple, Ping River and boutique shopping area. Four stunning suite types range from 70 -135 square meters; two with small private pools. Tiled verandas, cane shades, rattan furniture and free standing Victorian baths are reminders of days gone by, blend with modern facilities including outdoor gardens showers, flat screen televisions and wi-fi. A range of bespoke dining options include the Jack Bain's Bar, Parlor, Wine Cellar, The Dining Room, Palette, Kitchen and Private Dining, using organic ingredients from the Hotel's garden.Recreation facilities include the Spa, Gymnasium and Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your 137 Pillars House Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing