We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay in Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Ranked #55 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Internet was very slow in some rooms and as I also was on businesstrip I need to be connected. We have to change room 2 am in the night. Also flush system in toalett was very very poor.
Hotel was not new and fresh need renovation but price was competetive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Lena G,

Thank you for your taking the time to evaluate our property. Please accept our sincere apologies for the challenges you experienced with the internet service and bathroom facility. We appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address these issues with the appropriate people and departments.

We hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

702 - 708 of 1,724 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

Had stayed in this hotel during a conference. It is a slightly retro-looking place but has HUGE spacious rooms (my double room on the 21st floor had two huge double beds with a couch, chairs and table), enormous bathrooms, great shower pressure, decent LCD TV with a good choice of English channels. The lobby is a pleasant area with an expert bartender.........I had excellent Pinacoladas and cocktails there. Concierge is helpful. Breakfast choice was magnificent with super Spanish omelets on demand. Expansive view of Chiangmai city (and its dirty brown muddy river!) from the room.

All in all, a very satisfying experience at very reasonable room rates. I would definitely return some day and heartily recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor, facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vakil75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Stayed for business conference and leisure for 3 nights and 4 days. Service is pathetic (room service and Break fast at resturant) Infrastructure facility for conference is good. Banquet staff is courteous. Understanding of english is big problem, even at the reception. Location is average.
Rooms are big and spacious enough. Menu options are also limited. Sufferer, if you are vegetarian

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpsheth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear kpsheth,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that the room accommodations. However, I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed in Holiday inn for two nights in January. The location is center and convenient. There is the small river near the hotel. The room is comfortable with good amenities.The hotel staffs are very nice, informative and helpful so we can ask them about the place to visit in Chiengmai province as well as the transportation service. The lobby is large and well decorated. The ballroom for party and the floyer are very functional and beautiful decorated. Breakfast is delicious with variety of foods -both Thai and international.The weather is quite fresh in the morning. There are the playground and parvilian for relaxing near the river. Opposite the hotel is the coffee shop that serve local and tasty coffee and other soft drinks. There is a reliable souvenir shop for buying or eating traditional northern foods. There are many minibus passing here that we can transport for tourism sites . Nice to stay here.

Room Tip: Higher floors with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sutasikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We often stay at holiday inn in phuket so'decided to have a change and head up to chiang mai. We booked via the internet and found we could use our ihg points. We had 7 nights using only points. Excelent check in service, so hassles at all. Slighty out of main area but tuk tuk to markets 100 baht. Only had seafood buffet at hotel but it was very nice. No complaints on room..22 floor. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Although situated a little way from the centre of the city and the night market, the hotel provided free transport and taxis were very reasonable. The breakfast had a great variety of food both Asian and Western. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Our room was extremely large and well decorated and most importantly the bed was comfortable We really enjoyed our stay there and will stay there again next time we go. I don't think you could better this hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jillh58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

The location is a little far from the old town. The decoration is a little old. But the price and the service which provide is very good worth. The sea food buffet is 550 B. For the guest , 15% off can be given. For the children , it is 50% off. So for our family two adults and two children, we spent 1400 B for our sea food buffet. It is quite cheap.
There is shuttle bus to the night bazzar,

Room Tip: The bed in the twin room is 1.35m. So it is very well for a family with two children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank littlefish0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.3 mi away
Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
1.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,400 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#73 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,711 reviews
1.5 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,350 reviews
0.7 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#48 of 395 in Chiang Mai
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Address: 318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | Watket Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £46 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chiangmai is ideally located on the banks of the Mae Ping River with easy access to business & shopping districts. It is the only riverside international hotel brand on the Northern bank of Chiangmai with 526 rooms & 25-storeys offering expansive riverside views from both guest & functional rooms. The hotel is only minutes away from the famous temples & the renowned night bazaar. Complimentary Shuttle Services to Night Bazaar, Walking Street, Nimman Road also provided free of charge.Guest Rooms are the largest in Chiangmai & have been designed with every comfort in mind. Every room has beautiful views over the idyllic Mae Ping River & towards Doi Suthep, the sacred mountain or Chiangmai city views. At Holiday Inn®, we guarantee your comfort with a double size for twin bed & pillow menu.Executive Lounge is the latest benefit for guests who stay on the Executive floor with multiple benefits such all day drinks, Happy Hours, free laundry, free Wi-Fi and Express check-in/check-out.China Palace is the most famous Chinese Restaurant in town with superb Dim Sum menu & Shabu Shabu buffet.River Terrace is an all day dining restaurant with daily theme night dinners & an outdoor space.Just a few minutes from the hotel you can explore Chiangmai Night Bazaar, Wiang Kum Kam Historical site, Chiangmai International Airport & shopping malls. Chiang Mai has many places to visit & many activities to do such as Doi Suthep, Chiangmai Zoo & Aquarium, golf or adventurous activities such as jungle flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Holiday Inn
Sheraton Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing