We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Petty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Ranked #54 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed 3 nights and had an overall positive experience, until check out:

On the last day, my 11 month old son, by accident pulled a drinking glass onto the floor, and it broke. At check-out the hotel wanted to charge us baht 100 for this glass. Thats app. USD 3.5 for a glass that cost maybe USD 0.25 wholesale. That made me very upset, as it was unintentional and could have happened to anyone. How petty can you be? I dont worry about the money, but that was really too much.

Also:

The bathroom had a strong odour of urine - especially around the toilet. I believe they didn't clean it sufficiently. This smell persisted during our stay even though we asked for special cleaning.

Despite our reservation stating 2 adults and 2 children would stay in the room, we consistently receive only 3 towels, and we had to call housekeeping to request extras. - Very strange!

Under the beds it was very dirty. I found 2 used AA batteries, old tissues, plastics, and generally very dusty.

The carpet in our room was old, stained and very worn. The room in general could do with an update.

It was mentioned that the hotel has child minding facilities, but they dont.

The hotel facilities are generally outdated. The swimming pool is not well represented in the photos that the hotel show.

The price was still reasonable, and maybe because we came from a hotel that disappointed us a a lot, we were quite happy to check in to this hotel. We had a good sleep, and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear CPR1972,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

As for the broken glass charge, it is hotel's discretion/policy to asks the guest to pay for the broken stuff they left at the hotel. We totally understand that it is unintentional but it is what it is that's why most hotels ask for an incidental fee when guest check-in.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

668 - 674 of 1,687 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

Large, well provisioned, very comfortable room with a great view. Good service. Outside of centre but a short Bt 100 tuk tuk drive away. Limited free shuttle services. Wide ranging buffet breakfast of ordinary quality. Modest not particularly inviting swimming pool area. Overall excellent value.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor river and mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is our second times to ChiangMai since January 2013. We all like this city very much. Now i have already back to home. I have introduced ChiangMai and Holiday inn to my parents. I think for the whole holiday inn ChiangMai is ok. Every one do a good job. Serivces are good.
although we met the water system trouble,but i still think the STAY feeling is good,thank you to Mr.Payap for helping us upgrade our room.
above all I will give high level to HIChiangMai on thefeedback .and if my parents prepare to come to ChiangMai, i will still suggest them to stay in HI ChiangMai.
at last also thank you to GM Stella for THE service~ we will back~~

Room Tip: good price and welcome hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zheng r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Return trip after 3 months, stay for 4 nights from 7th to 11th August. A little miscommunication mistake made by the hotel, pre-arranged airport pickup is not there when I touch down. Wasted a bit of time waiting in the airport, but decided to proceed on my own transportation to the hotel. The front desk reception staff was as friendly and swift in checking in. There was a major conference during my stay, short handed staff to cater to such high stay in rate. As a individual, my stay is not very much disturb. My executive floor room is clean & appreciate the turn down service daily. I want to complement the new staffs scheduled in the executive lounge, sincere friendly service. For my future trips to Chiang Mai, I will continue to stay in Holiday Inn Chiang Mai.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at a higher floor with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel was very nice. We didn't book it with breakfast. Their breakfast was good, but expensive if not precooked. Location isn't the best since it's not near the downtown area, but we took tours that picked us up so it worked out okay.

Room Tip: It also had a work out room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sjanderson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

this is our second stay in this hotel. we loved the friendliness, the hospitality and service given . The first time, we were upgraded to a suite but this time we got the executive floor which was spacious and and so comfortable.

My only complaint is the hotel floors were rather worn out looking and the lifts take forever esp when you are staying in the top floor.

There are many local foodstalls now in the surrounding area which was good and cheap. for 1500 baht or about US50, i think its really a bargain..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank malaccanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Clean, spacious room with expansive views. Friendly accommodating staff. Meal services excellent. Nothing too much trouble. Loved Chiang Mai - one of my favourite spots in Thailand - Holiday Inn was very central to key attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,358 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,377 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#71 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,695 reviews
1.5 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 394 in Chiang Mai
1,340 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 394 in Chiang Mai
3,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Address: 318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | Watket Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £49 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chiangmai is ideally located on the banks of the Mae Ping River with easy access to business & shopping districts. It is the only riverside international hotel brand on the Northern bank of Chiangmai with 526 rooms & 25-storeys offering expansive riverside views from both guest & functional rooms. The hotel is only minutes away from the famous temples & the renowned night bazaar. Complimentary Shuttle Services to Night Bazaar, Walking Street, Nimman Road also provided free of charge.Guest Rooms are the largest in Chiangmai & have been designed with every comfort in mind. Every room has beautiful views over the idyllic Mae Ping River & towards Doi Suthep, the sacred mountain or Chiangmai city views. At Holiday Inn®, we guarantee your comfort with a double size for twin bed & pillow menu.Executive Lounge is the latest benefit for guests who stay on the Executive floor with multiple benefits such all day drinks, Happy Hours, free laundry, free Wi-Fi and Express check-in/check-out.China Palace is the most famous Chinese Restaurant in town with superb Dim Sum menu & Shabu Shabu buffet.River Terrace is an all day dining restaurant with daily theme night dinners & an outdoor space.Just a few minutes from the hotel you can explore Chiangmai Night Bazaar, Wiang Kum Kam Historical site, Chiangmai International Airport & shopping malls. Chiang Mai has many places to visit & many activities to do such as Doi Suthep, Chiangmai Zoo & Aquarium, golf or adventurous activities such as jungle flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Holiday Inn
Sheraton Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing