We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai
Ranked #53 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a very large hotel that needs renovation internally and externally. The rooms are spatious with a sizeable living area, desk, mirror etc and all the necessary amenities. However there are stains on the carpets, linen etc, the A/C was freezing us even when it was shut off, there was no free wi-fi in the rooms, and the overall feeling was weary.

The hotel is near the night market which is not as nice or interesting as one might think and there is a shuttle service to several points of interest.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elle_01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

573 - 579 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

A really enjoyable 4 night stay with very good food and room service and excellent all round staffing in a hotel nearly at capacity over New Year but still with time to ensure a great family short holiday with our 7 & 2 year olds being made very welcome

Definitely will return and my thanks to the receptionist who kindly helped us with an early check in but hats off to all

Room Tip: Do not worry about a city or river view and just try for one of the corner rooms and be aware that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timbanks150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, QCI Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Timbanks150,

Thank you for your positive review of the hotel. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent stay. I will certainly share your comments with my team.

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and I look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Chiangmai in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Stella Jacobs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Decent place to stay. Staff all spoke English and tuk-tuks were readily available throughout our stay (even on new years eve).

This review is based on remodeled non-smoking rooms. The older smoking rooms are very smokey and a bit decrepit.

Buffet was OK. Computer stations all worked.

Location is across the river, but only a 5 min tuk-tuk ride away. All the tuk tuk drivers knew where holiday inn was as well for return (and they did not know where some of the thai hotels were).

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobywonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnChiangmai, General Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Tobywonder,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced.

Based on your feedback on non-smoking room, I am pleased to inform you that the issues you have raised have been addressed. Plans are underway to do guest room upgrade which is already scheduled. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to pamper you and provide you with new refurbished room.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us.


Yours sincerely,

Stella Jacobs
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

6th floor suite. Great view, very comfy room. Significant distance from markets etc, but there is a shuttle. Lovely Restraunt! Concierge was helpful and with plenty of useful information. Check in staff we're amazing, dealing with all sorts. Very busy hotel, lots of celebrations there, such as weddings and birthdays. Enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRONS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because it was the only hotel left in Chiang Mai for 3 days and are still at the hotel on floor 22. Here are the positives:
-the staff are very kind and helpful
-the rooms have all essential equipment, and bathroom has all items you might need.
-they supply lots if water for drinking at no charge.

Here are the negatives:
-essentially no wifi in room, signal terrible.
-room freezing and are not able to control the heat.
-stains on pillow cases
-bathroom door broken and does not close properly.
-shower goes from freezing to hot to freezing for no apparent reason.
-bathroom ancient, entire hotel is old and tired and needs major upgrade and overhaul.
-beds uncomfortable and hard
-cleanliness of pretty low standard.

If I was paying for a 3 star hotel I wouldn't expect more, but for $200plus a night in Thailand my expectations are much higher, we just came from Bangkok and can stay in the lap of luxury for 250 per night so this was really disappointing for the price point.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank calemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear calemoo,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations.

I read with much concern the troubles you have encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize for we fell below your standards on most of the services and amenities that we provide particularly with the room condition. Our main concern is for all our guests to experience an exceptional stay and I am truly sorry if we were not able to deliver this to you. Our guests’ satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. With this said, I will assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We deeply regret that you did not receive the level of service that we strive so hard to achieve. We value you as a guest and we hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel has terribly outdated rooms with old dirty carpets. The windows are dirty, grimy and old. I do not recommend this hotel. The only good thing about it is it's location. It is very close to the night market.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalfromCBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear GalfromCBE,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property

I am disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not what you expected. I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with the level of cleanliness and truly sorry for the room condition fell below your standards. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just came back home after 1 week trip. Chiang Mai is very impressive! I have joint almost all the tours recommended by the Concierge. The tour company Touring Chiang Mai was excellent.

The Concierge helped to planned out my tour, made reservations and provide advice on the timing, morning/afternoon, and alternative travel agency. One of the tour, City Temple and Museum was fully booked and I was disappointed.

But the Concierge supervisor, Winit, told me that the Temple and Museum tour can be done by myself. Indeed, I went to nearby Airport Plaza by free shuttle and had a cheap and good lunch 40B in the basement and continue the shuttle to a near by hotel in the city center and started my temple tour on foot.

I covered all the major temple in less than 3 hours. The old city wall of about 1.6km square was very unique. Inside the square are all the temple and museum, and countless of small and nice Cafe / Restaurants. Walking around on foot would be a lot better than joining a tour. Thank you for the great advice from Winit.

He also recommended another tour company for my Elephant Safari and Long Neck tour, after my preferred company Touring Chiang Mai was fully booked. It turned out to be good as well.

I had 1/2 day free before heading home. Winit recommended me to visit Morning market in China Town area. It is a Wet Market and Flower Market with many stores selling local breakfast in the morning. I told a TukTuk and it cost me only 80B. From China Town to the City Square was just a 10min walk. That was an unforgettable trip!

Other than Winit, there are 3 friendly and helpful Concierge who guide me on my trip planning and advice. They are Ms Saowapa, Ms DokFah and Mr Teera. All are outstanding!
One advice they provided : If I were to travel too far out of the City Square, getting a Cab back may be a problem. With that advice, I changed my travel plan!

Everything just worked out very well with their help!

The hotel itself is nice, 5 min trip to the night market is not a problem even you miss the free shuttle. Understand from the staffs that they have started to do renovation and some rooms have completed.

I am a platinum member and they upgraded me to a huge room with nice river view.
Have tried in their Chinese and River Terrace restn. Food was good!

Thank you for all the help!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,884 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#54 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,344 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#65 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 389 in Chiang Mai
3,084 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#35 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,315 reviews
1.5 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chiang Mai

Address: 318/1 Chiangmai-Lamphun Road | Watket Subdistrict, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#39 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £23 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Chiangmai is ideally located on the banks of the Mae Ping River with easy access to business & shopping districts. It is the only riverside international hotel brand on the Northern bank of Chiangmai with 526 rooms & 25-storeys offering expansive riverside views from both guest & functional rooms. The hotel is only minutes away from the famous temples & the renowned night bazaar. Complimentary Shuttle Services to Night Bazaar, Walking Street, Nimman Road also provided free of charge.Guest Rooms are the largest in Chiangmai & have been designed with every comfort in mind. Every room has beautiful views over the idyllic Mae Ping River & towards Doi Suthep, the sacred mountain or Chiangmai city views. At Holiday Inn®, we guarantee your comfort with a double size for twin bed & pillow menu.Executive Lounge is the latest benefit for guests who stay on the Executive floor with multiple benefits such all day drinks, Happy Hours, free laundry, free Wi-Fi and Express check-in/check-out.China Palace is the most famous Chinese Restaurant in town with superb Dim Sum menu & Shabu Shabu buffet.River Terrace is an all day dining restaurant with daily theme night dinners & an outdoor space.Just a few minutes from the hotel you can explore Chiangmai Night Bazaar, Wiang Kum Kam Historical site, Chiangmai International Airport & shopping malls. Chiang Mai has many places to visit & many activities to do such as Doi Suthep, Chiangmai Zoo & Aquarium, golf or adventurous activities such as jungle flight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Holiday Inn
Sheraton Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing