We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you can do better than this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Ranked #55 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“you can do better than this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2010

The beds were really uncomfortable and the place looked rundown. The only plus was that it is so close to the night market. The pool area was not very inviting either.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamadediablito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    584
    248
    54
    39
See reviews for
240
520
119
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

Royal Princess is a hotel that has signs of age. Carpet and some areas need updating. However-the staff are incredible! Best I've seen in a hotel in a long time. Everything is very clean. The night market is right out the front door. My room overlooked the night market and I hardly heard anything! Breakfast is not good and too expensive. First floors have rather small rooms but upper floors are larger. Thai food in the area tend to 'flavor-down' the Thai food so it is not the best. Get off the be beaten path and have some great food. Be sure and hire a taxi driver/guide, not just driver. Guides have training in history and the area as well as english. The best I found was Tawee Tidaoon-[--], email [--]. As a former monk he has great info on Temples as well as surrounding areas. Don't waste your money on anyone else. There are some famous Temples such as Wat Doi Septh but very crowed. Tawee can show you incredible temples in and out of town just as spectacular and not so crowded. He also can arrange treks if you like. He also takes people to Chiang Rai-and knows that area well. Places to visit that aren't on the 'tourist route'-The Hill Tribe Museum and Museum of Natural History. Some temples to be sure and see: Wat Chiangman-1st temple built in Chiang Mai; Wat Suandok-Temple of the King; Wat Ousaikhum-Jade Buddha; Phuntoa-Teak wood temple, very old; Wat Doikum-Mountain Temple; Wat Ou Mong-Forest Temple. When reading a map be aware that different temple and streets may have slightly different spellings-very confusing. Out of area temples-Old Town Wieng Kum Kam-temples built on temples now being excavated; Wat Prathartharipoonchai and Wat Prodhudabahtakpha. Guide Tawee can take you there and explain everything. Monks enjoy talking to visitors to practice their english. If you love dogs visit and donate to Care-Dog Shelter. If you buy expensive items (jewelry, rugs, silver) be sure and do so at a TAT store. They will give you a government paper so when you go through customs you can get the tax back. Don't let a regular Taxi driver take you to a store. They get kick-backs from non TAT stores. There are three markets-night market daily and Saturday and Sunday market. Good prices and variety. They love to bargain. I was there 3 weeks and didn't begin to see everything I wanted to!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickieya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

The hotel is well situated on Chang Klan road, at the heart of the Night market. It is accessible to many of the food establishments (thai and american fast foods.) It is also quite near the moated city, which affords easy access.
It seems, however, that the hotel had seen better days. It is towered over by Le Meridien and other hotels nearby. Hotel service was good, with rooms well kept and exceptional breakfast. There is no free Wi-Fi in the room, which I found odd since many of the smaller B&B's around the area seem to offer free Wi-Fi to the guest. Quite odd for a hotel belonging to the Dusit group.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chezlouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

Offers comfortable rooms and is well placed for restaurants and bazaars but the hotel lacks atmosphere and the piped carols in reception over Christmas were terrible!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mewsitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

Hotel is OK, clean and basic don't expect any frills. Great Location for Night Bazaar.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccolekris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droppin' some NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

If you are looking for a hotel right in the action, Royal Princess certainly fits the bill. Unfortunately, my stomach began to sink when we pulled up--it looks seedy from the outside, and the while it has clearly been renovated sometime in recent years, it doesn't feel much better from the inside.

Our room was fine--the air conditioning worked incredibly well. The bathroom was dated and dingy. It desperately needed a deep clean and a renovation.

The breakfast was good each morning, with Western, Thai, and Chinese options.

The concierge/tour desk was completely unhelpful; they did not speak English well enough to help us with the problem we were having. Luckily, we dealt with it on our own. Also, you need mosquito repellent for the lobby itself.

The one bright spot of this hotel is the pool, which is this sweet hidden quiet oasis.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetiteSyrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2009

I stayed 3 nights. We were pleasantly surprised that the hotel upgraded us from a superior room to a junior suite. Little did we know that the room window faces a solid wall ; a junior suite with NO view. Since we were staying there for only 3 nights and reckoned that we'll be out most of the time, we took the room. The hotel could do with some renovation. The furnishings are a little dated and old. The bathtub leaked and we need to put a towel to prevent a wet bathcoom. This was made up by the friendly staff, superb service and great location. All in all, we had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants easy access to the night bazaar and food outlets. Just remember to check out the room first and ask for a room with a view.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelKid101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#46 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#63 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#49 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
#54 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#107 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Princess Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Princess Chiang Mai

Property: Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Address: 112 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dusit Princess Chiang Mai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and restaurant business. We are a member of Dusit International and going to change our hotel name to Dusit Princess Chiangmai Thank you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit Princess Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Princess Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Royal Princess Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Royal Princess

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing