We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!! Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 137 Pillars House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
137 Pillars House
Ranked #1 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!! Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Loved the pillar house will definately go back. The villas are amazing and cozy. The services is first call all the way. My daughter had to be taken to the emergency room after falling off the bed and hitting here head on the side table. The hotel limo immediately took her to hospital. Driver even waited for us in waiting room. I was not charged for that service, and i tried to tip the limo driver he refused. He said "madam i just wanted to help you". It was raining one afternoon, i walked out my villa and a housekeeper was standing waiting with an opened umbrella. The day we were checking out, when i returned from breakfast the bellboy was waiting by my door to pick up my luggage and inform me my taxi has arrived. I did not even call them. The breakfast buffet first call. I could go on and on about the amazing service.

Room Tip: Recommend villas on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    958
    126
    32
    6
    7
See reviews for
226
637
56
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We booked the Louis Leonowens pool suite for our honeymoon and it really met our expectations.

The suite itself is spacious and finished to a high standard with nice touches such as a chocolate and a bed time story every night. The bed is huge and very comfy, with a pillow menu available if the standard goose down ones in the room are not for you. We had a private pool which was great as it wasn't at all overlooked, and we also had a large veranda with views over the beautiful pool area. The air conditioning in the room worked very well, and there was an ipod with music on along with two tvs-one in the lounge and one in the bedroom. We didn't use them so I can't comment on the channels available.

The room came with a free daily cocktail which we enjoyed, as well as four pieces of laundry per day. The beers and soft drinks in the fridge were replenished daily, and we were given ample supplies of bottled water.

The bar area was lovely with a pianist every evening although the restaurant was a little empty the evening we ate in the hotel. Having said that, good food is available cheaply in town, although the one meal we had in the restaurant was excellent. The night market area is a short walk away from the hotel, but it is set pleasantly away from the hustle and bustle of town.

Finally, the staff were incredibly friendly and knowledgeable, without being intrusive.

I would definitely recommend this if you are looking for something special.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lantau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is a lovely small hotel with an excellent balance between friendly happy service and efficient professional staff ensuring "5*" satisfaction.

We will try the restaurant for dinner or lunch on our next visit. Where there are no ratings is not to be considered a criticism but because we did not use that service.

We had not been to Chiang Mai for many years. It is a very good tourist holiday destination and 137 Pillars House makes it very much better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NealClough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

room very nice, it is beauty, clean and huge. Fully equipment and functional in the room. Friendly service, nice landscape and good decoration. Location is privacy for who looking to have a pleace holiday

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Visaka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Breakfast was not variety. Poor us that we found the insects in our breakfast which was the worst experience. Dinner was too slow. The staff at at pool had very good service mind. It would be great if the hotel has shuttle bus to the main road.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nasbhissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

all the rooms with big Balcony . All the special touches in the room from great coffee to most comfortable bed......it felt so luxurious!
If you are looking for a luxury hotel, this is it! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Room 9 and 11 , it is too close to reception .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

I had a very pleasant experience at the 137 Pillars last weekend. I arrived Friday afternoon and was met by the hotel representative and whisked away to the hotel in no time by the hotel limousine.
It had been a couple of years since I last visited Chiangmai (one of my favourite cities). The arrival was very nice. The receptionist all addressed me by name, as indeed did the rest of the staff. I was shown to my room, which turned out to be more like an apartment with a lots of space. A fourposter bed, a big terrace, fantastic bathroom, etc. The resort itself was very nice with the feeling of being in an ancient compound with trees and a nice pool. I stayed two nights. Had breakfast on both days and also joined a dinner on the first night. Food was good and service was always attentive. My only one complaint was being there on my own as it is really a place that should be shared with a partner.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 15, which was good. They told me this was a normal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,245 reviews
2.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 373 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#3 of 373 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 373 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 137 Pillars House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 137 Pillars House

Property: 137 Pillars House
Address: 2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 373 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — 137 Pillars House 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 30 suite boutique Hotel is built around a colonial teak homestead built in 1880s. It is located in a leafy residential enclave a few minutes walk from the historical Wat Gate Temple, Ping River and boutique shopping area. Four stunning suite types range from 70 -135 square meters; two with small private pools. Tiled verandas, cane shades, rattan furniture and free standing Victorian baths are reminders of days gone by, blend with modern facilities including outdoor gardens showers, flat screen televisions and wi-fi. A range of bespoke dining options include the Jack Bain's Bar, Parlor, Wine Cellar, The Dining Room, Palette, Kitchen and Private Dining, using organic ingredients from the Hotel's garden.Recreation facilities include the Spa, Gymnasium and Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your 137 Pillars House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing