We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location with Thai charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Ranked #56 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 3 July 2012

A small hotel with good reputation managed by Thai hospitality "The Dusit Group". Perfect location facing the Chiang Mai Night Bazaar. Higher floor is recommended with nice view. Staffs are friendly and Thainess. Room rate is value for your money. Clean and renovated rooms. Free wi-fi and other good facilities to make you stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Higher floor : 7th while 8-9 flr is reserved for smoking room
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GuideCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,332)
There are newer reviews for Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

812 - 818 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

Stayed for 4 days Rm:Spacious & :comfy bed with desk, minibar,ample storage space & a safe lock. Adequate bathrm space.Daily housekeeping. Free wifi in lobby. The reception will give a free password to all occupants on request.No comment on Breakfast as there were so many multicultural restaurants & European cafes @ walking distance.Many Halal restaurants.
Concierge very helpful & many private taxis @ hotel footstep for quick getaway
Location:very centrally located to all amenities either walking or taxi.

Room Tip: we stayed 5th floor rm 826, good aerial view of the surrounding area.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustraliaParu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

This is a smaller hotel located across the street from the famous night market. A nice lobby, very light and airy. The rooms are very clean and full of light. While my room faced the street, I did not find it noisy.
The staff are friendly and the restaurant is quite nice. Breakfast is included and it's very nice! Wide selection of foods.
Free wi-fi is included and it's fast and reliable. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff_Pruett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Appearances are important when it comes to picking and staying at hotel. You don't want to feel like your safety might be compromised or that you're not going to be comfortable.

Entering the lobby, the Royal Princess doesn't look like much. The interior is a bit tired, the pastry case is rather paltry, the elevators are slow on the uptake (literally) and might actually be operated by crankshift (or so I imagined). The hotel seems like a holdover from the 1990s that's still wearing its flannel shirt.

But the minute you step into the room, the first question you'll ask is, "Am I still at the Royal Princess?" High-thread count sheets that makes slipping into slumber the smoothest process, quality bathroom amenities, a glassed-in shower, a super-comfortable expansive space with a divan, and high-functioning appliances were a very, very welcome surprise. So much so that you forget any apprehension you might have felt in the lobby.

Actually, your fears might have already been put to rest by the lovely staff at reception, who embody everything you've heard about the sweet nature of the Thai people. We stayed here twice - once upon arriving in Chiang Mai as a base to a weekend in the northern mountains, and again when we got back into town after our rural jaunt. The second time around, our family of four (my parents, my brother and myself) were upgraded from two entry-level rooms into a two-bedroom suite. This has nothing to do with my elevated compliments of the reception staff - it's the fact that everything was already waiting for us when we returned, and instead of going through the check-in process again, all we had to do was sign. Plus, the reception apologized that we didn't get the rooms we had requested for. We actually received regrets for an upgrade of a few levels. Often, too many hotels forget humility is part of hospitality. By the way, the suite was everything you would have wanted in such a room category, including a separate shower and bathtub in each room. The sitting area is bigger than most apartments in New York, with a dining table and work desk.

Currently, the Royal Princess is undergoing extensive renovations level by level, so in a few months' time, the lobby might actually look sparkling and inviting (once again, the lovely staff already have all that taken care of). For now, you're not going to have access to the gym nor the outdoor pool, but a shuttle will take you to sister hotel D2 so you can use the facilities there. Or you can walk - it's just five minutes away. I stayed at D2 last August and being a gym rat, was elated to discover superb gym facilities - I was only too happy to have to work out there this time. What I didn't expect was for reception to call ahead to inform that I was on my way there - when I arrived at D2, security and the gym front desk ushered me right in with no questions asked.

My parents stay here all the time on their frequent visits to Chiang Mai, and while this was my first stay, I can understand why now. The Royal Princess or D2 will be my go-to hotels any time I'm in Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: The rates on Agoda.com and Booking.com are best - the hotel even directs you there.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank desireekoh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed here with my wife for a week in may 2012. Nice central set up, over the road from the central night market with plenty of restaraunts of various nationalities within metres of the door. Hotel was tidy and the rooms clean and acceptable for the price. One negative is the taxi drivers harassing guests as they step out the front doors. It is fine to be asked would you like a taxi, but not upon decline be insulted and made to feel very uncomfortable. On checkout we had a negative ending when we were charged extra for drinks we had at the bar. We asked what time the happy hour was only to be told 6 p.m. There is a sign clearly visible that reports that it begins at 5! Other than this it was, as I said adequate accommodation, would I go back? Possibly.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank RobChez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Visited this hotel in 2007.
Nothing of special interest. The staff in the hotel especially reception did not speak any English.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LawrieMellieha_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Very nice, good location, good service and the best night market out the door.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,872 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#36 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#66 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 388 in Chiang Mai
3,053 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Princess Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Address: 112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £25 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Princess Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai is a haven of warm personal service and Thai hospitality, and its charming guest rooms and suites feature traditional Thai-inspired decor and design complemented by modern amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dusit Princess Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Princess Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Royal Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing