We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully situated - but could do better”
Review of Huen Huay Kaew

Huen Huay Kaew
Ranked #810 of 3,123 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 1 September 2016

The restaurant, situated beside one of the major temples on the road to Doi Suthep, is an attractive mix of rustic Thai and Indian architecture with numerous water features overlooking a waterfall. Efforts have also been made to make the building wheelchair accessible. The food however is very average, as is the cleanliness. On the day we were there a noisy drinking group of local males disturbed our meal but the staff were very good, moving our table quickly and with no trouble.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Wingfield73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2016

Good restaurant views to the city tasty ordinary local food located near the Kruba Srivichai Monument. Nice staff.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Andras Gabor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Visit this restaurant for meeting with my old friend in ChiangMai, waiter and waitress is bad service, manner is not good enough to service in restaurant, some orders are not completed but charged money when with check the bills, that is unacceptable at all, wait food for long time (more than 30 mins) when ask waiter, they didn't interest us!!! Not recommend this restaurant!!!!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ratchapol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Really disappointing....waited for incredibly long time for food.Only as the dishes started to finally arrive did they then mention that one dish somebody in our party had ordered was unavailable, also another dish never did arrive at our table .we told staff, the manageress said they would cook it for us but everybody else on our table had finished eating and we didn't fancy another long wait . such a shame as a beautiful setting.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karen9111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 March 2016

Real northern Thai cuisine that is as delicious as it is varied. The sausage alone is worth it! The restaurant is an inside/outside affair with lots of greenery without being kitschy. Ate here a couple of times. Recommended.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank justgivemeamoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Huen Huay Kaew also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Huen Huay Kaew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.