We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Ranked #53 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 25 June 2011

This is an old hotel but for the price it would be difficult to beat in town. Good staff, huge rooms & lots of space. Turndown service in the evening. Restaurant is very well priced & great selection of foods. It is amazing that more people do not use this hotel. Always for hire transport waiting outside the hotel to take you where ever you want to go.

Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Balus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    722
    291
    97
    43
See reviews for
306
597
148
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingaroy, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

You Know a hotel is good in Thailand when the majority of guests are Thais visiting from Bangkok!
This hotel is fantastic and well priced we stayed on the 20th Floor and had a much to our surprise adjoining room with a great big bed,own bathroom and a tv with cartoon network channel for our boys aged 9 and 12 to stay in.
As you can imagine they were stoked! the rooms are advertised as the biggest in Chiang Mai, and they were and we had two.
Our million dollar view was amazing overlooking Chiang Mai the Ping river and beyond to the Mountains Wat Phrathat Doi Suthep, the city's most famous temple.
The hotel foyer is huge and beautiful and the buffett breakfast is lovely, the hotel has a great gym steamroom and sauna as well as a good sized pool with a huge bar.
The staff were very nice and liked having fun from the managers to the pool boys they treated our boys really well and it was sincere not fake.
Tuk Tuk and Taxis to central Chang Mai or Central Plaza shopping centre were cheap between 50-100 baht or $2-$4 cheap cheap cheap i have read reviews that this hotel is too far out of town, what a load of rubbish!! if you cant afford $2-$4 dollars why are you on holidays stay home.
If your that tight walk, it will only take you 20 minutes.
We hired a driver from the hotel reception for the day for only 800 baht or less than $32 we could have bartered for a cheaper price but we thought that was pretty damn good for the day.
He was very nice and he took us up north of Chiang Mai to the Tiger Kingdom and snake Farm and hung with us till we were finished looking around and drove us back to the hotel.
If you are staying in Chiang Mai we reccomend you stay here the rooms are spacious, foods good,staff are exceptionally nice and the views are to die for.

Room Tip: Dont pay anymore than 100 baht to the central city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I regularly stay in this hotel and I am never disappointed. It has great service combined with spacious rooms that are clean and comfortable. The food is terrific and the staff are well trained and very obliging.
There is a wonderful massage and spa, that is inexpensive compared to a lot of hotel spas.
As a business traveler who manages to combine a little fun with business I find this hotel perfect. It is a short ride to the night market in a tuk tuk and there are great restaurants near by. I really recommend this hotel to families as well as couples and business people.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missy88sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

Lovely large rooms,not very plush though, bath rooms need upgrading, but great breakfast and hotel went out of it's way to help, one day the pool was out of bounds for us,they arranged for us to use the Ratai Lama[ soon to become SOFITEL ] hotel, which was great,very liberal with ice, glasses, crockery etc.,unlike some very stingy Bangkok Hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gautam333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
132 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The Chiang Mai Holiday Inn is located in the southeast part of the city. It is an older hotel that is still in very good condition. Our room was very spacious and clean, though you can tell the hotel was probably built in the early to mid 80's. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was very large and the overall size of the room was impressive. Our room was on the 21st floor and overlooked the river and had a great view of the city.

The staff were all great and friendly. For the price of the room (around $45 to $50/night on Agoda) the breakfast was good. I have stayed in plenty of other hotels in Chiang Mai in the same price range and the breakfasts were not nearly as good. There is a pool on the 3rd floor. The pool isn't the largest in Chiang Mai, but is good enough. There is a small childrens pool as well.

The location of the hotel is not the greatest. There is not a whole lot in the vicinity, however the hotel provides a free shuttle bus to the Night Market and there are plenty of taxi's (tuk tuk's) outside the hotel that can take you anywhere for between 80 and 100 baht.

This has to be one of the best value hotels in all of the city. A large and clean room, great view of the city, swimming pool, good breakfast and great staff for under $50 a night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Surmang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Stayed here for three days recently, and really enjoyed the hotel and the service it offered. I was upgraded as a platinum to a very very spacious suite with a wonderful view of the city. The price is very good, even for Thailand, the the staff is very courteous and works hard for the guests. My only complaint is that the room is simply tired, and is in need of a refurbishment. I'm sure it will be happening soon, or has already begun as the lobby and restaurants look like they've had a refurb recently. The location is a few minutes outside of the city, but it's only 50-100 baht to the centre and tuk-tuks or taxis are ample. One negative I would like to add is the huge price of the internet!!!! 250 baht for an hour I think....

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyonnaisdecoeur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Stayed 2nights in total.

Days were fully booked with tours so we just needed a place to crash.
Hotel bed was great;
-ultra soft bed, doona, and pillows
-bathroom was ok, we got upgraded to the deluxe suites which apparently had recently been upgraded.. not that I could see anything great about the bahrooms..

The room iteself was pretty good, quite roomy with space to move around. Small settee and a writing desk also provided, with a mirror near their international powerpoints.

We stayed 1night, checked out (for an over-night stay with a tour) and then came back for the next night. We were given the exact same rooms as previously, which was great as we had got used to them.
Upon our second time checking in, there were complimentary newspaper and chocolates, however, we left the chocolates for about 25minutes on the plate, when we went to eat it, to our horror, there were ants crawling all over them!!

Staff was quite friendly, however I felt that they were not very knowledgable about what tourists wanted to experience -most of the time they would direct us to very touristy areas or areas which were deisgned for tourist patrons rather than the local thalaat (market) or the local street vendors outside the hotel.
Staff spoke intermediate english -dont expect DMC'.

There are some pretty good street food outside the hotel (walk out and turn right, go through the carpark/bus-bays, and onto the street, you will see it immediately) and a marke area which has some spectacular local food which is cheap as chippies and taste 1000x better than the Night Bazaar stuff.

Would recommend as a stable base in Chiang Mai to explore surrounding areas.

Room Tip: Just be nice?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanpanyachai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#43 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 380 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#57 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
1.5 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#51 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Property: Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Address: 318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | Watket Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#39 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chiangmai is ideally located on the banks of the Mae Ping River with easy access to business & shopping districts. It is the only riverside international hotel brand on the Northern bank of Chiangmai with 526 rooms & 25-storeys offering expansive riverside views from both guest & functional rooms. The hotel is only minutes away from the famous temples & the renowned night bazaar. Complimentary Shuttle Services to Night Bazaar, Walking Street, Nimman Road also provided free of charge.Guest Rooms are the largest in Chiangmai & have been designed with every comfort in mind. Every room has beautiful views over the idyllic Mae Ping River & towards Doi Suthep, the sacred mountain or Chiangmai city views. At Holiday Inn®, we guarantee your comfort with a double size for twin bed & pillow menu.Executive Lounge is the latest benefit for guests who stay on the Executive floor with multiple benefits such all day drinks, Happy Hours, free laundry, free Wi-Fi and Express check-in/check-out.China Palace is the most famous Chinese Restaurant in town with superb Dim Sum menu & Shabu Shabu buffet.River Terrace is an all day dining restaurant with daily theme night dinners & an outdoor space.Just a few minutes from the hotel you can explore Chiangmai Night Bazaar, Wiang Kum Kam Historical site, Chiangmai International Airport & shopping malls. Chiang Mai has many places to visit & many activities to do such as Doi Suthep, Chiangmai Zoo & Aquarium, golf or adventurous activities such as jungle flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Holiday Inn
Sheraton Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing