We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff. Decent hotel in this price range.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kamala's Guesthouse
Ranked #95 of 718 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff. Decent hotel in this price range.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in Jan/2013. At first we were a bit skeptical as the hotel is very big, has many rooms, and just lacked the feel on a smaller guest house. However, the staff were very very friendly and helpful. We left our big backpacks in their back room while we were away treking with no issues.

We stayed in a room with no private bathroom. However the shared bathrooms were very clean, no problems here. The room was also very clean. Hard to complain for 500 Bhat a night.

The only negative thing is there were no top sheets on the bed. Just a fitted sheet on the mattress, then a blanket. However, we have come to discover that their is quite common in Thailand, so this hotel is by no means the only one that does this.

I had some issues with the wifo on my Samsung phone, but my girlfriend on her Iphone connected no problem. For the money this is a decent hotel and I would reccomend it.

Room Tip: A good choice if you're looking for a cheap place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverKlozoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    53
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
18
48
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Kamala's guesthouse is a very original place to stay because it's half way between an hotel and a gueshouse.

The room are hotel-like : Nice beds with towel provided, tv, fridge, AC, very comfy and enjoyable (very clean as well).
The commom area have everything you can ask for in a guesthouse, to keep you entertained : a pool table, a TV, lots of tables (also you can order food but i can't say much about the cooking since I haven't tried anything else than the good fruit muesli), free-wifi, books, couches,...

For me, the very best point which changes everything else and make this place the best is the staff ! They are all very helpful, smiling and seems happy (not the commercial smile but the real one).
Nok helped me when i was sick, told me what i should get to feel better and was very very nice !
Thanks again Nok !

And the street of kamala's guesthouse is very very close to the center (just across the road) so it is very convient for a walk in the city, shopping, partying or whatever.

I really enjoyed my stay and i recommand it

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

Kamalas guesthouse is a lovely place to stay, big tidy modern rooms that make you feel relaxed and homely with bedside lamps, a tv with English channels, a nice big bed, air con and a fan, free wi-fi in your room, a fridge with drinks and crisps and a nice bathroom with hot shower. The staff are lovely here very friendly and willing to help and chat to you, I have stayed here twice now and defiantly would again :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bounce_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Very good for the family stay. As I keep on highlight, if you look for budget and clean room, go for it. I stay with 2 adults and 2 children. They arrange me extra bed without extra charge. Moreover, the counter ladies, Ms Burn, wonderful and smart ladies. Always care and re-act for all your request fast and precise.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenqiqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We loved our stay at Kamalas, great, friendly staff who were helpful with directions and arranging taxi's. We ate breakfast every morning on the porch, watching the vendores across the street in front of the old chedi, and loved watching Chiang Mai life go by. room clean, comfortable, hot showers, good breakfast, free wifi. Just outside of old city, easy access to all sites.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marsenault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Me and my sister stayed with Kamala from the 16th-19th January 2013. Out of so many hotels/motels/guest houses we decided to try our luck and go with Kamala based on the good reviews.It was a good decision. Not only were we pleasantly surprised by the spacious room, the beds were better than we expected, with good firm mattresses and pillows instead of really soft overused ones we had experienced in other places. Nok and Peng's warm hospitality made our stay memorable. Peng even helped us booked a tour with a local agency when we decided last minute to join this tour that we found. With cheap good street eats less than 20 minutes away, Tesco Lotus and 7-11 just outside the main street, it is a great location! Being away from the main street makes sleeping at night so much better without the noises. With Warorot and Thapae Gate about 20 minutes away, I would recommend Kamala to anyone who is thinking of staying short term or long stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasmineyyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Fancy this--authentic breakfast sausages and lean bacon in Chiang Mai?!! Our family was on our way to the airport, and hungry for a proper breakfast, and found it at the Kamala Guesthouse!

For Bt150 the Kamala Guesthouse Cafe serves an English Breakfast with:

2 Eggs your way
2 Proper English Sausages with a snappy casing
2 slabs of thick sliced lean bacon (think Canadian Bacon)
2 slices Grilled Tomato
2 Slices of Golden Toast
A lashing of Baked Beans
A Stout Cup of Fresh Ground Coffee

Later, I found out from Ian, the proprietor, that the sausages were hand crafted by retired butchers from the UK who moved to Chiang Mai, and were bored to death, so they started making sausages and bacon again--thank the good Lord for them!

The rooms looked great too, and we would consider staying here if they ever offer a family room for 4 option.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu-Shien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
#164 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#51 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#16 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
#156 of 718 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.5 mi away
PM Guesthouse
PM Guesthouse
#20 of 807 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chiangmai Boutique House
Chiangmai Boutique House
#204 of 718 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala's Guesthouse

Property: Kamala's Guesthouse
Address: 27/2-7 Chaiyaphum Soi 1 | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 718 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamala's Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the city centre. 5mins walk to Thapae gate and old city. Surrounded by convenience stores, vegetarian restaurants, local markets, massage school, exchanged book stores and ATM cash machine. Easy to get public bus, taxi and Tuk Tuk at our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kamala's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing