We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Haven”
Review of 137 Pillars House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
137 Pillars House
Ranked #1 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil Haven”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

An amazing tranquil haven amongst the hectic town. Great location and amazing rooms with everything you could possibly ask for and attentive friendly staff. Definitely would recommend this to all couples looking for a fab lace to stay in Chang Mai. Also well located for night market and some amazing riverside bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    994
    130
    32
    6
    7
See reviews for
228
668
57
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

a wonderful oasis of piece on the edge of chiang mai a short tuk tuk ride from all the great things this lovely city has to offer. Great staff who were really helpful and arranged anything we wanted with great advice as t what was or wasnt worth doing

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank charles c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had an excellent stay at 137 Pillars. Highly recommend to any couple coming for a relaxing stay in Chiang Mai. Pros- we experienced perfect service. All staff (from front desk to waitstaff to cleaning crew) were so friendly, sweet and accommodating. The rooms were very comfortable... black out curtains, quiet surroundings, comfy beds, pillows, loved the soaps and lotions provided. Loved the 2 for 1 happy hour by the pool and lawn. front desk always prompt in arranging taxis, tuktuks or dinner reservations. Breakfast servers went over the top! I could keep going ... Cons- can't think of any! Just book your trip!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Every aspect of the hotel was extraordinary -- from the staff to the decor. The food was also fantastic. We took a cooking class from the Chef which was terrific. If you want a small, elegant yet uniquely Thai experience this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Lanta, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We really enjoyed our short stay at 137. It is a beautiful hotel in beautiful surroundings. The room was beautiful and very comfortable,the staff we delightful. We would really like to return many times to this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I bid for my stay at an auction without knowing anything about the hotel . You can imagine my surprise when I found it was a member of the Small Luxury Hotels Of The World . It certainly lived up to its name - luxurious ! .The grounds are delightful and include a great pool area . The Rajah Brooke suite where I stayed was enormous - balcony , sitting area , huge fourposter bed draped with mosquito net (which was unnecessary since there did not appear to be any mosquitos ) but was fun to try and get into bed , a dressing room and a fantastic bathroom which had an extra enclosed court-yard shower . The modern parts of the hotel are built around an 0ld , perfectly maintained Teak house which stands on 137 pillars , hence the name . It had originally stood on the city side of the river but was moved to its present site ( where the Westerners lived ) last century .
The staff are most welcoming and have a good command of English . The food ( breakfast and dinner ) was of excellent quality and quantity .
Tours organised by the hotel are priced for two so they can be a bit expensive for a solo traveller but there are cheaper options in town , which is only a few minutes walk away on the other side of the river . The hotel is about two blocks fromthe river and an array of good quality waterfront restaurants and bars .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlhballina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

It lives up to its reputation and website. Stunning, unique pool area. Charming grounds. Warm, helpful staff. Great rooms (amazing showers and baths).
One caveat....don't rely on the concierge for excursions; they have their "preferences" which are not the best.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
2.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
1.5 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 137 Pillars House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 137 Pillars House

Property: 137 Pillars House
Address: 2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — 137 Pillars House 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 30 suite boutique Hotel is built around a colonial teak homestead built in 1880s. It is located in a leafy residential enclave a few minutes walk from the historical Wat Gate Temple, Ping River and boutique shopping area. Four stunning suite types range from 70 -135 square meters; two with small private pools. Tiled verandas, cane shades, rattan furniture and free standing Victorian baths are reminders of days gone by, blend with modern facilities including outdoor gardens showers, flat screen televisions and wi-fi. A range of bespoke dining options include the Jack Bain's Bar, Parlor, Wine Cellar, The Dining Room, Palette, Kitchen and Private Dining, using organic ingredients from the Hotel's garden.Recreation facilities include the Spa, Gymnasium and Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your 137 Pillars House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing