We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Staff, ageing hotel. The worst buffet breakfast I have ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Ranked #53 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic Staff, ageing hotel. The worst buffet breakfast I have ever had”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I stayed in the holiday inn for 8 nights. I had specifically booked a smoking room through my travel agent however upon arriving at the hotel found that this was not an option. The room was decent but it is clear that everything in the room is quite old. The staff in this hotel were absolutely fantastic, polite , friendly and always willing to go the extra mile. There were however 2 things that made my stay at the Holiday Inn far less enjoyable. 1. By far the worst buffet breakfast of any hotel I have stayed at. The bacon is cooked then put under heat lamps and is so hard you could break a window with it. The croissants were stale every day of the week. The sausage was terrible. I had to resort to plain toast most days as everything else was stale and horrible and they did not even have peanut butter. The coffee was ghastly and the omlets were all pre made and very watery and disgusting. and my second complaint 2. To rent a DVD player for one night is 2000 baht what a joke you can literally go to an electronic shop down the road in Chiang Mai and buy one for less than that. Just showing that the hotel just wants to rip you off. Quite frankly given the tiny TV's in the room and the ageing decor they should be included for free

Room Tip: Better breakfast and put a DVD player in every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Nick R,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced.

We are disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy the buffet when you visited the restaurant, we will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We are pleased that our staff was able to off set this displeasure with great service.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    717
    290
    96
    43
See reviews for
302
591
147
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rye, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was our first time to Chang Mai and it was great to walk into such a friendly and welcoming hotel as the Holiday Inn- Chang Mai. We were upgraded and whilst the hotel may be a little old it does not show and the room was large and clean. Over our stay we had dinner in all the hotel restaurants and must say that the food was excellent, plentiful and value for money. We found all the staff extremely helpful especially the concierge who helped us arrange our own tours and making the hotel vehicle avaiable at an excellent rate,
We would definately go back to the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Room looking over the river is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Godwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on our Chiang Mai experience. On arrival we were warmly greeted after it was discovered that I was a IHG member. The room we were first taken to, only had one king size bed. I stated that I had booked a room online, with two beds. Immediately, we were upgraded to better room that had two beds on the top floor. The hotel is looking a bit tired and dated in terms of decor and needs an update and makeover, but it was a pleasant place to stay. The pool was clean and well kept. The breakfast was reasonable with the usual selections and the staff were attentive and friendly during our stay. The hotel is away from the centre of Chiang Mai and the old city but that's an advantage. All the attractions are a short tuk tuk ride away and there were always many outside the hotel waiting. Can someone please tell designers/those responsible for hotel staff uniforms that all over pale brown is not a pleasing colour for either sex?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makxberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear makxberr,

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that after some initial issues, this was rectified immediately. However, we were disappointed to read that you found the condition of the room and hotel decor served less than satisfactory. We appreciate your comments and suggestions regarding the staff uniform and this will be looked into.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This was the fourth hotel on our round Thailand trip. We arrived at the hotel after a hassle free journey from the airport in a taxi unlike Koh Samui and Phuket. We were warmly greeted as IHG members and having stayed at other IHG hotels, we were surprised by the size of our room on the 24 floor over looking the river and a view of the city. The footprint of the room is as big as that of our home in the UK. We were quite happy with it. We have had problem with the free WiFi with lost of signal sitting at the desk. The hotel IT tried to resolve it with a extender but not having much luck so we had to use WiFi connectivity sitting in bed. In addition, we had problem with AC unit, the drain pipe was blocked and resulted in water coming down the ceiling outside the bathroom in the corridor just as we were about to go to sleep. The door entry decided to deny us getting into the room because the batteries had given up. The hotel laid on free shuttles into the city centre itself. The staff were very helpful and resourceful. We did have a communication hiccup on the free shuttle into the City Centre on the Sunday for the night market - we were dropped off in the middle of no where thinking the market was just over the bridge when it was some 3 kilometres away. I did found it quite annoying that the hotel killed off the free WiFi connection once we have checked out even though we were still in the lobby area waiting for our transport to the airport. My advice to anyone is not to check out immediately even you are leaving if you have time to kill within the hotel. Overall, not a bad place to stay other than it is located away from the city centre and required transport to get to all the fun in the centre.

Room Tip: Request a room over looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveto710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on 3 seperate occasions over a 3 yr period. The hotel had deteriorated worse every time we stayed. The steam room was filthy mould and algae growing freely for a long time,The showers in ther fitness centre were the same. My family is in the hotel game so i know hotels. I actually met with the manager she gave the usual spin and went on holidays 2 days later. Nothing changed, the problems were not dealt with. The safe in the room broke down 3 times the air con died twice . The breakfast staff were surly and unfriendly and i actually heard one of the staff refer to a guest as ...falang(farang) The hotel is focusing on one and 2 night chinese groups and weddings ... forget the quality you may be accustomed to in Holiday Inn in other parts of the world.. This hotel is not owned by Holiday Inn it is privately owned and supposedly managed by IHG. Do not stay here. How this hotel gets awards is a bit odd to say the least

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear hobo s,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Holiday Inn is in the quieter part of Chiang Mai but still within walking distance to night markets and other places of interest. The buffet dinners and breakfasts were always first class , the staff very friendly and helpful. Even when I thought I had left some clothes in the room they forwarded them on to the next hotel we were staying at. Couldn't fault it in any way

Room Tip: Not sure I requested a room high up, non smoking all in all a great hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracesingleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had an enjoyable 4 days stay at the hotel's executive suite, in which we got free WIFI access and access to the executive lounge on the 25th floor for some good views and complimentary food and drinks from 6-8pm. The room was big which allowed my toddler plenty of space to run around. The buffet breakfast spread was decent. The only slight issue was the location of the hotel, which is not near to the city centre but given that transportation is really affordable, all that is needed is a 60-80baht tuk tuk / songthaew ride to city. There are many complimentary shuttle services as well from the hotel / shopping malls. For the free shuttle services to and from shopping malls, we only found out after we visited the malls (e.g. Promenada, Central Airport Plaza), as they were not advertised at the hotel lobby, perhaps the concierge will know.

Overall, a good hotel for vacation stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#46 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,184 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,769 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#55 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#63 of 375 in Chiang Mai
1,568 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#54 of 375 in Chiang Mai
846 reviews
2.8 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Property: Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Address: 318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | Watket Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#39 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chiangmai is ideally located on the banks of the Mae Ping River with easy access to business & shopping districts. It is the only riverside international hotel brand on the Northern bank of Chiangmai with 526 rooms & 25-storeys offering expansive riverside views from both guest & functional rooms. The hotel is only minutes away from the famous temples & the renowned night bazaar. Complimentary Shuttle Services to Night Bazaar, Walking Street, Nimman Road also provided free of charge.Guest Rooms are the largest in Chiangmai & have been designed with every comfort in mind. Every room has beautiful views over the idyllic Mae Ping River & towards Doi Suthep, the sacred mountain or Chiangmai city views. At Holiday Inn®, we guarantee your comfort with a double size for twin bed & pillow menu.Executive Lounge is the latest benefit for guests who stay on the Executive floor with multiple benefits such all day drinks, Happy Hours, free laundry, free Wi-Fi and Express check-in/check-out.China Palace is the most famous Chinese Restaurant in town with superb Dim Sum menu & Shabu Shabu buffet.River Terrace is an all day dining restaurant with daily theme night dinners & an outdoor space.Just a few minutes from the hotel you can explore Chiangmai Night Bazaar, Wiang Kum Kam Historical site, Chiangmai International Airport & shopping malls. Chiang Mai has many places to visit & many activities to do such as Doi Suthep, Chiangmai Zoo & Aquarium, golf or adventurous activities such as jungle flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Holiday Inn
Sheraton Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing