We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, this place makes you feel like home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kamala's Guesthouse
Ranked #97 of 736 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value for money, this place makes you feel like home.”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend are staying in this guesthouse for 4 nights and it is truly worth the money. We have a twin bed shared bathroom with a/c and pay only EUR 5 per person per night. The rooms are super clean, the beds are more than nice, staff is friendly, great location (near the old city) and the café below is good to chill-out. All in all, a really cheap place to make you feel like home. Really recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capetownuniversity2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    54
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
19
48
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights, two in a double en suite room and one in a double room with shared bathroom. The en suite rooms are huge, the beds are rock hard and the bathrooms are dated but have good shower units with hot water. The furnishings are adequate but the bare Lino floor is a bit harsh. The room with shared bathroom is smaller with a floating ceiling which had seen better days, we also heard scratching and scuttling throughout the night. We just put up a mosquito net and tried to ignore it, the shared bathrooms are ok if a little grubby, I think they are used by staff/long term inhabitants. They are full of shampoo bottles, soap etc. all in all not terrible considering an en suite room was £15 per night and the non en suite £8.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olitrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I honestly can't fault this place, my only disappointment was how quiet it was. That might sound strange but I'm a solo traveller and was hoping to meet some people through my stay at the guesthouse, which was pretty much impossible as there was no one around (even though the guesthouse was quite full). I stayed in a double room which was fantastic! Clean, good size, huge bed with clean linen, bathroom isn't luxurious but had everything I needed. Location is great, just outside the Old City, everything within walking distance. Staff are helpful after a bit of encouragement. The breakfast included in the room rate (if you opt for it) isn't worth the extra 100 baht. I paid 650bht per night including breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deedub85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sf bay area
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My family and I spent three nights at Kamala's Guesthouse in Chiang mai. We had a great experience at Kamala's. The staff of this hotel are definately one of the highlights of this hotel with Kamala leading the way. Kamala was so attentive and helpful to all of us, in particular our children (aged 9 and 3).
My daughter also really enjoyed the cafe area. The qualities that made the cafe so nice were it had nice places to sit to enjoy a coffee (or other beverage), big screen tv's, a pool table and overall a very nice vibe.
Other qualities that made this place enjoyable were its central location, clean and spatious rooms and comfortable beds.

we would defiatly return here if we revisted Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I went to Kamal's Guesthouse after the much touted Top Garden Guesthouse was unsurprisingly full. Kamala's is right next to Top Garden. And while I can't compare the two, I can say that I had a perfectly fine stay at Kamala's and would be happy to return next time I am in Chiang Mai. The area is a particularly nice area because it is relatively quiet but nearby a lot of activity, not far from Thapae Gate. The place is clean and well-kept (room is cleaned each day) and has a mini fridge, and the staff is friendly and helpful. A great bonus is that it is right next one of the best little eateries in Chiang Mai, The Cathouse. If I had one complaint, it is that it was very difficult to use the internet during my time there. Next door at the Cathouse it was fine, so it can't be location. So I hope they realize how important a good connection can be at a guesthouse--many times you need to plan the rest of a trip and require the internet--and fix this issue. Otherwise, a great stay

Room Tip: The room with a shared bathroom is a particularly good value at 400 Baht
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woaizhongguo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I traveled with my 9 months old son and stayed for one night before flying back to Bangkok. Nok,the owner were very nice to us. She provided a small baby-cot and was a good baby-sitter,as well as her staff, they offered a hand so that I can have my breakfast. Travel with infant has never been easier!

Great location, it is only a few steps from old moat area. Walking distance to restaurants, 7-11, markets,coffee shops etc. Worth the money!

Jan & Kevin

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narissara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Changwon, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Kamala and her staff were so sweet and accommodating! My single room was spacious and clean with aircon, a mini fridge, cable tv, free wifi, hot showers, fresh towels daily, and free drinking water daily. I also booked a couple excursions on site easily. The night market and hot clubs/bars are very close by. Even though I was traveling solo, Kamala's Guesthouse felt like a home away from home. Would highly recommend to anyone staying in Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0urtney21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
Kamala's Boutique Guesthouse
#163 of 736 in Chiang Mai
51 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hi Guest house
Hi Guest house
#102 of 736 in Chiang Mai
31 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#59 of 736 in Chiang Mai
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#17 of 736 in Chiang Mai
251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Central Guesthouse
Central Guesthouse
#17 of 826 in Chiang Mai
202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nonni Guesthouse
Nonni Guesthouse
#44 of 736 in Chiang Mai
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamala's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamala's Guesthouse

Property: Kamala's Guesthouse
Address: 27/2-7 Chaiyaphum Soi 1 | Chang Moi, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 736 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamala's Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the city centre. 5mins walk to Thapae gate and old city. Surrounded by convenience stores, vegetarian restaurants, local markets, massage school, exchanged book stores and ATM cash machine. Easy to get public bus, taxi and Tuk Tuk at our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kamala's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing