We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A guest house in the form and price of a hotel”
Review of Nice Mum Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nice Mum Lodge
Ranked #318 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A guest house in the form and price of a hotel”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

This place provides rooms the same quality as a guest house but at the price of a hotel. This has a pretty decent location down a little side street off of loy kroh. The only redeeming qualitys about this hotel is that it is pretty new, in a good location, and the guy who runs it couldnt be nicer.

Upon checking out I was charged extra for some towels that aparently were a bit too dirty because I had to clean up the water that was everywhere after taking a shower. My advice if you want to stay at a hotel then go with a hotel with better rooms. If you want to stay at a guest house stay at a guest house and pay guest house prices.

Room Tip: Go with a different place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    18
    8
    7
    0
See reviews for
4
16
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Nice Mum Lodge is in a convenient location to night market and old city. The hotel itself is rather basic and they are a bit stingy with things. For example no hand towels or floor towel for shower, you only get one puny shower gel and toolet paper per day .Like a previous poster we were charged 50 Baht for cleaning a towel, a towel that had to be used to wipe floor because drain was plugged with hair from previous guests and flooding. My wife cleaned it out during her shower used the towel to control flooding. The place should be called "Nice Dad" as he was a lovely man, very kind and friendly. But Mum does wear the pants in this family. One other thing in this otherwise clean hotel was that my wife encountered human excrement going down the stairway with an awful smell. Turns out they said it was from an older guest who forgot his adult nappy. We just kind of felt we were over controlled and watched. That's the feeling here.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank khunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Pros
Big room, very clean, good location, comfortable bed, hot shower, lots of power outlets, quiet, complimentary coffee in morning(downstairs)
Cons
Safe not bolted to anything, wifi not reliable, noisy air conditioning , numerous mosquitoes in room when arrived and had to use fly spray to kill them (about 40 dead mosquitoes but no issues after first day), cleaning people tried to open door without knocking on 2 occasions , window left unlocked by cleaning staff on one occasion, owner seems very untrusting (must have been 'burnt' before)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Struggled in Chiang Mai to find a place during high season. Nice Mum was one of the few places that had room for the number of days that we needed. For the price, this is definitely a good place to stay for a guest house (though it's a huge concrete hotel block).

Pro: loads of room so most likely to find a room even in high season.
No pressure from the family to use one of their tours.
Parking garage for moto/car. Very handy if you're doing day trips outside the city and want to keep the rental for a few days. Our moto always felt safe there.
Walking distance: 10 minutes from the night bazaar, less than 10 to the old town.
Clean rooms, clean bathroom.

Con: not a lot of atmosphere
No breakfast, but tea/coffee is offered and there are many places around the lodge.
Water was provided every second day.
So/so wifi

Remember to keep your key receipt! We definitely had to show it before they would give us back our deposit. Also, do not use the towels to sop off the bathroom water. They warn you at the beginning. The cleaning staff are always around so just ask them to mop it up instead.
If you don't smoke, reiterate that you don't want a smoking room.

Room Tip: Try to face the back of the hotel - it's super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdn_nomad83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Ok Hotel, but expect extra charges at the end of your stay. Good location for night life and typical Thai bars for tourists. There are more interesting places to stay for cheaper.
Good sized room and huge corridors. Not much character! It feels more like a cheap westernised lodge. At first glance cleanliness is good, but soon after you realise that it is far from perfect. The shower blocks easily and the bed sheets had some insects. We had to wake up the receptionist to request new sheets.
No breakfast but they offered coffee and tea until 13:00. What was really annoying about this place was that a deposit of 300Bhat was initially held for the keys and would be returned at the end of our stay. As we were about to leave they checked the room and charged us 50Bhat for a "dirty towel" - which was only the case due to wiping the bathroom floor as the shower was not draining properly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Had a tip off a couple of friends in the UK that this is THE place to stop in Chaing Mai. Lovely rooms, good location for easy walking to bars, restaurants, night bazaar and all at a reasonable cost. Fantastic family owners (nothing at all too much trouble). I could write a long review, but no need. If you are coming to Chaing Mai, trust me, make this one top of your list.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RegularTravel12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

When I first arrived Nice Mum I felt that this guesthouse might be a little bit spartan, but when I entered the room I was quite impressed by the TWO big twin beds, TWO free bottled water (one 850ml each!!) , the A/C and the big screen TV. The room was quite cheap given its facilities and the location was excellent. It was easy to go to Tapae Gate to one side and to the night bazaar the other side. There is travel agency just 2 min walk away from Nice Mum and right there I booked my one day safari tour. There was a good place for currency exchange and the rate was quite favorable. And you could find massage rooms, convenient stores, drug stores nearby. You can not have a better guesthouse than this one I am afraid.

The Nice Mum could not speak quite good English, but her husband could speak quite good English to talk to me. I would recommend my friends staying there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liambeiwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Mai
1.6 mi away
Northstar Hotel and Resort
Northstar Hotel and Resort
#54 of 168 in Chiang Rai
7 reviews
87.6 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#23 of 381 in Chiang Mai
669 reviews
86.5 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
85.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
87.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,814 reviews
86.9 mi away
137 Pillars House Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Mum Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Mum Lodge

Property: Nice Mum Lodge
Address: 3 Soi 2, Loy Kroh Road, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nice Mum Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nice Mum Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing