We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 137 Pillars House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
137 Pillars House
Ranked #1 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stopped here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon....WOW! It is a beautiful place set just out of the hustle and bustle of the city, but close enough to walk or a short tuktuk ride from everywhere you would want to visit. The design of the hotel is spot on - understated luxury. The attention to detail is brilliant and all the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable and to satisfy our every whim. They organised a number of trips for us, all were good value for what they were! On our first evening we were told we were 'guests of the week' and received a 10% discount on all food and drinks for the rest of our stay! I don't know if they do this for everyone to make you feel special but it was a very nice touch.
I don't understand the comments about breakfast, it was great with ample choice to cater for different tastes. I had full english, continental and american style waffles on different mornings (or a mixture of all!) and enjoyed them all! We ate lunch and dinner in the dining room and all the food was delicious and one night we tried the western restaurant in the main house where the food was incredibly delicious and beautifully presented.
We loved our room and felt like we had our own little apartment surrounded by wonderful jungle plants and noises.
The bed was enormous and very very comfortable and the whole suite was spacious with every modern convenience. We particularly appreciated the complimentary minibar when very thirsty but wishing for something other than water.
The outdoor shower is a nice idea, though I must admit I stuck to indoors!
The only thing to watch out for are the geckos in the bathroom at night time - it can make you jump if you're not prepared!! Harmless obviously, but strange that the shower/toilet doors are not wholly sealed. This did not detract at all from our experience and we would both rate it by far one of the best places we've stayed - all of which during our Thailand trip were 5+ stars.
We were particularly impressed by the services of one man with glasses, and are mortified we can't remember his name. He drove the luxury mini-van for our trip with a guide to Doi Inthanon National Park and Hill Tribe villages. He went absolutely above and beyond in every way, and was so friendly and genuinely interested in conversation we felt he really made the trip an even greater pleasure than it already was. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bewa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    975
    129
    32
    6
    7
See reviews for
227
651
57
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Opwijk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Probably the best hotel we ever stayed in. Great garden and villa's, impeccable service that makes you feel at home. A tranquil oasis in Chiang Mai where you can truly unwind after a day of excursions.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GDCOpwijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel is an oasis. It has spectacular gardens and scenery. Love the pool areas, the decor of the restaurant and all the trees and nice seating areas. Service was excellent. Rooms were beautifully decorated and had amazing balconies and bathroom. Even an outdoor shower. Will definitely return to this hotel. 5 Stars!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PR-Nature-Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We spent 3 nights at the 137 Pillars house in August 14. It was a perfect getaway. Location is great, it's close to everything but at the same time. It is so quiet and peaceful. I love the interior design at the hotel. So classy and just done right. It didn't feel over the top like some places. Get the room that's on the second floor so you don't have people walking around and look in to the balcony when you're there hanging out. It has been wonderful experience staying at 137 Pillars house. Breakfast was nice. Dinner was okay. We had Thai food, it was nice but kinda miss the mark a bit flavor wise. But I appreciate the efforts though. Overall, we had a great vacation there and really looking forward to coming back for another stay-cation. :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were lucky enough to stay here for 3 nights during a 2 week honeymoon in Thailand. All 4 of our hotels were 5 star plus, but this was the best of the lot.

The staff were excellent, very attentive to all our needs without being obtrusive.

The room had everything we could have wanted from the beautiful roll top bath to the indoor and outdoor shower. The Bossa Nova playing iPod was also a classy touch.

The bed was the most comfortable we have had in a hotel. We have blamed this fact for missing breakfast one morning.

Something that sets good 5 star hotels against others in my opinion is hotels that do not try and milk you for over inflated prices once you are staying there. 137 Pillars did not try this - they offered complimentary items in the mini bar - beer and chocolate and also the half price cocktails 4pm - 7pm were great.

The grounds are beautiful with a particularly stunning pool area.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank scotch1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I stay here for two nights with my lover and we both love this hotel very much! The guest service is really an excellent one that I appreciate a lot! My lover is having birthday in Thailand and i ask for some requests to the hotel that brings quite a lot surprises for my lover:)! All the arrangements are in success and we all enjoy them! Really thanks for all the staff to arrange such a wonderful stay for us!!!
The hotel environment and the suite is pretty. The old house is full of thai style and we like the great architecture so much. The deco is wonderful and we are so enjoyed to stay inside:).
The suite is great, located in the second floor in a quiet corner, with a nice balcony, bathroom and bedroom. Everything is soooooo fantastic that we really have to score five stars (except no tissue box in the bedroom:)). We love this suite that we dont wanna leave actually.
Everything is soooo nice and thanks to 137 pillars house that give is an unforgettable stay here and we surely will stay again if we go Chiang Mai again!!!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank catcmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

An elegant and beautiful hotel gives you the pleasant environment to stay.

Great service and friendly staff. Nice gardens and old tress provide you a world different from the rest of Chiangmai. Both the breakfast and dinner are tasty and nice with attentive staff.

The only problem we had were the mosquitoes, especially at dusk, there might have been thousands of mosquitoes in the balcony and we could never have had any chance to sit in the chairs over there for a rest.

Good value hotel for the stay and we are looking forward to staying there again for the family trip to Chiangmai.

Room Tip: None is bad, no worry for the location of the builinfg
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,288 reviews
2.3 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
1.5 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 137 Pillars House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 137 Pillars House

Property: 137 Pillars House
Address: 2 Soi 1, Na Wat Gate Road | Wat Gate, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — 137 Pillars House 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious 30 suite boutique Hotel is built around a colonial teak homestead built in 1880s. It is located in a leafy residential enclave a few minutes walk from the historical Wat Gate Temple, Ping River and boutique shopping area. Four stunning suite types range from 70 -135 square meters; two with small private pools. Tiled verandas, cane shades, rattan furniture and free standing Victorian baths are reminders of days gone by, blend with modern facilities including outdoor gardens showers, flat screen televisions and wi-fi. A range of bespoke dining options include the Jack Bain's Bar, Parlor, Wine Cellar, The Dining Room, Palette, Kitchen and Private Dining, using organic ingredients from the Hotel's garden.Recreation facilities include the Spa, Gymnasium and Swimming Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your 137 Pillars House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing