We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for low price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
Ranked #65 of 389 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We were upgraded on check in to a deluxe room ( superior booked). However they did not have the king bed, instead were offered twin.
Room was basic & decent for the money, nothing exceptional. Slight moldy smell in the room..Surely I wouldn't rate it as a 4 star hotel ( max 3 star).
Check in / out was smooth and reception staff were friendly..
Breakfast had some variety but not great. The staff at egg counter was not friendly at all, wouldn't customize an omelette !!!.
We didn't use the travel desk at hotel, we found better deals outside...
A decent live band at the garden restaurant..
The hotel location is at a decent walking distance to the night market. Tuk tuk readily available to go to old city.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CEPUGAZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Cepugazh
Thank you for taking your time to post here on Trip Advisor and for choosing our hotel for your recent stay here in Chiang Mai. Your comments have been noted and we do apologise that you did not receive the expected friendly service from the breakfast cook. Our travel desk at the hotel offers actually very good service at the same if not lower price then outside agents. Being a licensed and not only Chiang Mai based travel company, full insurance coverage is given to their clients. Once again we thank you for your stay with us.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,673)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,673 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

The Imperial have very nice and service staff. Since we check in Door man, GSA was working good and fast. We get connecting room as per Req. just the room is too small because we have 1 baby 1.7 Y. He always run over from room to room. ^_^ nice boil rice with sea bass. He love it. Good breakfast inter and Thai style.

Room Tip: Close to Night bazar. Just 3 minutes from hotel can work but Tuk Tuk in front of hotel very very exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rinthida b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Rinthida
We thank you for your posting here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us during your visit to Chiang Mai. Your comments are very much appreciated and our staff and myself are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay here. Please let us know if you intend to visit the North of Thailand again.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days as part of an organised tour. Good location, although not within old city walls. My room was comfortable and the spa pool was a great peaceful alternative to the larger main pool.

Only grumble was with the reception staff who were quite unwilling to acknowledge or make eye contact with you and help unless you made an overt nuisance of yourself. When I had been waiting for nearly an hour to book my airport transfer at an empty desk and was also feeling sick and unwell, they simply said I had to wait indefinitely rather than offering to call me in my room once the guy returned or book it for me. Not very friendly or sympathetic.

Restaurant staff on the other hand were very polite, kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurquoiseSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Turquoise
Thank you for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor and your stay at our hotel during your trip to Chiang Mai. Your comments about our front office staff have been noted and we will train them further to improve. Please accept our apologies. We are happy to read that other then the front office staff you have enjoyed your stay with us here.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here for a few days to visit some temples and its was just in front of the main Chiang Mai night market..The service was good and the in house massage was heavenly.. rooms are clean and view of the city unblocked... will visit again if returning..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnieSIN18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Connie
Thank you for staying with during your trip to Chiang Mai and for posting your comments here on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time here and do look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We both feel that we got a good deal on this at about £30 per night - the general hotel had all you would expect for a good 3/4 star - breakfast was very good, drinks not overpriced and we made use of the 2 for 1 happy hour. Rooms are generously sized, clean but dated - I would happily stay there again - especially at the price we paid, however, it appeared some customers paid more than double and they were a little disappointed with what they got for there money.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lindy1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Lindy
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us during your trip here in Chiang Mai. We are pleased to read that you have found our hotel up to your expectations. Please let us know when you intend to visit the North of Thailand again.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was my second visit to Chiang Mai and my second stay at this hotel. And this time we were upgraded to a suite room, without any extra charges. Hotel is nice, Bfast was good with a wide choice. 5 Mins walk to the Night Market and other main attractions are 10 - 15 mins walk. Smoking rooms are only located on the 1st floor, however we were allowed to smoke in their suite room as they had upgraded us. Hotel staff are polite and very welcoming. It is better to take the hotel taxi to the airport (if more than 1 Pax) or you can also take the Thai Airways Shuttle to the airport (If 1 Pax). Trips around Chiang Mai can be booked from various tour operators from the night Market area, its cheaper. The hotel reception suggested me to change my currency at the night maket - for a better rate. Surrounding Locality is safer than it looks - No problem even for late night walks, but be careful at all times. Overall it has been a great experience for us at Chiang Mai and at Mae Ping, will definitely stay here again. Note: Most of the loacals know this hotel as Mae Ping and not as Imperial Mae Ping.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobyGhose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Hi Toby
Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor and for your second visit to our hotel. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Actually our smoking rooms are located on the 3rd floor for superior and half of the 11th floor for deluxe rooms. There is one Junior Suite in which we allow the guests to smoke. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and wish you a good time.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a nice hotel. Pretty average. Nothing extraordinary. Great location though. 5 minutes walk from the Night Bazar - which means it's easy to catch a taxi to anywhere else you might think of. A lot of very cheap massage places in the street.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Yogev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter S, General Manager at The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Yogev
Thank you for your time to post here on Trip Advisor and for staying with us during your time in Chiang Mai! We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your time here and we do look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion when you travel to the North of Thailand.
Kind regards from The Imperial Mae Ping Team and Peter Schnyder - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#56 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#34 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#58 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#105 of 389 in Chiang Mai
1,976 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#22 of 389 in Chiang Mai
3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel

Address: 153 Sridonchai Road | Chang Klan, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: £34 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel features 371 fully furnished guestrooms comprising 248 superior rooms, 88 deluxe rooms and 35 Junior Suites and Royal Suites.Room interiors are in tastefully distinctive, elegant and luxurious Lanna style befitting the rich heritage of this glorious region dating back some 700 years. Our rooms provide all levels of comfort to make your stay in Chiang Mai as relaxing as possible. Individually controlled air-conditioning, wall-to-wall carpeting, Kingsize or twin bedded configuration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Imperial Mae Ping
Imperial Mae Ping Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing