We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

The singha montra was a great find. We stayed here for a week and loved every minute of it. It was cheap and had wonderful service. The pool is cold but there is a huge shower and jacuizzi in the room. It is lovely and thai with the thai pillows in your room and complimentry thai sweets at the desk. I formed a lovely relationship with one of the ladys at the reception desk who was more than happy to chat to you especially about thai culture and life. Nicee buffet breakfast and lovely restraunt.

Room Tip: lanna room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singhamontra L, Front Office Manager at Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings and thank you for having chosen Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Chiang Mai as the hotel of choice for your recent stay. We also thank you for having taken the time to share your views of your recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you were overall enjoyed staying with us. We also do take note of your added feedback much appreciated.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Sigha Montra Lanna Boutique Chiang Mai very soon.

Kind regards,
Praphon.P
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    40
    29
    15
    10
See reviews for
41
87
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Loved my stay here and surprised at others negative views.
Pros- Friendly And courteous staff
Clean rooms
jacuzzi in each room
Lots of Character
Good price
Cons- little out of town but cheap to tuk can solve
Pool doesn't get much sunlight

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanybott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singhamontra L, Front Office Manager at Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings and thank you for having chosen Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Chiang Mai as the hotel of choice for your recent stay. We also thank you for having taken the time to share your views of your recent stay at our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you were overall enjoyed staying with us. We also do take note of your added feedback much appreciated.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Sigha Montra Lanna Boutique Chiang Mai very soon.

Kind regards,
Praphon.P
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Attracted by the rates offered for the jacuzzi suite and for the "boutique style", we booked this hotel through Expedia. We contacted them by email weeks in advance asking for assistance for booking a cooking class but they were completely unhelpful. It was not until the days before our arrival that we saw bad reviews on tripadvisor; too late, since that was a non-refundable reservation. The reviews turned out to be fairly accurate. The room was dark, badly maintained (the windows all had gaps allowing for mosquitoes to enter), the jacuzzi was indeed filthy, the mattress was perhaps the hardest that I ever had at a hotel and the room service didn't make our bed until dinner time, even though we had spent all day out. The oddest part was the pushy management and employees, trying to sell at all cost their overpriced tours, and giving us a hard time when we wanted to hire a driver or a cooking class directly, without their assistance. No access to metered taxis would be given to us, perhaps because of the commissions likely owed by drivers to get called for rides. And that is particularly relevant when considered that the hotel is distant from every points of interest in the city. Given a profusion of boutique hotels blooming in the skirts of the old city, the tourist is better off booking a room at a newly built centrally located one. Things got really weird when we asked specifically for the driver 'Noi', recommended on tripadvisor by HanaRoberts. The hotel manager tried push some other driver saying that was 'Noi' when in fact he wasn't. That certainly damaged the trust that we had initially in the hotel staff. We got a much better deal hiring a driver from the TaxiMeter company we had taken from the airport upon our arrival to Chiang Mai for a day tour to Doi Suthep and to the local zoo.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luiz_Lisboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singhamontra L, General Manager at Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Thank you kindly for you recommendation .It's very use full for us to improve our service .We will try our best in services and we hope for the best in the future that you are always the most welcome.

regard,

Wantawee chokchai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

i have to agree with the other recent reviews.
pros-our room was huge with the bed in the middle of the room and very comfy, not Thai hard thank god.the room had dual aspect floor to ceiling windows that opened onto a balcony albeit narrow and scruffy, great views. the bathroom area with the hot tub again was huge. the sole reason we booked this hotel was because of the hot tub in the room! this was great fun, very relaxing- we were happy just to chill out in it with a few drinks for the one night we were there and look out over the night cityscape. knowing Chiang Mai well the location was not a problem, it gave us the chance to discover another side to the city and actually the walk to the moat is quite pleasant and safe of course. we did get a free airport transfer on our departure.
cons- the hot tub overflow from the room above ours flowed onto our balcony like a waterfall, so i can only assume ours was doing the same to the room beneath us. our balcony had lots of broken bricks and rubble on it. the hotel charged us 70baht for a bucket of ice(same amount is 7baht from the 7eleven). the breakfast was rubbish, the food choices had all run out by the time we got there we had to wait quite a while for plates also. Once again the tea and coffee choices were poor.the decision to put cream carpet in the resaurant was a bad one because it was filthy, coffee stains and frankly god knows what!! the staff were not exactly the usual Thai happy or helpful.
all this is a shame because this hotel has great potential and fails- there are soooo many fantastic boutique hotels in Chiang Mai so unless you just need a one night stop over i'd say go elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank embub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singhamontra L, General Manager at Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you kindly for you recommendation .It's very use full for us to improve our service .We will try our best in services and we hope for the best in the future that you are always the most welcome.
regard,

Wantawee chokchai
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We spent 5 nights at this hotel. As complimentary airport transfer was included in our room rate, I informed the hotel about our flight. Only the second mail was answered. As we arrived no one was there to pick us up. We phoned the hotel and they were astonished, that we already arrived and we had to wait another 15 min. 4 days room cleaning was done after 5.30 pm. The water in the sink was only dripping. The slippers they provided were already worn. I was told that there are bicycle for guest, shuttle to the city - nothing. The breakfast was poor, if you come later in the morning eggs and cooked vegetables were cold. The rooms were spacious, the jacuzzi good. There were also a lot of moskitos in our room and all around the hotel. The cleanliness was also poor. I am really wondering how this hotel can be offered as a 4-star hotel. I am travelling a lot in Asia, but this was a really bad experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CuR5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singhamontra L, General Manager at Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you kindly for you recommendation .It's very use full for us to improve our service .We will try our best in services and we hope for the best in the future that you are always the most welcome.
regard,

Wantawee chokchai
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

i stayed here in at the end of jan, rooms are huge and jacuzzi is awesome. but there is a few problems. first 2 days we had no cleaning done nor fresh towels or toilet paper, which we found a bit irritating. But the minute we asked the assistant manager it got done it 2 minutes. also on the first couple of days there were some of the reception staff that were a bit rude and non-helpful, but within a couple of days that for some reason had changed. I saw people in the pool once. breakfast is pretty average, you can get better breakfast for really cheap in town. there is a driver there named "Noi" he was awesome, definitely recommend him. in general this hotel is ok but would recommend to stay more in town near the night bazaar.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HanaRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

My wife and I had booked 5 nights at this hotel but only stayed for one and moved to a different hotel for the remainder of our stay in Chiang Mai. We would concur with previous reviews that the hotel looks good but has many problems. Whilst our jacuzzi suite was spacious it was filthy particularly the bathroom and the jacuzzi, which we did not use. The breakfast buffet was the worst we have experienced in many years of travelling. Tables were not set, the choice was very limited and the staff were not proactive in keeping the buffet stocked, although when requested they did begrudgingly replenish it with some over cooked items. The swimming pool is more like an overgrown fish pond and the water appeared to be of dubious quality, with numerous aircon units positioned above draining directly into it. The hotel is located in a residential area which in its self is not an issue but you need a taxi to get in and out of town and there is little or nothing to do within a reasonable walking distance of the hotel. On the night we stayed the advertised free hotel transport was not available although we were met at the airport on arrival. Frustratingly this little hotel has the potential to be much better the suites are spacious and beautifully decorated but let down by poor cleanliness and maintnenace, additionally the standard of the breakfast buffet needs to improve significantly. Needles to say based on our recent experience we will not be returning and would not recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daz847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singhamontra L, General Manager at Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you kindly for you recommendation .It's very use full for us to improve our service .We will try our best in services and we hope for the best in the future that you are always the most welcome.
regard,

Wantawee chokchai
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiang Mai
1.2 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#47 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura
1.9 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.8 mi away
Pingviman Hotel
Pingviman Hotel
#6 of 789 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.0 mi away
Is Am O Chiang Mai Resort
Is Am O Chiang Mai Resort
#9 of 14 in Doi Saket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style

Property: Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style
Address: 9/1-2 Sriping Mueang Rd. soi 3 | Changklan, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 789 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel is a boutique style, designed and built by applying from Northern Royal Palace and the classical Lanna cultural arts with Laxury Jacuzzi Outdoor in every Guest Room.Impressive view of Suthep Moutain and Gold Pagodas.The Hotel is beautifully surrounded by the old Lanna cultural Arts in the Waulai community such as the old beautiful Temples, silver wares, wood curving shops. Near Chiang Mai International Airport.Half Day : Program : Singha – 01Doi Suthep Temple & Hmong Hill Tribe Village Visit the most beautiful and the sacred temple situated on Suthep Mountain.The contains the holy relic of the Lord Buddha. Until became Chiang Mai’s famous tourist attraction since it is a must go place tourists both Thais and foreigners who visit Chiang Mai. At the temple, you can see a panoramic view of Chiang Mai city at 3,500 feet above the sea level. You can also find a 306- stair case which you can walk up the temple or you can go up the temple by an elevator. After that visit Meo Hilltribe village at Doi Pui. Visit the museum and learn their history and lifestyles. And also we provide A supreme Private Tour included: English speaking Guide, VIP Van 9 seat with leather cover / 3 point safety belt/ Drinking water/Cold towel for refreshment/First aid kit box , Transportation Fee , insurance 1,000,000 THB for each person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Singha Montra Lanna Boutique Style reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing