We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boring tour made better with a great guide!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Journey - Day Tours

Journey - Day Tours
Ranked #102 of 246 Tours in Chiang Mai
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Boring tour made better with a great guide!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We were picked up on time from our guesthouse and our guide, Louis, introduced himself and told us about the itinerary for the day, including driving times to different locations. He also gave us some background information about Chiang Rai and the areas we were visiting.

The hot springs is basically a glamorised service station (full of shops and cafés).

The white temple was the other redeeming feature, although we didn't stay long we really enjoyed looking round the temple complex. Having seen hundreds of temples in Thailand this was something totally different, a contemporary temple with tonnes of modern artwork.

We had been warned about extra cost if you wanted to take the boat to laos etc, and as we were visiting laos a few days later we passed. We were left for around an hour to do our own thing, there isn't much to do once you've taken a few pictures but there is a small market and a 7eleven to get drinks and snacks.

Lunch was a buffet with mostly Thai food, not the tastiest we've had but was more than enough and good for a day tour.

Next we were due to go to another market but Louis (our guide) asked if we wanted to do that or go somewhere else, we opted for the golden triangle overlook and a hill tribe.

The hill tribe was interesting with Louis giving us a constant flow of information about the area and it's history. Be prepared to be followed by young children touting small souvenirs.

Overall we wouldn't advise this trip as there is much more to do around Chiang Mai for a lower price. It's worth getting a taxi etc to the white temple though.

Thank you again to Louis who was fantastic and didn't stop smiling all day!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    35
    21
    16
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bamberg, Germany
1 review
“Don't take a tour with them!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a one day tour to the Doi Inthanon National park and we didn't have a good time. Our guide was literally.THE WORST!!! He rushed us through everything and always pointed out that he doesn't get paid overtime... But that was not the worst: when we left the van in the afternoon and took some time to gather our stuff, the guide told us to "hurry up!".. He did not smile the entire time and the whole group felt bad. In the end I was so mad that I told him to maybe think about getting a new job and that he was a bad tour guide... He answered: "Well, you are the worst tourists." Nothing more has to be said in my opinion...

Helpful?
Thank annasopherl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Waste of a day on Chiang Rai and Hill Tribe trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

I booked a tour with Travel Hub in Chiang Mai and was passed off to this company (unbeknownst to me when I booked). I would never have selected this company based on the reviews here.

I did the Chiang Rai and hill tribe tour. It was terrible. Very rushed, from market to market. Seemed like a bus setup to get tourists to buy things. Many opportunities to buy things...

The first stop at the hot spring was a complete joke. Literally a hole in the ground with hot water and a bunch of shops.

At the white temple (the main draw of the tour for me) we only had 40 minutes. Yet at lunch, we were all done quickly and our guide delayed as she was socializing with other guides. We were there for over an hour.

Trip to Laos was a joke.

Lunch was awful. Greasy, over-sauced, mushy food. Yet the guides got to eat something different (whole fish it looked like).

The hill tribe village again was a market setup. I get that this is how the people in the tribe make money, but it felt wrong.

On the way back, we again stopped at a shop where you could buy nuts.

In the end, I wasted my last day in Chiang Mai.

I would highly caution anyone who books a tour through Travel Hub. You might get passed on to these guys.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank amringro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Book somewhere else...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We did the day Chiang Rai tour.

The good:
1. our guide was very friendly and personable.
2. Was glad to see the white temple and not drive myself.

The bad:
1. Our transport air con did not work well the whole day.
2. The "hot springs" is a total joke... Might be totally man made. Tourist trap.
3. When we paid it said, 'all entrance fees included' which turned out to be a lie when they tried to make us pay extra at the Golden Triangle to take a boat ride and pay for some visa... The guide made it seem like it was the booking company's fault that we didn't know, but I think they always pull this in their tours, seemed very reversed. We did not do the boat, but the others who did said it was a rip off. We just walked along the water, which was nice. Tourist trap again.
4. Not enough time at Chiang Rai white temple, less than 35 min once we finally got off the bus.
5. Karen long neck - tourist trap. Just selling their goods, we had to pry and question our guide to get more than a short 5 minute history about them.
6. Lunch - ok. Greasy buffet, no drinks except water included.
7. Our guide made it seem like we didn't have time to do both the Karen tribe and the hillside village tribe... But we got back to Chiang Mai early... So I think they just persuaded us out of doing something we paid for, in order for them to get home early.


Summation - they overcharge you for something pretty crappy, take you to tourist traps and con you out if mire money, and then try to slight you on service. Rent a car and do it on your own or stay overnight in Chiang Rai if you want to take a bus.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PettersenKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubon Ratchathani Province, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“2 Good tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

We book one tour first with the advise of the desk at Empress hotel. The first all day tour was Doi Intranoon. The was 2 waterfalls, the highest peak in Thailand , and a mountain village, and a temple. The water falls were nice. The peak was great, looking down on clouds. You can watch them make cotten cloth at the mountain village. Lunch and waters include for 1400 baht. Liked it.
Booked a second half day tour to Doi Suetaip and Moong village. The twin temple are a must see, even though one is under repair from earthquakes.
Nothing bad to say about Journey Tours.

Helpful?
Thank Martyjustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Journey - Day Tours also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Journey - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing