We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buddy's the guy to meet !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Buddy's the guy to meet !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

I met with Buddy as I was wandering through the alleys of Chiang Mai. He was so great, providing info about the surroundings, the do's and don't, and most of all, Thai culture from Western eyes. Although we did not stay at his guesthouse, this meeting made such a difference for this first trip in Thailand. If you are around in Chiang Mai, I strongly recommend you stop by Dixie Pig !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pol11uk, Aay's husband at Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 November 2016
This review was for a previous business "The Dixie Pig Guest House" and not Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant which opened for business on 1st March 2016. Any reviews or images/photos prior to that are not connected to Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant.

Regards

Paul, Aay & Freya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
47
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Didnt stay there but stopped by to do some laundry and have a bite to eat.
Coffee is excellent, the best I've tasted in a long time. Homemade food is brilliant. I had a green curry which was perfect and my husband had the homemade sausage which he said was delicious. They did beans on toast for the kids, which made their day! The service was the best part however; the owner, Buddy, was brining out Thai fruit for the kids to try. Chatted to us and really made us feel at home. Will be going back there again before we leave Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qatarhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pol11uk, Aay's husband at Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 November 2016
This review was for a previous business "The Dixie Pig Guest House" and not Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant which opened for business on 1st March 2016. Any reviews or images/photos prior to that are not connected to Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant.

Regards

Paul, Aay & Freya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed here for a week or so in March 2012 and I feel you get great value for money. The guesthouse is located in a nice and pretty quiet area and still close to everything.
The rooms are good and very clean, there is hot water, international TV, fast WiFi and if you
need anything else you just ask Buddy or Ann. The coffee and the breakfest is outstanding and the oweners makes you feel like you are family (A GREAT THANKS TO BUDDY AND ANN) It's have been a very pleasent stay for me as a first timer in Chiang Mai. I got the best service I ever have experience allways with a lot of good advices and suggestions about what to do and what to see. There is no doubt where I stay the next time I am in Chiang Mai - Right on DIXIE PIG GUESTHOUSE!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pol11uk, Aay's husband at Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 November 2016
This review was for a previous business "The Dixie Pig Guest House" and not Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant which opened for business on 1st March 2016. Any reviews or images/photos prior to that are not connected to Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant.

Regards

Paul, Aay & Freya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

I don't think I could have found a much better place for 350-400 baht. Great food to a very low price. If you want to order some food, which is not on the menu card, the host try to find out something. The rooms are fine with bathroom and tv. (the short version)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesper R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pol11uk, Aay's husband at Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 November 2016
This review was for a previous business "The Dixie Pig Guest House" and not Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant which opened for business on 1st March 2016. Any reviews or images/photos prior to that are not connected to Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant.

Regards

Paul, Aay & Freya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We were traveling around Thailand and found Dixie Pig in Chaing Mai.We are two girls in our 30's and needed somewhere safe to stay for 5 nights.We wanted to be in the main town area which Dixie Pig is!
Buddy and his wife were lovely, so welcoming and friendly they showed us the local sites and told us where to go and where to stay away from. We had our own tour guides!!!!
The rooms were lovely and clean and at a good price.Pop in and see them, even if they are full you can always stay for a drink.
When you go a see them, tell them the mad english girls say hello!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vikkigolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pol11uk, Aay's husband at Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 November 2016
This review was for a previous business "The Dixie Pig Guest House" and not Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant which opened for business on 1st March 2016. Any reviews or images/photos prior to that are not connected to Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant.

Regards

Paul, Aay & Freya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in November 2011 in a downstairs room.

Room: NOISY from neighbours, dark during the day, polluted by light in the hallway at night, VERY ant friendly, comfortable mattress, uncomfortable pillows, horrible synthetic chintzy cover on bed. On the basic side of basic, but clean at least. Slept OK with earplugs, extra clothes b/c cold, and eye patch!

General: the lady was very friendly, really nice. Didn't have much interaction with the man. Hardly saw owners except when I checked in b/c I had to get up V early in morning. Both nights the 'restaurant/bar' closed very early, fridge was empty except for a few beers and some water. Saw someone trying to order breakfast on my second morning having a very hard time communicating 'toast'. Found it very weird coming back at 9pm to an eerily empty dark building.

I don't think this place is good value for money, and I would never ever stay here again. There are HUNDREDS of lovely guesthouses in CM, that offer much much more in terms of comfort, decor, ambiance, location and price.

Not recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freefallingfantasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pol11uk, Aay's husband at Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 November 2016
This review was for a previous business "The Dixie Pig Guest House" and not Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant which opened for business on 1st March 2016. Any reviews or images/photos prior to that are not connected to Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant.

Regards

Paul, Aay & Freya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights in Feb 2012. The owners, Buddy and Ann, are awesome people. The rooms are beautiful, clean and smell really nice! The beds are comfortable and the showers are hot! Food is amazing and if your a coffee-lover, you'll be in heaven and Buddy has his own brew of tea for the tea-lovers. Not that we stayed in the room much (no one should while on holidays), but they have English TV channels. Buddy and Ann were really helpful with telling us the good places to shop and see. If your easy-going, relaxed and want to stay in a guesthouse with character, i would highly recommend this place. Great location with bars close enough for a few drinks but far enough that you wont hear them at night. Thanks Buddy and Ann (and the house keeper who im sorry but forgotten her name). We had a fantastic time and will definately stay here again!!!! Lots of love Tashy and Hayley

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pol11uk, Aay's husband at Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 November 2016
This review was for a previous business "The Dixie Pig Guest House" and not Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant which opened for business on 1st March 2016. Any reviews or images/photos prior to that are not connected to Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant.

Regards

Paul, Aay & Freya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
0.7 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#14 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
0.9 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#3 of 809 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Guesthouse
Sleep Guesthouse
#1 of 809 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant

Property: Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
Address: 22 Soi 2, Moon Muang Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Dixie Pig Guest House)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 809 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house in a quiet soi in the old city. Most major attractions are at the most a 10 minute walk away. Our restaurant serves Thai food cooked by Aay, the owner; we use no MSG in our food. We welcome families...and will do what we can to accommodate you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing