We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Ranked #53 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

First time in Chiang Mai for 4 days.

Hotel is in between town and airport - so it is quite well located. Both airport and town is about 10mins drive away.

Service is good. Attended a wedding there and the food is so-so.

Daily buffet breakfast spread is acceptable. There are a mixture of western, Thai and Chinese food.

Free shuttle to Airport Plaza where u can spend a whole day shopping and eating non-stop.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelblur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai.

We provide complimentary shuttle service to Night Bazaar Market and Weekend walking street, please feel free to reserve your seat at our concierge team in the Lobby area.

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

With kind regards
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    707
    285
    94
    41
See reviews for
296
581
144
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed 3 nights last week for my first time to Chiang Mai. Start from pick up at Airport, I can feel the staff is helpful. Location is a bit far from noisy shopping area, easy to take tuktuk (100 THB). Always have few line up outside the entrance. However, the

The hotel should review how they wash their cups / glass. We keep found dirty cups / glass in room (bathroom and minibar), and breakfast (juice bar and table). You can find different kind of mark from last usage, e.g. juice, coffee, tea, lipstick, etc.

Room Tip: Check every cups / glass you going to use, no matter in room and cafe. Spare some time (10 mins at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicklow22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Holiday Inn Chiangmai.

We provide complimentary shuttle service to Night Bazaar Market and Weekend walking street, please feel free to reserve your seat at our concierge team in the Lobby area.

We strive to provide the highest standard of service and appreciate your time in sharing your concerns. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

With best regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kunming, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

i'm trvel in chiang mai, and my friends introduce me to living at holiday inn hotel. i've been here about 2 days. in here the food is good and the service was very nice.The bed was very big, when eaveryday i'm back, the lobby bar 's people always smile and say: sa wa dik."for me. i feel very happy, and everyday i have good mode. thanks their sevices.

Room Tip: Room very nice view,can see the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wang h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay and welcome back to Holiday Inn Chiangmai.

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

With kind regards
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Went with a large golfing group and stayed for 4 days. Checked in the hotel on Loy Kratong night. Wow! the hotel is located next to the river, so there's a great view of the night sky filled with flying lanterns through the night. On the river side there were floating 'kratong' with candles drifting along the river. The hotel organised a festival dinner at the riverside courtyard, with a band and singers playing local music. The atmosphere was great, lasting till 10pm when the lanterns had to stop as we are fairly close to the Chiangmai airport. Location of the hotel is convenient for our purpose but would need a tuktuk to get to the city center and the night market. Rooms are large and breakfast selection is wide. Lobby bar does provide live entertainment on some nights. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c2chen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay and welcome back to Holiday Inn Chiangmai.

We are located on the bank of Mae Ping River where the major event such Loy Kratong Gala Dinner set up here. From guest room, guest will enjoy the floating lantern over the black sky in the Loy Kratong night usually in November every year.

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

Ps, next time don't forget to use our complimentary shuttle service to Night Bazaar Market and Weekend walking street, please feel free to reserve your seat at our concierge team in the Lobby area.

With kind regards
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoofddorp, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel with great rooms, nice view of the Mai Ping river. I stayed here for business twice and can recommend it. Staff are friendly and helpful. The free shuttle service to Lamphun and the airport is very convenient. The location is ok, quiet and easy to get to by tuktuk, but a bit far from the old centre and the night markets. The hotel is popular with Asian tourist (Chinese, Korean, Taiwanese, Japanese) which tend to travel in large groups and can be a bit noisy at times and lead to elevators getting stuck due to too many passengers (no joke!) I have one peeve: the waiting staff seems not to see me when I have my breakfast and I have ended up waving my hand for minutes or getting up and walk across the breakfast room to get my coffee myself. Not a big deal but still a bit annoying. the breakfast itself is pretty good with western (eggs, toast, cereal etc.) and Chinese style (粥)dishes.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H-JB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIChiangmai_Hotel, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Dear Khun H-JB75,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback at the Holiday Inn Chiangmai. We are glad to hear that you enjoy your stayed with us.

We do have complimentary shuttle service to Night bazaar every evening from 6 pm - 10 pm at the concierge or to Weekend walking street every Sat and Sun.

Regarding to elevators service issue during busy hour, we are on process to upgrade the elevators and target to complete maintenance within 2013.

For the waiting staff, we will investigate into this and inform Restaurant Manager to action immediately.

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore your feedback is invaluable to us. Please rest assured that all comments on Trip Advisor of other guests are absolutely genuine and trustworthy.

We appreciate your time in sharing your concerns, and we do hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Very good hotel, with spacious, well furnished, with huge beds. The staff is very polite and there is a good view on the river (the location is not too central but doesn’t matter). Inside the hotel we enjoyed an excellent meal in chinese restaurant. According to the quality of accommodation and food, I think the fee we paid in this hotel has been more than reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcellabellaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay and welcome back to Holiday Inn Chiangmai.

We, at Holiday Inn Chiangmai, strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

Ps, next time don't forget to use our complimentary shuttle service to Night Bazaar Market and Weekend walking street, please feel free to reserve your seat at our concierge team in the Lobby area.

With kind regards
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for around 1 week in January 2013. Had no real complaints. The room was large enough and the service was good. The lobby bar could have been a lively place if the prices had been more sensible and in keeping with other options in Chiang Mai. I didn't see anyone buy a drink at the bar for one whole week, apart from one drink my wife and I had.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, Distribution & Relationship Marketing Executive at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you very much for your taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay. We strive to provide the highest standard of service therefore and we are overjoyed to read that we have succeeded and that you will be back in the near future.

Ps, next time don't forget to try our Daily Theme Night Buffet Dinner at River Terrace Restaurant serves Japanese every Monday, Chinese every Tuesday, Steak every Wednesday, European every Thursday, BBQ Seafood every Friday & Saturday and Indian every Sunday.

With kind regards
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#45 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#54 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#64 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
2.8 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.7 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#49 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Property: Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Address: 318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | Watket Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#39 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chiangmai is ideally located on the banks of the Mae Ping River with easy access to business & shopping districts. It is the only riverside international hotel brand on the Northern bank of Chiangmai with 526 rooms & 25-storeys offering expansive riverside views from both guest & functional rooms. The hotel is only minutes away from the famous temples & the renowned night bazaar. Complimentary Shuttle Services to Night Bazaar, Walking Street, Nimman Road also provided free of charge.Guest Rooms are the largest in Chiangmai & have been designed with every comfort in mind. Every room has beautiful views over the idyllic Mae Ping River & towards Doi Suthep, the sacred mountain or Chiangmai city views. At Holiday Inn®, we guarantee your comfort with a double size for twin bed & pillow menu.Executive Lounge is the latest benefit for guests who stay on the Executive floor with multiple benefits such all day drinks, Happy Hours, free laundry, free Wi-Fi and Express check-in/check-out.China Palace is the most famous Chinese Restaurant in town with superb Dim Sum menu & Shabu Shabu buffet.River Terrace is an all day dining restaurant with daily theme night dinners & an outdoor space.Just a few minutes from the hotel you can explore Chiangmai Night Bazaar, Wiang Kum Kam Historical site, Chiangmai International Airport & shopping malls. Chiang Mai has many places to visit & many activities to do such as Doi Suthep, Chiangmai Zoo & Aquarium, golf or adventurous activities such as jungle flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com and TravelUp so you can book your Holiday Inn Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Holiday Inn
Sheraton Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing