We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Ranked #53 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

As you can see from the title, the location of the hotel is fantastic. It is right in Chiang Mai and near all the night markets. From the hotel it is possible to walk to most places in Chiang Mai or get a cheap Tuk Tuk to the local areas. The hotel itself is nice, big clean rooms that are well maintained every day. There was building work going on when we were there but they did their best to minimise disruption and we didn't notice it at all. The only down side was the lifts in the hotel were a little temperamental and small.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We thank for your comment after staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon, especillay before end of this year when we complete our upgrading the entrance, lobby hall, faclities, both elevators and carpet on floors.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    574
    244
    53
    39
See reviews for
236
516
114
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The location is fantastic with the nights rely right at the doorstep and lots of restaurants and bars to go to!

Our room was cleaned everyday and was immaculate, however there was a smell of mould consistently.

The staff are super friendly and the breakfasts were nice.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garrrys3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and your comment.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai soon, especailly when we complete our upgrading of the entrance, lobby hall, elevators, facilities and carpet on corridors.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The hotels location is amazing. Right in the main centre of town. You walk out the front door to restaurants, cafés, massage places, money exchange etc. you cannot beat the location.
The hotel is a little old which showed in the lifts and carpet and decor, but in saying that my room is incredible. It's a suite that I got upgraded to which has 3 rooms.
For the price it's definitely good value for money and a great location.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your comment.

All staff at Royal Princess Chiangmai look forward to welcoming you back soon, especailly when we complete our upgrading of the entrance, lobby hall, elevators, facilities and carpet on corridors.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
273 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were upgraded by the front desk when we arrived, so they told us. We got a room on the 8th floor and already leaving the elevator we felt the strong odor of mold, and the smell was still present in the room. I suppose it was the old wall to wall carpet that had seen better days, that was the cause of the reek. My wife did not sleep most of the night and I was also awake a lot. The only good thing was the personal at the hotel who did everything to comfort us and finally we were moved to another room with a relatively new carpet. The location in the middle of the night market was not a disturbance during our 2 night stay. The breakfast was not something to write home about. We recommend the hotel to take out the wall to wall carpets and put in parquette instead, since the humidity of Thailand is an invitation for mold (and I know since I am a mycologist - scientist doing research on fungi)

Room Tip: Check if their is a carpet in the room and if so how old it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BasicsTouring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your time to provide comment and please note that we are in a process of upgrading facilites which expect a completion before end of this year.

All staff look forward to welcoming you back again to experience our new carpet on all floors, entrance, both elelvators, lobby hall and facilities.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I chose this hotel by reading reviews how good the location was. I guess everyone has a different taste. When we got to the hotel it was night and the night market was in full swing. We were horrified. This is not our idea of a vacation. You can come to the night bazaar for a visit but living in the middle of it was unbearable so we moved after two days to the heart of the old city which is the place to stay in Chiang Mai. The hotel itself was nothing to write home about but then it was cheap. I wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamkinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and the comment.

As a hotel in in the centre of town, guests who like the convenience in travelling and night bazaar area would choose and stay with us.

Thank you and we all look forward to welcoming you back and we could assign your room to the opposite site of the main street or stay at our sister hotel on the same location but not right on the street, dusit d2 chiang mai.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel definitely had its ups and downs.

You can't beat the location though. It is right in the main square of Chiang Mai and a block away from one of the biggest night markets.

However, the hotel itself was really not great at all. They were undergoing construction on their elevators while we were there (both of them...) so it took 10 minutes to wait for an elevator to get to your room each time. The rooms itself were very poorly decorated, the carpets were disgusting, and don't even get me started on the bed and pillows... I think both my boyfriend and I broke our backs during our four night stay. The other extremely discouraging thing was that breakfast was not included each morning and it was SO EXPENSIVE per person...

Overall, this hotel had a lot of potential and I was disappointed. They really need to do some serious renovations and change their food prices for what they offer.

Room Tip: honestly there were no good rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for selected and stayed with us during your stay in Chiangmai.

All of us look forward to welcoming you to experience our major upgrading in changing all elevators, entrance, lobby hall, facilities and carpet on floors which is scheduled to complete before end of this year.

We also shared with all staff concerned to check and inform all guests that soft mattress is available during stay.

Thank you with kind regards,

SIncerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is located at the main street where night bazaar, starbucks, McDonalds, Burger Kings and many other restaurants can be found within walking distance.

Me and my sister were staying in a superior room on the first night and 1 bedroom suite before the day we left Chiang Mai. Both rooms were clean and very comfortable but the bathroom of the suite is a little bit too small. Staffs were extremely friendly, helpful and efficient. When I called for someone to fix the hot water in my bathroom, the staff on the phone told me that it might take about 5 minutes to send a staff here but the staff came immediately after I hung up the phone. The politeness of the staff impressed me a lot as well.

The choices for breakfast can be improved as I think the options were too limited. However, I love the fruits that were being served during the breakfast session especially the papaya!

Overall, me and my sister enjoy our nights in this hotel :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiayijie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Racharit, ผู้จัดการ at Dusit Princess Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
All staff at Royal Princess Chiangmai thanks you for staying with us and time to provide comments to which we shared with all members.

In room bathroom has been noted for our future renovation project and please be informormed that our entrance, lobby hall, facitities in the hall, carpet on corridors and rooms are upgrading and expect to be completed before end of this year.

We all look forward to welcoming you all back to our Royal Princess Chiangmai again soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#45 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#65 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#50 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Princess Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Property: Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Address: 112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Princess Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurant business. We are a member of Dusit International and going to change our hotel name to Dusit Princess Chiangmai Thank you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dusit Princess Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Princess Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Royal Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing