We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOLIDAY INN CHIANG MAI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Ranked #54 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 12 February 2013

My Wife and I stayed at this Hotel for 4 nights January 31st through 4th February.
Enjoyed our stay (we were playing golf) but would rather locate closer to Town.
The staff were very good and the Breakfast not too bad.
If you decide to stay there ask for a High Floor for views

Room Tip: Book for a high floor
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fitzies255072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear fizies255072,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai.

We are happy to hear that you and your students enjoy the moment while staying with us. We strive to provide the highest standard of service. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With Best regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,649)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 1,649 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

Relatively new hotel. We stayed at a suite on one of the top floors. Very high quality hotel for a HI (ie this is far and above what one could expect from a HI in Europe or the US, but then again I guess that is to be expected in Asia).

Not too far from airport, excellent buffet breakfast with lots of choice.

Only downside was that we were stuck in the elevator first thing in the morning (6am or so) when we were on our way to breakfast. This was on one of the very top floors in the tower. We had to use the emergency call button for attention, and they had to restart the system to make the elevator move again. My wife was not pleased by this experience...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LimaDelta7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear LimaDelta7,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you unpleasant experience in the elevator. We address these point and I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

With Best regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

i was there for a business function held at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai. As an organize team, we found it so difficult to deal with the hotel staffs in terms of details of everything the hotel promises for a party for 100 people. i understand that the hotel were very busy with many seminars and events since it is one of the biggest most recognized hotel of holiday inn, which has many branch throughout the big city inThailand. here stand of service is different. at the spot, we got the oversized room, we didnt allow to get in the ballroom until two hours before the guest start to arrive...because some other customers were using the room *_< food did arrive, but the wrong item we ordered,...staffs service white wine on the table water glass...and since then thing were pretty bad....hotel room which we stay for this event was average hotel room for big and traditional hotel, but the bouquet were inadequate..

Room Tip: a room facing the Ping river has very nice view of the suthep mountains, the airplanes and the river...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SweetN0vember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2013

Dear SweetN0vember,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service from our staff which was unacceptable. We will address these point and I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I was part of a group of 8 golfers and 1 photographer from Malaysia on a golfing tour of Chiang Mai. This was certainly a very good base, and quite popular with golfers and business conventions, judging by the number of golf bags spotted at the lobby upon arrival.
This is a good, standard business hotel, with a sumptious American buffet breakfast, and stunning views of the river and Doi Suthep mountain.

Free shuttle to the Night Market between 6-9.30pm, evey half an hour. Excellent service by the hotel staff overall - they hand out umbrellas when it rains.

Location was very good. 5-10 mins to Chiang Mai central district/NIght Market, and about 30mins to the golf courses we played at (Alpine, CM HIghlands, Summit Green Valley)

Tip for Muslim travellers, there's a halal restaurant (Laila's Briyani) which is next to the 7-Eleven, opposite the Caltex station. The "rotee banana" was excellent, our group couldn't eat enough of it! Also try their briyani and beef noodles. You get drinks at the next door 7-Eleven and they supply the ice. From the hotel lobby, turn right, walk through the bus parking area, and right again.
Don't bother with the Thai massage places around there - wasn't too good. Head into Chiang Mai's NIght Market area for better quality massages.

Room Tip: Stayed in 802, which had two queen sized bed, and great views of Doi Suthep and the river.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear saa73,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai. We are happy to hear that you enjoy the moment while staying with us. We strive to provide the highest standard of service and looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With Best regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Very good hotel and service but at the concierge the service I got for second nite is so bad I ask the girl for the van or the car to take me to city the girl turn around and told me better get public bus is cheaper

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitjum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear Kitjum,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai. We provide complimentary shuttle service to Night Bazaar Market from 18.00 - 22.00 hrs (schedule run) and Weekend walking street (one time). We strive to provide the highest standard of service and looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With Best regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I stayed here with my colleagues during our company trip last year. The hotel is quite a distance from the main city centre, you definitely need to travel with a tuk-tuk to the pubs along the river or the night market which would cost you about 200 baht one way. The rooms are spacious, with two big beds, a big bathroom, clean and cozy. Even the view was great. The hotel lobby is nice with complimentary wifi. Breakfast buffet had quite a wide spread to choose from. Nearby the hotel, there are local food shops and street food, 24 hour convenience shop, some massage centres but be careful, some just seem dodgy. There is also a salon across the hotel but a tad bit pricey. Overall this hotel is worth your money but just be prepared to pay for transportation to the city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamaniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear RamaniB,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai. We do provide complimentary shuttle service to Night Bazaar Market and Weekend walking street, please feel free to reserve your seat at our concierge team in the Lobby area. We are happy to hear that you enjoy the moment while staying with us. We strive to provide the highest standard of service. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With Best regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Located about a 5 min tuk tuk ride from the city centre (cost is approx. 100 baht = $3AUD) it has all the facilities you need for a great holiday. The staff were so polite and helpful, it really made Chiang Mai special.

We got a superior room, and it really was ! It was spacious and had a massive seperate bathroom with a bath and seperate shower.

Pool area was nice.

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful !!

Chinese restaurant was expensive but delicious and open late

Only down side is that it wasn't exactly walking distance to the city centre - but like I said earlier, 5 min tuk tuk ride.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TianaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear TianaV,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai. We do provide complimentary shuttle service to Night Bazaar Market and Weekend walking street, please feel free to reserve your seat at our concierge team in the Lobby area. We are happy to hear that you enjoy the moment while staying with us. We strive to provide the highest standard of service. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With Best regards,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,332 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,872 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#66 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,326 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 388 in Chiang Mai
3,053 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#36 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Address: 318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | Watket Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#39 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £32 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chiangmai is ideally located on the banks of the Mae Ping River with easy access to business & shopping districts. It is the only riverside international hotel brand on the Northern bank of Chiangmai with 526 rooms & 25-storeys offering expansive riverside views from both guest & functional rooms. The hotel is only minutes away from the famous temples & the renowned night bazaar. Complimentary Shuttle Services to Night Bazaar, Walking Street, Nimman Road also provided free of charge.Guest Rooms are the largest in Chiangmai & have been designed with every comfort in mind. Every room has beautiful views over the idyllic Mae Ping River & towards Doi Suthep, the sacred mountain or Chiangmai city views. At Holiday Inn®, we guarantee your comfort with a double size for twin bed & pillow menu.Executive Lounge is the latest benefit for guests who stay on the Executive floor with multiple benefits such all day drinks, Happy Hours, free laundry, free Wi-Fi and Express check-in/check-out.China Palace is the most famous Chinese Restaurant in town with superb Dim Sum menu & Shabu Shabu buffet.River Terrace is an all day dining restaurant with daily theme night dinners & an outdoor space.Just a few minutes from the hotel you can explore Chiangmai Night Bazaar, Wiang Kum Kam Historical site, Chiangmai International Airport & shopping malls. Chiang Mai has many places to visit & many activities to do such as Doi Suthep, Chiangmai Zoo & Aquarium, golf or adventurous activities such as jungle flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Holiday Inn
Sheraton Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing