We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place to stay in Chiang Mai!`”
Review of Chada House

Chada House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chada House
Reviewed 10 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed a total of 5 nights at Chada House during our 10 days in Chiang Mai. It was the place we kept coming back to because of it's good location (only a short walk to the gates and walking markets) and because the rooms were spotless. Another place we had stayed in Chiang Mai was less than clean (we are used to roughing it, and both of us had traveled to other developing countries before) but no matter what room we were in here (we had 4 different rooms) they were always excellent. Very clean bathrooms, towels, and bedding. The only drawback we ever had was staying on the bottom floor, which was a bit noisier and the lights were quite bright. But we'd both go back in a heartbeat - hands down our favorite place we stayed!

Room Tip: I'd advise staying above the first floor, just because it can be a bit louder - though the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evelynlbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my time there; the location was excellent and the rooms cheap but clean. In saying this, however, the room we stayed in may we'll have been the loudest place on earth. It was as if people, vehicles, animals and the hounds of hell we're residing in our bathroom. That bathroom window has some sort of amplification quality that deserves scientific research. Such a cacophony of noises has never, and shall probably never again, pass through my ears.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bullywee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

The rooms cost very little and they are clean with semi hot water. Although the rooms only get cleaned every 4 days and they won't give you toilet roll unless you ask which is annoying.

The woman behind the desk is an angry woman. She never smiles and everything you ask seems like a chore. But for 400 baht a night for a double room you cant complain too much. She definitely ruins this quite decent place though. Would stay again

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alicerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Location is fantastic, a quiet lane in the old quarter a 2 min walk also to the top Chiang mai restaurants like dekafa and mammory. Very near elephant nature park head office too.

Room was clean, quiet. Aircon, tv and shower in good nick. Stayed on 3rd floor and twas quiet.

Lady of house was an obliging, pleasant yet serious woman. Always helpful.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Podgemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

It's now the cooler season, so there was no issue with the dorm being hot (in fact, at night it was quite chilly). There are 10 bunk beds, however few of the top bunks are actually outfitted, so it's usually a max. of 10 from what I could see. Spacious enough and with lots of windows, so it doesn't get smelly. There are only 3 fans for the 10 bunks, but only one idiot used it when it wasn't even needed. Wi-fi works well, but plug-ins are very limited in the room and there aren't any in the sitting area. The showers/toilets were clean (unlike what other reports say) and hot. They do clean every day! Dorm floor has a nice view of the sunsets and sunrises. 120B for a bed in the dorm.

If you're 20 something and enjoy waking people up by coming in late and having loud conversations, this is the place for you. If you have respect for others and/or are a light sleeper, this probably isn't the place for you.

The owner is... not a real happy person, but she'll answer your questions. She'll let you store luggage if you're leaving late in the day. Cleaner isn't smiley either. I don't suggest eating at the tiny diner which advertises 30 baht meals about 30 meters to the right of the hostel. The chicken dish she made for me only had a few pieces of chicken and it didn't look fresh or taste normal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinhobo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I'll start with the positives: its in a great location, really close to bars, shops and restaurants. It's got lockers for valuables which is definitely a bonus. The showers are pretty clean and nice. The dorm was ridiculously hot, there just are not enough fans in there. But maybe some of the smaller rooms would be better.

Room Tip: Look at a few rooms before you decide on one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Double room with fan and didn't need air conditioning,
they took care of the laundry and had wifi. It felt very safe. mearby restaurants, scooter rental, shops and trek agencies, although it is tricky to get there.
The landlady seems rude but she is very nice. It is very well located. 350baht for a double room is a great deal!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuilleNiebla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.0 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#38 of 389 in Chiang Mai
987 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#33 of 389 in Chiang Mai
981 reviews
0.0 mi away
Twin House at Tapae
Twin House at Tapae
#137 of 910 in Chiang Mai
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Love CNX
Love CNX
#80 of 910 in Chiang Mai
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Maison Verte
La Maison Verte
#78 of 910 in Chiang Mai
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yin Yang Guesthouse
Yin Yang Guesthouse
#65 of 910 in Chiang Mai
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chada House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chada House

Address: 2, Soi 3 Ratchamanka Rd. | Prasingh, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 910 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £8 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Chada House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing