We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A nice and friendly place to stay but it does need some attention.

TV broken, holes in mosquito netting, peeling paint, dirty curtains & walls, old furniture lying around, not well looked after, that's a pity.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pol11uk, Aay's husband at Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

This review was for a previous business "The Dixie Pig Guest House" and not Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant which opened for business on 1st March 2016. Any reviews or images/photos prior to that are not connected to Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant.

Regards

Paul, Aay & Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

This guest house is clean and welcoming. I stayed in a double room alone for the cost of 300baht a night. The shower was powerful and hot and the owners are very helpful. They even let me keep the room till 6pm free of charge on my last day due to it been low season. Very kind gesture. Would recommend this place for a basic stay in chang mai. Great for backpackers or couples on a budget.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pol11uk, Aay's husband at Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

This review was for a previous business "The Dixie Pig Guest House" and not Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant which opened for business on 1st March 2016. Any reviews or images/photos prior to that are not connected to Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant.

Regards

Paul, Aay & Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I stayed in room 8 on the 2nd floor. The room was clean, AC worked, hot water worked, TV was small but worked. I paid 400 baht per night.

Plumbing is little wonky, sink drains onto the bathroom floor, then goes down the drain.

Breakfast was 75 baht for 2 eggs, nice bacon, potatoes, toast, butter and jam. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cigar7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pol11uk, Aay's husband at Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

This review was for a previous business "The Dixie Pig Guest House" and not Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant which opened for business on 1st March 2016. Any reviews or images/photos prior to that are not connected to Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant.

Regards

Paul, Aay & Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Guess what?? Looking for a great guest house in Chiang Mai ? We found the Dixie Pig Guest house. With new Australian and Thai owners, great location, knowledgable and fantastic staff, accommodation is clean comfortable and affordable. Great value for money!

The forgot you bus sisters-Australia

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 158berniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pol11uk, Aay's husband at Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

This review was for a previous business "The Dixie Pig Guest House" and not Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant which opened for business on 1st March 2016. Any reviews or images/photos prior to that are not connected to Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant.

Regards

Paul, Aay & Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

I'll preface my review by saying that Buddy, the current owner mentioned in most of the glowing reviews, has sold the Dixie Pig and is moving onto other things. That said, I'm sure the new owner (who we met and who seems friendly) will want to maintain the hostel's existing goodwill and reputation, so I'd still recommend checking out the Dixie Pig.

We arrived in Chiang Mai in the afternoon with no reservation, and were getting concerned by all the "full" signs; the vacancy sign out front at Dixie Pig was a welcome sight.

Buddy was a fantastic host; he knew the town well and gave excellent advice. Book your tours and excursions through him (or the future owner); not only is it cheaper than doing it yourself, he really knows his stuff. The cooking class we did through him was fantastic & great value. I just wish we'd talked to him before booking our elephant excursion!

The rooms were fine; small bathroom, the building seems a little tired, and on the ground floor we had a lot of street noise. Cats mewling all night, drunk tourists, etc. The bed had very hard pillows even by SE Asia standards. Also the blanket didn't quite cover us. Maybe the new owner will upgrade the bedding!

That said for the price of 400 baht a night the place was fantastic value. You don't need air con, Chiang Mai isn't as hot as the rest of Thailand. We didn't even use our fan.

Get breakfast there, hopefully the extensive menu and excellent cooking won't change much. We really appreciated the use of real milk; our current guesthouse in Cambodia only has those awful plastic tasting non-dairy creamers.

Overall, a decent guesthouse made excellent by the service. Hope Buddy and Ann enjoy a well-deserved holiday!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocmilk03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pol11uk, Aay's husband at Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

This review was for a previous business "The Dixie Pig Guest House" and not Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant which opened for business on 1st March 2016. Any reviews or images/photos prior to that are not connected to Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant.

Regards

Paul, Aay & Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Nothing else I can really say apart from the guy who runs it 'Buddy' an ex lecturer who moved overseas run's the dixie pig made our trip in Chaing Mai. He can assist your every need whether it came down trips in the local area or just general information. The bed's were comfortable and the room's were clean. Not much more you could ask for considering the price too... 5/5 I'm definately going to visit again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pol11uk, Aay's husband at Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

This review was for a previous business "The Dixie Pig Guest House" and not Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant which opened for business on 1st March 2016. Any reviews or images/photos prior to that are not connected to Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant.

Regards

Paul, Aay & Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

My husband emailed the owner and booked a room for 1 night in November and he confirmed our booking. When we arrived around 10 pm after the taxi driver looking for the place a long time, we found the place closed and in totally darkness
We were finally able to talk with a lady cross the street, who told us to bang on the door no 4.We did, and a surprised man opened the door, we explained the situation and he told us that the owner were on vacation and that he was in charge of the guesthouse.
He didn't know about our booking and the place was ocked down and he didn't have a key to the rooms. He finally called someone and after a while a kid on a bike came with the key. We were finally let into a room and if it hadn't been so late we would have left immediately. The sink was in the bedroom with a pipe pouring out the water directly on the bathroom floor. We were tired and went to bed and it was the worst bed we ever slept in in Asia. The bed was so hard so it felt like we were sleeping on the floor and the pillow hard as a rock. We got a couple of hours sleep and we we're looking forward to the breakfast the guy had told us we could get. We spend time with the friend of the owner, who was very nice while we waited for the cooking lady to show up.She never did and finally the friend crooked US to a breakfast place that served good food.
We will never know how good the coffee tasted, nor how good cook the owners wife/girlfriend is because we will never return to this place.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InTwoPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pol11uk, Aay's husband at Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2016

This review was for a previous business "The Dixie Pig Guest House" and not Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant which opened for business on 1st March 2016. Any reviews or images/photos prior to that are not connected to Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant.

Regards

Paul, Aay & Freya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.5 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 394 in Chiang Mai
687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#4 of 940 in Chiang Mai
692 reviews
0.9 mi away
HOSTEL by BED
HOSTEL by BED
#5 of 940 in Chiang Mai
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#8 of 940 in Chiang Mai
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sleep Guesthouse
Sleep Guesthouse
#3 of 940 in Chiang Mai
284 reviews
1 mi away
ZZ House
ZZ House
#6 of 940 in Chiang Mai
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant

Address: 22 Soi 2, Moon Muang Road Lane, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly Dixie Pig Guest House)
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 940 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £16 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run guest house in a quiet soi in the old city. Most major attractions are at the most a 10 minute walk away. Our restaurant serves Thai food cooked by Aay, the owner; we use no MSG in our food. We welcome families...and will do what we can to accommodate you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Banh Mi Guest House & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing