We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Sunday Brunch in luxury”
Review of Latest Recipe

Latest Recipe
Ranked #245 of 2,100 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Latest Recipe Restaurant is perfectly located in the middle of the buzzling Night Bazar. This gives curious diners the perfect opportunity to explore fresh and safe food and also to discover the daily local Night Bazar.Latest Recipe offers a completely new, all-day dining experience with menus that are always changing, based on seasonal offerings and a passionate, forward-thinking approach.Patrons play an active role in the process of culinary discovery, proceeding to various stations throughout the restaurant and placing their orders directly with a chef, who employs the latest global cooking styles to create tempting and original world cuisine.A carve section features steaks, lamb chops and giant snapper fish; enjoy piping hot pizzas fresh from the oven or intriguing pasta dishes. An innovative Sunday Jazz Brunch is presented for the pleasure of our guests at Latest Recipe. Diners can enjoy delectable fare while the expressive sounds of a jazz band trio meander through the air.We are looking forward to welcoming you,your Latest Recipe Team
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday Brunch in luxury”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We went for a treat today, spending 1000 Baht/pp on brunch (around what we've been paying for 3 nights of accommodation). And a treat it was: freshly shucked oysters, roast beef and ham, pizza made to order, assorted cold meats and cheeses, sushi, sashimi, smoked salmon, cold seafood, salads, seafood and meat made to order, not to mention the buffet. There was the option of free flow of wines, cocktails, etc for 700 Baht, but we just went for the food, and soft drinks, fresh juices, coffee and tea are included in the 1000 Baht price.

The lady singing throughout brunch was great - not too intrusive, and even did a Whitney Houston song successfully.

I asked the chef to make me crab twice, once with yellow curry and the second time with butter only - it was the freshest crab I've had since we've been travelling in Thailand the past three months. The roast beef was a great quality too. The marinated mushrooms and the grilled pumpkin at the cold meat station were exceptionally tasty. The baked oysters were delicious too.

It was such a delightful treat, and even with the free flowing drinks, would be good value - I saw lots of bubbly flowing over brunch.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    37
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Star707, Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
505 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 961 helpful votes
“Air conditioned Western Respite”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We ate at this restaurant twice while we were in Chiang Mai. The attraction was the buffet lunch, for which they were known and which was better than average. The spread covered a range of cuisines, so you could either opt for Asian or Western or you could mix and match. The Asian cuisine has been calibrated to the Western palate and offers no challenges. They offered a popular carvery option, and, Indian and Thai on the days that we ate there. The special treats were the dessert options. Displayed as though small jewels or trinkets these were delights served in tiny glasses or on small plates and placed on eye level glass shelving for your selection. Each serving was a one mouthful exquisite gustatory thrill. We had a young teen with us who thought she had arrived in heaven. Maybe they rotate their lunch time policy, it seems there is a set menu these days. Being famous for their buffet lunch it seems unlikely that they would abandon a proven and popular format. Le Meridien is centrally located and within a short walk of almost everything in the city: the Street Markets, the Night Bazaar, China Town, Travel Agencies, clusters of other hotels. The loos are western, clean and salubrious. Accessibility by road is easy. If you are looking for a western respite: air conditioning, the familiarity of western cuisine, as so many travellers do from time to time, after which everything else becomes possible again, then this is a good stop off point.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Star707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Average hotel breakfast buffet”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We only had breakfast and it was fine but nothing special given the price. The evening buffets were reasonably priced but did not look appetizing enough to try.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank detraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Great set lunch menu - fantastic value for a 5 star hotel”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Le Meridien is my favorite hotel in Chiang Mai and I am a very regular at Favola their Italian Restaurant (also reviewed).

They (Latest Recipe) have recently ended their weekday lunch buffet in favor of a set menu. Four courses for less than 600 baht ($20) in a five star hotel is exceptional value. I have been 3 times for lunch in the last four weeks. Each week the menu changes (rotates). Each course 1, 2, 3, and 4 has a choice of three, so you have ample choices. They also have vegetarian options.

As far as value goes this one simply cannot be beat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thespgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Indian Butter Chicken”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Indian food was amazing, the Chef came out to dinning room to chat! A must if you are in ChiangMai! It is not your ordinary hotel restaurant..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Princesschefkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Latest Recipe also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Latest Recipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing