We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but way too hot”
Review of Chada House

Chada House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chada House
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap but way too hot”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed for two nights in the dorm which was oppressively hot, fans too weak and mosquito nets didn't work very well so couldn't really get any sleep.

However, toilets were clean and you get a locker outside the room to yourself with key. There is a variety of rooms so would be best to check those out before settling on the dorm.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peefer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    19
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
13
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is a hostel, there is no common room so you won't make friends. Staff are friendly and helpful. Beds aee a bit hard but I enjoted the place. We stayed in a private ensuit, no complaints at all. What more can I say

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liamskennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Was only here for one night, but it was great for that! It wasnt a social hostel but i was there with people i knew so we went out to the Sunday market which was just round the corner.

Theres also a great internet cafe to the left (dont go to the one on the main road). Theres laundry close by, and also two book shops.
If youre going to the Elephant Nature Park thats a 1 minute walk away.

Room was very clean and the shower was average.
Staff werent overly friendly but were nice and were up for a joke if you tried. They did help with directions and advised on tuktuk prices etc.

Ver good if ur looking for somewhere quiet but close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Lake, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

120 baht for dorm room, lockers are outside, as are communal washrooms. Accommodation is simple but it's very clean and quiet. Staff not overly friendly, but if you have a small conversation with them it goes a long way. Wifi can be spotty.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Well located in the Old Town, Chada House offers basic accommodation at a modest price- 120 baht for a bed in a four bed dorm, ensuite bathroom with hot water, and a fan. The bunk beds are simple with a hard mattress, standard for this part of the world. The staff keeps the place very clean, including the bathroom. It is very quiet at night.

The lock on the door is a cause for concern, as it is a simple push botton lock that could easily be picked, with no lockers in the room. Wi-fi was spotty and unreliable, and the owner made no attempt to be helpful with the internet issues and was cold and unfriendly in general. She flatly refused to restart the router. Nobody comes to Chiang Mai for the internet, so that is just a minor hassle. The shoddy locks and lack of security are a major concern, however, and that is why I am only giving a rating of average.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ak_intl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Chada House is a welcoming place to stay. The manager and resident guide/maitre d', Jo Jo, makes this place. I've stayed here twice and both times have been completely satisfied. The rooms are adequate and clean. What I really appreciated was Jo Jo's arranging trips for us. He either arranged transportation for us or took us in the back of his pickup truck. He even drove us to the airport when we left. Chada House enjoys a good location within the moat. Wonderful breakfast/lunch restaurant about 30 meters away. Chada House is just the best!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

June 2012 was the 2nd time i stayed in Chada House. the 1st one is arround August 2011. I like the location, quiet enough and not so far from tha pae gate. Walking distance is arround 5 minutes. The restaurant beside this guesthouse offers good food and beverage but unfortunately they only open until 5 pm. Their rooms are clean enough even the price raised so high and the bed were very very hard.
The staffs and the maid are friendly and helpfull ( Jojo and Thuk ). They also have pick up vehicle from the airport.

Room Tip: Choose the room number 103 ( near the reception ) or 105 for non aircon room because the aircon room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucyliestiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
Kodchasri Thani Chiang Mai
#78 of 386 in Chiang Mai
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 386 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
0.1 mi away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#135 of 386 in Chiang Mai
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 386 in Chiang Mai
961 reviews
0.0 mi away
Twin House at Tapae
Twin House at Tapae
#122 of 867 in Chiang Mai
16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Love CNX
Love CNX
#85 of 867 in Chiang Mai
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chada House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chada House

Property: Chada House
Address: 2, Soi 3 Ratchamanka Rd. | Prasingh, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 867 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Chada House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing