We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good option for Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Ranked #54 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good option for Chiang Mai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for around 1 week in January 2013. Had no real complaints. The room was large enough and the service was good. The lobby bar could have been a lively place if the prices had been more sensible and in keeping with other options in Chiang Mai. I didn't see anyone buy a drink at the bar for one whole week, apart from one drink my wife and I had.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay. We strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

Ps, next time don't forget to try our Daily Theme Night Buffet Dinner at River Terrace Restaurant serves Japanese every Monday, Chinese every Tuesday, Steak every Wednesday, European every Thursday, BBQ Seafood every Friday & Saturday and Indian every Sunday.

With kind regards
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    717
    290
    96
    43
See reviews for
302
591
147
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Our recent conference turned out a great success do to the wonderful staff at Holiday Inn. This beautiful, tastefully decorated hotel provides larger rooms than most hotels and incredible food for the western tastes or those more adventurous who want Thai food. The staff, always helpful, provided everything we needed for our conference from breakout rooms for seminars and children's programs to a special set up for a women's luncheon. They had staff on hand everyday checking to see if we needed anything. There were many families in our group who took advantage of the pool and easy access to downtown areas via shuttle or songtaw. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms clean, the service efficient! Many of our conferees when given the choice of the Phillipines, Indonesia, or Thailand beach for our next conference responded they liked it right where we had it, Holiday Inn, Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear DebbieChiangmai,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your recent meeting and stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai.

Our professional staffs for meeting, catering & event doing their best to make your event successful. 15 function rooms able to cater your event either small or large groups, just let us know.

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

With kind regards
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

The hotel is a nice property and is priced very fairly. I received my refundable rate for 1 night in a 1 King Bed Superior for about 1,960 THB + taxes (or about $77 USD including taxes) right around Chinese New Year (but I booked months in advance).

Being from the US, the Holiday Inn isn't the best brand domestically (closer to 2-3 star), but when traveling internationally, they really do impress. Upon entrance to the lobby, it was comparable to many of the 4-5 star properties I saw in Thailand.

As a Priority Club Platinum member (free status when you have the Chase Priority Club Visa for $49/year), I was upgraded to the Presidential River View Suite. The front desk didn't tell me I was upgraded so I didn't realize it until I opened the door to my room. Wow, so much space!

In one way, it was a shame we were only spending 1 night there, but we had just come back from Chiang Rai and were flying out of CNX Airport the next day so we just needed a place to sleep.

The room itself was massive (long hallway leading to a partial kitchenette/livingroom. A large walk through bathroom with separate shower and tub and 2 sinks. Both rooms connecting to the main bedroom. And large windows overlooking the river from both the living and bed rooms. The furniture was a bit dated though (think 1980's) and the floors had carpet (which was great for our 15 month old), but some people prefer hardwood floors. We also found the bed to be a bit too firm for our liking, but everyone has their own tastes.

Nevertheless, we were very impressed and surprised.

We didn't use the services / restaurants during our stay so I cannot comment on those, but we did use the outdoor pool. It was nice and refreshing on a hot day, but nothing worth spending too much time at.

The location (as many mentioned) is far from the center of the city (night market / old city), but there is a nearby Morning Market that we went to the next day. Right on one of the roads, you can walk to several small Thai restaurants and food carts for your meals. We much preferred this style of eating than inside a hotel restaurant. The first set of restaurants/massage shops clearly cater to Holiday Inn guests, but if you walk 3 minutes past them, you get to more authentic local food options (ie, carts).

Overall, we had a pleasant stay (helped tremendously by getting upgraded) and definitely got value from the rate we booked at. There is a Le Meridien Chiang Mai that we stayed at a few nights earlier (see review) which was more polished, but also more expensive if you're booking a cash rate. For those looking to spend under $100 USD/night at a Western hotel, the Holiday inn is a great option.

Room Tip: River view's are nice but not worth paying up for. It's not very scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Songer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Songer5,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai.

Holiday Inn Brands are 4-star hotel with 5-star services especially in Thailand. As a member of Priority Club Rewards Platinum Elite, guest can get FREE room upgrade (where available) and guarantee room availability.

We do provide complimentary shuttle service to Night Bazaar Market and Weekend walking street, please feel free to reserve your seat at our concierge team in the Lobby area.

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

With kind regards
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.A.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

As a platinum member, I received an upgrade to a wonderful teak wood ceiling and wall 2 room suite. This from an inexpensive rate. Jacuzzi tub, separate shower etc. views over the Ping river. The beer garden was very nice. It is quite a way from the night bazaar and transportation is required. Breakfast is expensive but very nice. I would try the coffee shop across the street if you did not include breakfast in your rate. Spa was just okay for a massage. The mall near the airport is nice for shopping. The business center staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doninusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear doninusa,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai.

As a member of Priority Club Rewards Platinum Elite, guest can get FREE room upgrade (where available) and guarantee room availability. From July 1st, 2013, the Priority Club Rewards will change to IHG Rewards Club with more benefit and privileges.

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Very good hotel, professional staff, the room is a little bit old but very clean, beds are very comfortable and the bathroom is big, equipped with bathtub as well as shower. Breakfast is ok, standard buffet breakfast... the hotel offers everyday buffest for lunch and dinner for a goo value for money.
If you are a platinum member with priority club, the club lounge does not seem to be free... unless you ask to speak with the hotel manager to have it included in your stay. Anyway, the lounge does not offer you much. So, if you don't get it, you won't lose much !
The location of the hotel is far from the old town, 10min by tuk tuk 100thb, but close to airport 120thb.
I recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pitt1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear pitt1912,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai.

We provide Executive Lounge on 25th floor for guest who book an Executive Room Type or upgrade their room upon arrival. The Executive Lounge provide private continental breakfast, all day drinks (coffee, tea, soft drink), Happy Hours from 5.30-7.30 pm, 2 pieces laundry services, FREE WIFI Internet access in the lounge and room.

As a member of Priority Club Rewards Platinum Elite, guest can get FREE room upgrade (where available) and guarantee room availability. From July 1st, 2013, the Priority Club Rewards will change to IHG Rewards Club with more benefit and privileges.

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed in the holiday in for 3 nights in February 2013 ..we found the hotel to be of good quality we stayed in a superior king room with river view and loved it ....the hotel swimming pool was nice and the staff very friendly ...this hotel has the biggest floor space when you get out of the lift on your floor that I have ever seen. We loved breakfast, true it was the same each day but the choice of food was large and all good quality...we ate at the sunday brunch and it was fantastic value and a very nice meal...We also had a meal at the chinese restaurant there fantastic food a little pricey compared to outside but well worth it...we caught the shuttle bus to the night market and it was there on time to take us back..the concierge and all the staff were helpful and friendly the only downside to this hotel is the laundry we went everywhere looking for a laundry as usually you can get laundry done for 40 baht a kilo ...there was no outside laundry other than a dry cleaner that was more expensive than the hotel we ended up using the hotel laundry 4 kilo cost 2000baht...huge difference but we traveled light and needed the clothing it came back hung on hangers and lovely and pressed . so beware that there are few no laundries that we found outside the hotel ...The distance from town was not a problem as we used the tuk tuks out the front at 80 -100 baht it was fine ...I loved this hotel and its services and staff could not be faulted . thank you for a lovely 3 days

Room Tip: if you can get a river view room well worth it and include breakfast and wi fi we got our room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Mausie3214,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai.

We strive to provide the highest standard of service and happy to read that you enjoyed while staying with us both for the accommodation and food at the restaurant. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

All the reviews are correct for this hotel. Staff are friendly, helpful and kind.

The food at the buffet is tasty clean and there's a lot of variety.
The rooms are comfortable. During our stay we stayed in an Executive Room on the 24th floor and a Superior Riverview Room on the 14th floor. If I had to choose only one I'd choose the 14th floor Riverview everytime. The differences were slight.

Riverview was not as "new". It had fewer outlets to plug in electronics and the bed was a little older and slightly harder though not significantly. Coincidentally the Riverview room has much more floor space making it a lot better for our family.

The Superior rooms only benefits were

#1 - Softer Beds
#2 - Tons of plugs for electronics.

The pool was excellent. Kids had a great time.

The ONLY thing that was annoying was showering. Every morning during our 10 days here I would take a shower and about once every minute the shower would hesitate and then the water temp would change to extremely hot and after about 4 seconds go back to the temp I had selected. Once I learned how to anticipate it and step out during that time it was fine but it's what kept this hotel from getting "excellent".

Thanks Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Superior Riverview King Non-Smoking is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G039260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear G039260,

Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai.

We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoy time during stay with us. Regards to your comment about water, this happened during busy hour but unacceptable. I do inform our Engineer team to fix and monitor closely. As you mentioned that you staying in Executive rooms, we provide Executive Lounge on 25th floor for guest who book an Executive Room Type or upgrade their room upon arrival. The Executive Lounge provide private continental breakfast, all day drinks (coffee, tea, soft drink), Happy Hours from 5.30-7.30 pm, 2 pieces laundry services, FREE WIFI Internet access in the lounge and room.

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

With Best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#46 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#63 of 375 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#53 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
1.5 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#50 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Property: Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Address: 318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | Watket Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#39 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chiangmai is ideally located on the banks of the Mae Ping River with easy access to business & shopping districts. It is the only riverside international hotel brand on the Northern bank of Chiangmai with 526 rooms & 25-storeys offering expansive riverside views from both guest & functional rooms. The hotel is only minutes away from the famous temples & the renowned night bazaar. Complimentary Shuttle Services to Night Bazaar, Walking Street, Nimman Road also provided free of charge.Guest Rooms are the largest in Chiangmai & have been designed with every comfort in mind. Every room has beautiful views over the idyllic Mae Ping River & towards Doi Suthep, the sacred mountain or Chiangmai city views. At Holiday Inn®, we guarantee your comfort with a double size for twin bed & pillow menu.Executive Lounge is the latest benefit for guests who stay on the Executive floor with multiple benefits such all day drinks, Happy Hours, free laundry, free Wi-Fi and Express check-in/check-out.China Palace is the most famous Chinese Restaurant in town with superb Dim Sum menu & Shabu Shabu buffet.River Terrace is an all day dining restaurant with daily theme night dinners & an outdoor space.Just a few minutes from the hotel you can explore Chiangmai Night Bazaar, Wiang Kum Kam Historical site, Chiangmai International Airport & shopping malls. Chiang Mai has many places to visit & many activities to do such as Doi Suthep, Chiangmai Zoo & Aquarium, golf or adventurous activities such as jungle flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Holiday Inn
Sheraton Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing