We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Ranked #57 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Royal treatment”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This was my husbands fourth time & my third time at the Royal Princess, our friends first. We were greeted & treated like family. I became ill on our third night. The hotel security officer drove my husband & i to the hospital,waited for my husband to drive him back after i was admitted. The hotel then provided a car & driver for my husband & friend to visit me twice a day. A staff member from reception & the bar visited me in hospital & bought flowers.All the staff including the manager with whom we had contact expressed concern & good wishes to my husband & our friend.
The hotel is clean, comfortable, quiet and in a great location. The breakfast buffet is extensive and good value. Walk out the door to the middle of the night market. The Kitchen Restaurant across the road was our local. They have an extensive menu, food delicious & staff delightful.
All in all we felt right at home and would not stay anywhere else. We will be back.
The hospital on the other hand ..well thats a whole other story. However i did survive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel- quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We all thank for your time to complete this comment and trust you recover and having great time home.

Look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    604
    257
    54
    40
See reviews for
248
541
124
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at the Royal Princess many years ago, we knew that its location was perfect for our stay. The hotel is clearly being refurbished, bit by bit, and the restaurant on the first floor is now excellent. The breakfast buffet is unsurpassed, with a superb selection of European and Asian delights. The bedrooms are clean and comfortable, although the corridors are in need of a spruce-up, as is the foyer. Bedrooms to the front of the building get a lot of road noise, even in the early hours of the morning and perhaps a room to the rear would be preferable. The swimming pool is pleasant and well-maintained. All in all, the Royal Princess is fine and when the refurb is complete it will be able to compete better with other hotels in the same price bracket.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aveedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We all thank for your time and comment.

Look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

It deserves so much more in many ways but the negatives drag it down. The bell hop service is deplorable. the rooms has weird Asian type furniture which was anything but comfortable. The staff seemed quite bewildered most of the time and asking a question became traumatic at the front desk. The bar, lounge area was hardly used because one felt intimidated sitting there.
The location is bloody perfect, hence my reluctance to denigrate this hotel. Absolute gold location.
The taxi drivers at the front door could be annoying and I think the hotel should do something about this.
Nothing special about the dining.
Overall a very average, forgettable experience.

Room Tip: Hard to say, if you can afford a suite, do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your time and comment to which we shared with all members to learn for improvement.

Once again, many thanks and look forward to welcoming you to our Royal Princess during your next visit to Chiangmai.

Sinceerly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Except for the friendly staff, there was nothing royal about this hotel. The first room was located in front of the building, overviewing the night market. The room itself needs urgent renewing, only the bed was up to 4-star standard. Bathroom was more like 2-star. The night was horrible, with street sounds, party music, ... untill 4am. We asked to change rooms, they did so without fuss. This room had the same flaws, just not situated in front, so no street noise. The view from the room was horrible, and every hour a big airco machine started to make noise outside. The poor music in the hallway was way too loud and kept playing untill midnight. The swimming pool was more like an excuse for a swimming pool. In short, for European standards this was more like a 2-star hotel, once being a 3 star hotel. We're now in a 3star outside of the city for half the price, and it feels so much more welcoming, luxureous, royal than the royal princess.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your time and comment.

We shared with all members and took note for matters to be done during our next renovation plan, except the location.

Sincerely thanks and look very much forward to meeting you at our hotel during your next visit to Chiangmai.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, the hotel is very well located right on the Night Bazaar area. Exterior of the hotel looks very old, the interior of the rooms are quite nice, must have been recently refurbished, clean and equipped with all the amenities required. Lift has seen better days and took quite a while to arrive and small in size. Pool is a bit small and surroundings are not that attractive. Service is good though and good value for money. Will stay with them again whenever I am in Chiang Mai

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank depechemode101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for your comment and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess during your next trip to Chiangmai, when our lobby, elevators will be upgraded during 2014.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. The foyer is looking tired but they are spending the money where it matters. Great room which had been recently refurbished, free Internet, good hot shower and fluffy towels. Breakfast room was very pleasant and airy, good choice of menu, including fruit, Thai food, eggs, and European continental. Yes it is in the centre of the action, but that was great for us, however once inside it was a haven of peace, a perfect combination. Don't forget to use the little red topped buses, we were lucky enough to flag down Noi on our first day, she became a brilliant guide for the rest of he time we were there and even delivered us back to the airport. Great hotel, love Chiang Mai.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Pearson19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your comment and we will change that carpet in 2014 and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess during your next visit to Chiangmai.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was simply the best ever. The location was great, very near the night markets for good shopping. The service was great and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We always looked forward to returning back to the comfortable beds after each day of shopping and sightseeing!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ENELWAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, Manager at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your comment.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess during your next visit to Chiangmai.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#42 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#104 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,907 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#56 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Princess Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Property: Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Address: 112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Princess Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai is a haven of warm personal service and Thai hospitality, and its charming guest rooms and suites feature traditional Thai-inspired decor and design complemented by modern amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dusit Princess Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Princess Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Royal Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing