We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New-ish hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #74 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New-ish hotel in great location”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I stayed here for a week in June/ July and really enjoyed it as my home away from home. Its in a great location...a little side street off of the main drag. Someone familiar with Chiang Mai told me this was the "posh" location. I could walk to all sorts of things and take a tuk tuk to the old city. Easy. The hotel itself had a very comfortable bed, big room, nice bathroom and clean. Breakfast in the morning was great and the manager(?) for breakfast room was super nice. The ladies at the front desk were very helpful and nice and facilitated transport, laundry, etc. I liked that the place wasn't huge. The breakfast area doubles as a "library" but I didn't see anyone using it b/c they don't keep the AC on in there ....for obvious reasons. There is also a pool(?) off the lobby but its very fish bowl-ish so I didn't go into it. I think I saw one person in it. One tip: DO NOT miss going to the restaurant down the street with the roast chicken..it is out of this world. Can't remember the name but its small and on the same side of the street as the hotel as you walk to the boulevard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your very complimentary and comprehensive review of the hotel.
We are very grateful for your kind words and delighted to see that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Please accept our apologies for not opening the library air condition due to our policy we are a green hotel so if customer prefer to use can open any time.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon!


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    122
    49
    18
    5
See reviews for
42
92
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed here last year and very impressed with the hotel. This year I had chosen to stay here again but was quite disappointed with stink towels. When I made a comment at reception in the morning. The hotel staff just replied that they all was sent to do laundry at Darachevi which might have too many towels over there.... is that a point?

The breakfast had too few choices, especially for the one who do not love processed food like sausage and ham. Feel like nothing much left to eat.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nisita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valued comments as we take all comments seriously and make every every attempt to correct negative experiences here at the Nimman Mai? Design Hotel.

We apologize for your disappointing stay. Our housekeeping and laundry staffs have reviewed your comments and are determined to do better. All of us hope we get the chance to win back your trust.

We hope to welcome you back again should you return to Chiang Mai at some stage in the future.


Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

hotel was nice, but location is great. our room was spacious and modern, loved the little tea table and tea set. breakfast was quite good also. but best part of the hotel is its hip location. it is close to tons of great shops, restaurants, and night clubs. all are within walking distance. the hotel itself tucked in the end of a cul de sac so its quite, but only a 5 min walk to the main road.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aw896878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest!
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our Hotel. We are very glad that you felt comfortable and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong kong
Level Contributor
131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I had asked for higher floor and I actually got the 8th floor - the highest floor. Unfortunately, it wasn't a good choice as the noise every night was annoying. The first morning, we heard people yelling in the hallway to what seemed like cleaning staffs talking with a Walkie talkie. Then at night, with occupants staying on the same floor (I think they were staffs from local organisation) at 2am there laughs and loud talks, you constantly hear planes flying and landing in the wee hours. As we were there for a weekend only, we didn't bother with a complaint. Though I thought its a fairly new hotel, the bathroom certainly did not look it. You see yellow or brown ring around the faucet taps, and the showering door does not do its job hence puddle of water is formed every time we took showers. The bedding and pillows are comfortable though. It took the staffs a day and a bit to get the safe working. Breakfast was sufficient and the staffs seemed friendly.

As our flight was in an ungodly hour, we had asked the front counter to call a taxi to hear that the cost to the airport was 400 baht, four times the cost of what we had paid for coming in. It was 100B with an airport surcharge of 50B totalling 150B. As a frequent visitor to Bangkok, we understand that there is no surcharge for going to the airport. We had asked the lady at the counter to call another taxi and came back with a reply of 350B. She gave us the impression that we were asking her to do too much. We took the 2nd offer but found it fishy that we were told to pay upfront to the hotel front counter. I asked why and they gave me some incomprehensible answer. Needless to say, they did not leave a good impression.

The hotel is located in a trendy new part of town which is called the Naiman area. There are lots of little boutique stores and cafés and going to town is totally not a problem as there are lots of red vans (2 wooden benches on opposite sides) in the area. It's about 10-15 minutes to the airport.

Room Tip: Lots of noise though room is away from elevator. So I guess it's luck to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lena f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NimmanMaiHotel, Manager at Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Greetings from Nimman Mai? Design Hotel. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay with us. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations as you are a loyal guest to us; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Nimman Mai? Design Hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and specially our loyal guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely yours,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located in a really trendy area - Nimmanhaemin, with lots of quirky shops, bars and coffee shops. The rooms are very clean and the staff are very helpful. The showers are temperamental! Either boiling hot or freezing cold. The location is good for going out however very far from the areas where the elephant farms and national parks are. Good location for the doi suthep park.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank EllenFosterPrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NimmanMaiHotel, Manager at Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some very personal feedback on our hotel through TripAdvisor. Based on your comments about water temperature we have clearly failed to meet your expectations during your stay and we would like to apologize for the inconvenience. Rest assured we have taken note of these points and have put measures in place to fix the problem.
Our team takes great pride in offering our guests inspiring stays. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron Highlands, Malaysia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for 3nights stay and definitely the best choice on location (our opinion of course!) as it is located in a much modern and newer part of Chiang Mai, The Nimmanhemain area. There are plenty of famous eateries around this area, walkable in couple of minutes but yet not directly on the main road.
The hotel itself is very modern and we are quite pleased with their staffs at the front desk, very helpful indeed though a little bit difficulty in communication (can understand simple basic English) , good enough to get some things done.
We had a problem with our satellite tv and unable to watch it on our 1st night stay and we informed the front desk on the next morning. Their housekeeping/maintenance staff tried to fix it but then couldn't repair it. We were then changed to another room with the bathtub for our 2nd & 3rd night stay. However, this time the hot water doesn't work at all. We only realized it quite late at night so we just took a cold shower (is okay as we were very hot after a long day outside). Then we informed the front desk again the next morning on this matter and hope it will repaired by noon or during make up room time. And we went out for
our activities.
We got back to the hotel around 2pm+ plus it was not done yet, untouched. Maybe the hotel staffs prefer the guests to be around to see the repairs done?? We were sweating on the way back and we just went ahead for the cold showers again while await for their maintenance staff to come check the water heater. And we left the room for the staff to get it repaired as we have to go out again.
Good thing that it is then repaired when we went back to the hotel few hours later :)
Overall, we like this hotel very much and staffs are friendly. Breakfast selection is good. Value for money indeed! Many thanks to the front desk staffs on recommending the 'roast chicken' place on the same road as the hotel.. Yummy place to eat too..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKY209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NimmanMaiHotel, Manager at Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Greetings from Nimman Mai? Design Hotel. We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay with us. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations as you are a loyal guest to us; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Nimman Mai? Design Hotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer and specially our loyal guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Sincerely yours,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights while visiting Chiang Mai. The hotel and rooms are clean and tidy and very well designed. My only quibble would be that the rooms were slightly on the small side, we had a deluxe with balcony and it was just a touch too small. All in all though the hotel was great. The staff were friendly and helpful and I would definitely consider returning here as I like the area.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NimmanMaiHotel, Owner at Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you nice feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel and that you appreciated the great location, our nice staff. We will pass your compliments to our employees. Looking forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Art Mai Gallery Nimman Hotel Chiang Mai By Compass Hospitality
0.4 mi away
X2 Vibe Chiang Mai Decem Hotel
X2 Vibe Chiang Mai Decem Hotel
#91 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cmor Hotel Chiang Mai by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BED Nimman Hotel
BED Nimman Hotel
#6 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yantarasiri Resort
Yantarasiri Resort
#171 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sanae Hotel
Sanae Hotel
#83 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality

Property: Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Address: 2/1 Soi 2 Sukkasem, Nimmanhemin Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nimman Mai? Design Hotel is a new kid on the block created as the trendy space for vogue travelers, nicely located on the Nimmanhaemin Road, one of the greatest hip venues in Chiang Mai, Thailand. Offering an entirely new experience with creations of a new 8 floor building rising to the blue sky shift to conceptual of stylish silk pattern that reflect on every dimension of the structure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Nimman Mai Design Hotel by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing