We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would stay there again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Ranked #55 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 21 April 2014

It was wonderful! No issues at all. I have been treated with a welcome drink. The hotel is clean and very centrally located. Staff is excellent and attentive. The swimming pool is nice and clean (I didn't use a gym, but it looked nice). The breakfast was very good. The price I got from Agoda deals was good. The hotel gave me a deal for the breakfast for 350 THB/day, while if you go without that deal it would cost smth around 490 THB. A light dinner arranged by the hotel (on its doorsteps) was good: I got papaya salad and chicken barbeque for a reasonable price (much better than fast food places!).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShadowUZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

We thank for your time and look very much forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 1,426 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

Perfect location right at the heart of the city, few minutes drive from Airport & the area is paradise for shopaholics. Plenty of good restaurants available in and around the hotel . Staffs are quite friendly , very prompt service .Ultra clean Rooms & Toilets. All the essential amenities are available in the room, with a very comfortable bed. Wide verities of breakfasts. Whether for holiday or business, it's perfect choice in Chiangmai.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Dusit Worldwide Co. Ltd
2  Thank Himanshu Sekhar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your time to complete this comment to which we shared with all staff members and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai again soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have mixed feelings this time around. I visited the Royal Princess hotel 3 and a half years ago (admittedly in the low season) and found it a great hotel. This time I was a little disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately the room we had was near the front of the hotel and extremely noisy at night from the market. We happened to have a room with an adjoining door and the people that were staying in the next room were very vocal quite late at night and I ended up telling them to be quiet. The breakfast that was incorporated into our room price was a good selection. The rooms were clean and tidy and serviced every day. It is a great location for the night markets but not for a good night sleep.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Debz6626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and time to provide useful comment.

We have taken note for our stafff in providing proper information to all guests about lacated of room and woiuld carefully manage our room assignment.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back to our hotel during your next visit to Chiangmai.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Location couldn't be better. Walking distance to the old town, the river, right opposite the night bazaar and walking distance to some great restaurants. However, the hotel doesn't live up to the Dusit websites description of "A luxury hotel......".

The hotel is really quite tired, from the lobby, to the lift, to the corridors, to the rooms. A refurb very much needed.

That said, it was clean, even if the carpets were a little stained and worn, they provided slippers, we kept them on all the time in the room. The bed was rather hard, but a good size. We had a problem with the shower managing to flood the bathroom every time we used it. We did report it, but nothing got fixed.

Our room was backing onto another building so we had to close the curtains most of the time so we weren't looked in on.

Breakfast was OK, but that's about as good as we could say. We had moved from the Amari in Koh Samui, also 4****, but a world away from this hotel. Certainly not what we expected from a Dusit hotel.

On our last visit to Chiang Mai we stayed at Le Meridien a couple of hundred yards away. If your budget will reach it, that will be a far better option.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and time to provide useful comment.

We have taken note for our improvement and please be infomed that we are going to complete our develpoment from the entance, lobby, carpet on corridors with new facilities.

We look very much forward to welcoming you back to our hotel during your next visit to Chiangmai.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Myself and a friend stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and had no complaints. Room was ok and all that we needed for a good night sleep. No issues with staff and breakfast was standard for Asia. The hotel is situated right on the night market street and it was fascinating to watch the street transform from a busy street to night markets. Plenty of places to eat nearby and a tour service in the hotel who looked after our needs. Plenty of street mongers outside the hotel selling tours which after a while became annoying

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Magpieman4361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and time to comment.

We communicate with those tour offering on the street in front of this hotel to have better behaviour with all guests.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again during your next visit to the north of Thailand.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The hotel is located on the night market of Chiang Mai, this is a great location for those who want to shop. Even though it is noisy outside, the rooms are really quiet and no noise from outside can be heard.
In the room you have all you need, bath robes, mini bar and TV. It is very clean and quite new.
The only disadvantage is the expensive breakfast. When you book the room it is available only without breakfast and if you want to buy one it will cost you 340 THB for each person. Even though the breakfast is really good and rich, it is still expensive for Thailand.
Long story short, for 58$ this is a great 4 star hotel!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PashaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and tome to ocmment.

Point is taken about a special price of buffet breakfast.

We all look forward to welcoming you back again during your next visit to the north of Thailand.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Royal Princess leaves a reasonably stylish first impression it faces what becomes the Night Market in C. Mei. Virtually a hop from this main street lands you into an airy lobby area housing a long reception and a bar area towards the back. The general feel of the hotel is very pleasant with a beautiful dining area and typically good choice and quality for breakfast. The corridors do complain for a makeover and the pool, whilst gratefully accepted was a little plain.

Chaing Mei attracts an eclectic mix around town and i did get fed up with the gauntlet of stalls every evening. Over the river and downward toward the left, however, we stumbled upon a set of bistro/bar/restaurants that each offered very good quality live contemporary music. This was a great find and we were truly fed, watered and entertained.

If you are planning an excursion I would recommend a Mahoot experience we chose a supplier affiliated to animal welfare and returned fairly confident that the elephants were well cared for by their custodians- and we gave them exercise, washed them and then fed them ourselves, too. There is no doubt a variety of suppliers so please do consider the elephant's experience too, when booking.

A final note on air quality. It seems to be a regional practice to burn off local vegetation. This combined with traffic and the effect containment due to hilly areas nearby does give the area a deserved reputation for fumes.

We did not find it too oppressive but noticed it nevertheless.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveandjaneLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and your value comment.

We have taken note, shared with all members and look forward to welcoming you back you to our Royal Princess Chiangmai during your next visit to Thailand soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,962 reviews
0 mi away
Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#59 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#74 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,727 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#32 of 402 in Chiang Mai
536 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 402 in Chiang Mai
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Princess Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Address: 112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 402 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £39 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Princess Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai is a haven of warm personal service and Thai hospitality, and its charming guest rooms and suites feature traditional Thai-inspired decor and design complemented by modern amenities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dusit Princess Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Princess Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Royal Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing